Search Reviews | Top Rated Agencies | Add Your Review | Compare Agencies | Blog Join | Login  
Adoption Agency Reviews, Ratings, Rankings and Testimonials Adoption Agencies Reviews, Ratings, Rankings and Testimonials

A Baby Step Adoption

527 Elm Street
Reading, Pennsylvania 19601
United States
1-888-505-23678
info@ababystepadoption.com
http://www.ababystepadoption.com

Type: Private Agency


  Average Ratings
Based On All Reviews

Review by MD14 submitted on October, 15, 2014 at 09:18 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Mar 2014
Status: Placement
Type: Semi-Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Phoenix, Arizona, United States

MD14's Ratings:
Pros: From the time we entered into the networking contract with A Baby Step Adoption, the communication was constant and very timely. If we had any questions, they were rarely answered in less than 24 hours. Our caseworker, Taryn, was constantly available for us and arranged for another caseworker to replace her for the one weekend when she was preoccupied. We received multiple referrals a week and matched very quickly with a mother who was 1 1/2 weeks away from her due date. Taryn was wonderful in assisting us to quickly prepare everything we needed to finalize contracts and travel for the birth of our son. This helpfulness continues even now as we wait for the finalization of our adoption. From the time we first sent an email to request adoption information until the time our son's biological parents signed consents 72 hours following his birth was exactly 4 months! We couldn't have asked for a more thorough and efficient adoption agency!

Cons: We experienced no problems with A Baby Step Adoption; however, I am very type A and can be a bit needy. The communication prior to entering into the networking agreement wasn't quite as timely as my type A personality needed. Though again, this was not a problem with the agency.

Reviews: You can be very confident entering into a relationship with A Baby Step Adoption. You couldn't be in better hands!



Review by kinglw1013 submitted on October, 10, 2014 at 07:51 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: May 2013
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Oct 2013
Time Until Placement: 5 months
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Cincinnati, Ohio, United States

kinglw1013's Ratings:
Pros: We cannot say enough about A Baby Step Adoption. We've adopted twice with them and have two healthy, beautiful children. We picked ABSA because we really fell in love with the staff - it's obvious they are passionate about their work and we knew they would do anything to help our dreams come true. With our son, we were matched about a month into the networking process and our baby was born about 6 weeks later. The home study process was daunting but made easier by our social worker. We were supposed to adopt our son's biological sibling but after months of financially supporting the birthparents, they decided to keep the baby. Our social worker and Barbara Casey were very supportive and helped us through the devestation as well. I'll never forget how Barbara called me the night we found out just to see how we were doing and express her sympathy. A few months later we had just begun the process to adopt again and within a few weeks, we had another baby. We couldn't be happier with the staff and with our family, especially after years of thinking we may never be parents.

Cons: None at all. Our son's birthmother worked with a different agency - our experience with that agency was much different and really made us realize how great ABSA is!

Reviews: We would highly recommend Barbara and her staff to anyone. Kayla was our social worker for our second adoption and she's wonderful!



Review by bjmiv submitted on June, 7, 2012 at 03:33 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Nov 2011
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Dec 2011
Time Until Placement: 1 months
Type: Closed, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Pennsylvania, United States

bjmiv's Ratings:
Pros: Adoption can be a very intimidating process. The staff at ABSA was overwhelmingly helpful, knowledgeable and emmotionally supportive. We fealt as though they were not only supportive to us but also to the birth parents which was very important to us. They stayed in touch with us constantly throughout the process and were very supportive. We were matched very quickly and Barbara Casey and her staff are all Aces at what they do. They were most helpful in the final few stressful days leading up to birth, when our needs were highest!! We can not thank the staff enough for the support and efforts put forth to make this an easy process!!

Cons: None

Reviews: I would never expect such an emmotional process to go so smooth and easy from start to finish. The team at ABSA is incredible! They have mastered their craft and I would reccomend them to anyone!



Review by binkie submitted on March, 21, 2012 at 12:18 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Apr 2011
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Oct 2011
Time Until Placement: 6 months
Type: Semi-Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Pennsylvania, United States

binkie's Ratings:
Pros: Friendly and supportive staff.

Cons: n/a

Reviews: n/a



Review by MamaJenn33 submitted on March, 17, 2012 at 06:08 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Sep 2010
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Sep 2011
Time Until Placement: 12 months
Type: Semi-Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Alabama, United States

MamaJenn33's Ratings:
Pros: My partner and I were referred to ABSA by friends who had used the agency to adopt their child a few years ago. We could not have been happier with the outcome. The most cumbersome part of the process is the paperwork/legal documentation and profile creation at the beginning. The agency offered suggestions and guidance through that first step. Once we joined the nationwide network we were matched within 6 weeks. Unfortunately, that adoption failed...through no fault of the agency. We were matched again within a month and ended up with a beautiful, healthy, baby boy almost 9 months to the day from our initial meeting with the agency. The best aspect by far is the support provided by the social workers. Both adoptive parents and birthparents are supported throughout the process. We consider our caseworkers part of our family and will forever be greatful to them for all of their help, guidance, support, and advice. We still send them pictures and communicate with them to this day. Also, Barbara Casey's reputation as an adoption lawyer and the agency's connections with adoption facilitators across the country certainly increased our chances of matching quickly....which we did.

Cons: It's difficult to think of any cons....they really were fantastic from start to finish. I know many other reviews talk about the price of ABSA compared to others and although we didn't really look into other agencies and just trusted the advice of our friends, we can say we certainly did get our money's worth!

Reviews: Just advice for future adoptive parents.... the adoption tax credit / refund is constantly changing and the fine print can be confusing. The IRS is auditing practically every refund that's filed so be sure to consult a tax advisor when planning your budget for financing this big investment.



Review by rac15019 submitted on January, 16, 2012 at 08:28 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Apr 2011
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Dec 2011
Time Until Placement: 8 months
Type: Semi-Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Iowa Falls, Iowa, United States

rac15019's Ratings:
Pros: Once you pay the networking fee, your profile can be shown immediately to birthparents. This is different than other agencies where you have to wait in line for your profile to be shown. Because Baby Step has connections all over the country, I felt our chances of a match would increase. We were matched after 6 weeks so we were very pleased. Our caseworker was very knowledgable. If she didn't know the answer, she would consult her colleagues and get back to us immediately. Overall, the agency supported us completely. We will be returning to Baby Step to adopt a second child.

Cons: We paid for legal support in the state that we got our son and we were very pleased with the support we had from Iowa. I developed a relationship with the birthmother and she and I corresponded on our own throughout her pregnancy. I, the adoptive parent, found it challenging at times to know what to say to the birthmother when we spoke and what information I should be asking the birthmother for. It would have been nice to have a social worker to manage her although that was not possible in our situation. I asked my caseworker from Baby Step to provide guidance to me for some of the conversations I had with the birthmother. Our Baby Step caseworker was very helpful.

Reviews: I would highly recommend this agency.



Review by K10Vanriper submitted on January, 16, 2012 at 07:58 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Apr 2011
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Oct 2011
Time Until Placement: 6 months
Type: Semi-Open, Domestic, Intrastate
Special Needs: No
Child from Mississippi, United States

K10Vanriper's Ratings:
Pros: There are so many pros about ABSA. It seems hard to list them without telling our story but the biggest pro is that it only took three months for ABSA to find us a birthmother. When I say they found her - they did. Yes we got the match profiles but they also went out of there way to match. We got a note saying "we found one you may be interested in" and they sent us the profile. Turns out we were a perfect match. January 22nd of this year is the one year anniversary of my husband and I walking into ABSA and signing the paperwork. This morning I watched my almost 7 month old beautiful, amazing daughter try to eat toast. There is no bigger pro than that because, for most of us, we come into this process after some difficulty and some failed attempts - we were ready to have a baby yesterday. ABSA works for you to help you forfil your dream. Jan 22. I signed on with them and June 30th I held my daughter. It is because of them. There is my Pro.

Cons: In the beginning people told us that ABSA was more expensive. I don't know if this is true, but I do know that some friends (who paid less) have been waiting for over a year. I know some who have been waiting longer. I also have firends who adopted overseas - yes it is less expensive but once you add in the travel and those expenses it is similar. In the beginning I was a little frustrated that it took some time to get a response on questions or appointments, of course we were in a hurry. What I realized is that the staff at ABSA are working with lots of families to make their dreams come true and they have to prioritize or they couldn't have a life. In the beginning of the process we didn't get as much attention, however that all changed when we ACTUALLY needed them. Jen Sullivan, our lawyer in MS Jenny, Barbara and the staff at ABSA were amazing when the baby came. There was some drama when the brithmother crossed state lines to deliver. I spoke with Jenn 17 times in two days (the Sat. and Sun of Fourth of July weekend). She picked up EVERY call. She talked me through it when I was ready to give up. Jenn, Barbara and the staff worked hard to get us permission to leave Mississippi with our baby even though it was a holiday week. In the beginning I felt their response time may have been a con - but I realized they were probably busy helping someone else - just like they dropped everything when we needed them.

Reviews: I can't say enough about our experience with ABSA. I would recommend them to anyone and everyone. Olivia (our daughter) is beautiful and we are complete now. The people at ABSA made the process easy because they were there every step of the way. I am so thankful I chose them. I am thankful for Jen and her hard work and support. When I first talked on the phone with Kelly she said to me that a question she likes to ask couples after they finalize is "which is harder adoption or fertility, because adoption is a roller coaster ride." She told me that people normally say "fertility is harder because at least you know with adoption at the end you get a baby." She was right.



Review by MEPA0411 submitted on July, 27, 2011 at 04:04 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 3m
Start Date: Mar 2011
Status: Placement
Completion Date: Aug 2011
Time Until Placement: 5 months
Type: Semi-Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Maine, United States

MEPA0411's Ratings:
Pros: We began working w/ ABSA in Aug 2010 and were matched very quickly. Unfortunately that adoption failed after 8 long months. It was a very difficult situation from the start but the caseworkers and Barbara were remarkably supportive and helpful throughout the whole process. We were matched w/ a new birthmom within two weeks. We received overwhelming support throughout the entire process from Barbara, the caseworkers (Sarah & Kelly), and all of the office staff. Everyone at ABSA was very quick to respond to question, no matter how silly or small the questions seemed. The caseworkers were very supportive to us, helping us deal with a very difficult and emotional process. They were there to share in our stress and anxiety and help us through it and ultimately celebrated with us the joy we experienced when we finally placed. The adoption process is a complicated one, involving a lot of paperwork, documentation and preparation. ABSA made this process much more smooth and manageable. One thing we particularly liked was the matching process. For months we kept hearing how hard it was to match and that it often takes years. The process where they send the birthmother info to the clients to respond to ones they felt were of interest was unique and helps keep the adoptive parents feel involved in the match process. We found that we matched VERY quickly, both initially, and even faster when our original match failed. This is a very reassuring factor during such an emotional and stressful process.

Cons: Bearing in mind that this issue is par for the course in most scenarios and is unavoidable due to adoption laws and process, we have very little negative feedback (suprising given having a very difficult experience with a failed adoption). The financial risk is the one thing we found to be the most difficult. With our failed adoption a lot of birthmother expenses were paid in advance and were lost when the mother backed out. Adotpion is expensive, we expected that. We felt that the costs were fair but it's difficult when much, if not all of the financial risk is placed on the adoptive family and no way to recoupe that cost when it failed. When we matched with a new family last minute, very little birthmother expense was paid upfront, with the majority of the money paid after the rights were terminated. This was a much more comfortable situation with less risk financially. We only wish that the first match could have been handled this way financially.

Reviews: Overall we have had a wonderful experience with ABSA and would recommend them to anyone seeking adoption!



Review by ajaiea1167 submitted on June, 30, 2011 at 07:24 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Mar 2010
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Jun 2010
Time Until Placement: 3 months
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Martinez, California, United States

ajaiea1167's Ratings:
Pros: Barbara Casey and her staff were always available to us on weekends and nights if necessary. Our birthmom was found by an adoption facilitator and not our adoption agency. She was demanding and at times the birthfather was very difficult. The staff was always willing to answer question and support us in any way possible. I am not sure if I would have stuck it out. We have a beautiful, happy baby girl and I could not be happier.

Cons: none

Reviews: I did not understand the difference between an agency vs a facilitator ( I should have done more homework to understand the difference).



Review by guest submitted on May, 25, 2011 at 09:46 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Sep 2010
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: May 2011
Time Until Placement: 8 months
Type: Semi-Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Pennsylvania, United States

guest's Ratings:
Pros: The matching process was a positive experiene. I felt that we were involved in the matching process and that our birth mother was a perfect fit. The final steps of the adoption went well- our court appearance went very smoothly. Linda Carlson was the mvp of this adoption. If she hsdn't been involved, especially after the baby was born, we would not have had a pleasant experience. Thank You Linda.

Cons: Our biggest opportunity with this agency was before our son was born. We started out with a caseworker, Melissa, and somewhere in theprocess we changed caseworkers without being told. Melissa was great through the macthing process. After we were matched we had a fairly open communication with the birth mother so communication through case workers wasn't as frequent. Then about two weeks before our son was born, which he was about two months early, we had questions about the adoption. I emailed Melissa, tried to call, it took about a week for her tp respond. In doing so she informed me that she was only pt now but would be happy to assist. So I emailed and asked for a convient time to talk and she told me sunday would be best. great. She was suppose to call me, but it never happened. She emailed me apoligizing and we set up another time. Guess what, nothing happened. I was going to call the agency however, as I stated above my son was born and then Linda Carlson became our contact. Linda was great. My other con is that they are relentless in receiving their money. Which I totally understand because I'm sure their are many people out there that don't want to pay up. We had already payed 25,000 dollars and still owed about 6,000. As I stated above my son was early and had to stay in the hospital for two weeks. I was living at a hotel while my husband commuted, our home was about 4 hours away. I recieved an email on a Monday that the balance was due. This was about 6pm after I returned from the hospital. I called my husband, moved some funds around, and wrote a check out. I had it in the mail by Tuesday evening. In the meantime I received another email, and a phone call to my house- which noone was their to recieve. The agency has our homestudy they know we are more than capable to pay- the constant "nagging' was annoying considering my son was in the nicu. I also emailed back that the check was in the mail and this is when I found out that my caseworker had changed. I guess communication is the biggest con and could apply to both situations above.

Reviews: Overall- we are very happy with the outcome of our adoption journey. We have a wonderful little boy who is the center of our universe. We do appreciate everything A Baby Step adoption did to help us expand our family. Thank You



Review by saraheisenstein submitted on May, 24, 2011 at 12:29 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Aug 2003
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Aug 2004
Time Until Placement: 12 months
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States

saraheisenstein's Ratings:
Pros: I felt like the only thing I had to worry about was our preparedness to be new parents and that our birth mother's needs were met. A Baby Step/Adoption Associates did all the work. The staff at the agency really seemed to understand all of the stress we were under and handled all the paper work, home study, hospital ect...so all we were focused on was the baby!!! I have referred this agency to many other couples who were looking to adopt and we all fell the same way.

Cons: I really can not think of anything I feel could have been handled differently. The adaoption process is very stressful and if there was a way to change that it would be great but no agency could do that!!!

Reviews: I would tell adoptive parents to be patient and trust the agency. This group has been helping create families for a long time and knows what they are doing.



Review by KNN submitted on May, 24, 2011 at 12:19 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Oct 2010
Status: Placement
Type: Closed, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Pennsylvania, United States

KNN's Ratings:
Pros: We started our journey with another agency and after feeling frustrated with the slow pace, came to A Baby Step Adoption on a recommendation. The staff helped us to match with a wonderful birth mother and a perfect baby boy in only a few months. Our caseworker was available any time we needed her throughout the process and made us feel very comfortable that we knew what to expect during each part of the journey. We feel very blessed to have our son in our lives and A Baby Step Adoption is responsible for bringing us together.

Cons: The cost was very high but, the service at A Baby Step Adoption, in my opinion, is the best you can find.

Reviews: A Baby Step Adoption went above and beyond to make finalization convenient to us as we have an interstate adoption. We truly appreciate the extra effort they have put in.



Review by dianeslp submitted on May, 24, 2011 at 10:54 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Jul 2002
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Jan 2003
Time Until Placement: 6 months
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Little Rock, Arkansas, United States

dianeslp's Ratings:
Pros: This agency was supportive throughout the process. They always answered their phones and would address all of our concerns, not matter how small. The attorney worked hard to make the process as easy as possible even though she worked with many different states and the law varied in all states. She was in constant contact while we stayed in another state, making sure things were going smoothly and to get us home as soon as it was feasible. She arranged for us to work with qualified people out of state.

Cons: None

Reviews: I would recommend this agency, without hesitation. They work hard to match each and every client as soon as they are able with a situation that's right for them. They have qualified, caring staff who support the clients through an emotional, sometimes scary process. This agency is dedicated to assisting everyone in their dream of building a family and they succeeded in helping us achieve our dream. We now have 2 children and are extremely happy in our lives. We have A BabyStep Adoption to thank!



Review by winter submitted on May, 18, 2011 at 01:19 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Apr 2011
Status: Withdrew voluntarily
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Pennsylvania, United States

winter's Ratings:
Pros: I have not experienced one pro of working with this agencey after three months

Cons: Its was like pulling teeth to try to get someone on the phone. The amount of work they wanterd you to do compared to every other agencey is outrageous. Not one bit of preperation toward the adoption. MONEY, MONEY, MONEY should be their motto!! The most dishonest, we will tell you what you want to hear attitidue. They want you to pay thousands for them to help find a child and they want you to do the work for it. They want you to carry a phone for the birthmothers with a 1800 number for birth mothers to contact you for all the additional adds they want you to place. I guess so they don't have to be bothered. OH, that 5000 dollar fee, expires at the end of one year. They tell you you may have to pay 1000's of dollars to support the birth mother ( there is a legal amount) . If placement fails you loose all that money, 20-40 thousand could you imagine. If we were treated like that I cant imagine what they can be telling these poor bith mothers. Run as fast as you can.

Reviews: Sdo your homework



Review by guest submitted on March, 24, 2011 at 11:09 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Mar 2010
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Mar 2011
Time Until Placement: 12 months
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Amarillo, Texas, United States

guest's Ratings:
Pros: I interviewed several agencies before deciding to go with A Baby Step Adoption. I instantly felt a positive connection with Barbara Casey when I spoke with her on the ohone. We are an older couple and Barbara was positive and encouraging from the start saying that she didn't see our age as a problem at all as far as getting matched and that, in fact, some birthmothers prefer that. Her approach was what led me to choose the agency in the first place. We were told that the average amount of time it takes to become parents is 3-9 months and they were right on. We were matched after 3 months of signing with them and had our baby 6 months after that! Communication with the agency through all stages was very positive. Questions are answered, staff is friendly,and Barbara makes herself accessible at all times. The networking program is fabulous and allows the adoptive parents to feel that they have some control over the situation. All parts of the process went smoothly for us, and being connected with an out of state agency and adoptive faciliatator as well as this agency certainly had the potential for challenges to arise. However, we were very pleased and will always highly recommend this agency!

Cons: Our experience was so positive and smooth that I really can't say there is anything that I would change. I wish every set of adoptive parents could have an experience like we had!

Reviews: On a more personal note-----wouldn't Parachute Packer Calendars make a great gift for finalization day???!!!!!



Review by teacher3 submitted on March, 22, 2011 at 12:53 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 1m
Start Date: Dec 2010
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Mar 2011
Time Until Placement: 3 months
Type: Closed, Domestic, Intrastate
Special Needs: No
Child from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States

teacher3's Ratings:
Pros: My entire adoption experience with A Baby Step Adoption was extremely positive. The staff are very personable and know your name from day one. The overall price for my adoption was very reasonable and my wait time from start to finish was only 6 months. I would highly recommend them to anyone.

Cons: No problems / issues / concerns

Reviews: Fantastic!



Review by adopt411 submitted on March, 13, 2011 at 06:54 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: May 2010
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Feb 2011
Time Until Placement: 9 months
Type: Semi-Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Langhorne, Pennsylvania, United States

adopt411's Ratings:
Pros: a baby step adoption was wonderful! our birth mother was originally with a different lawyer and half way through dropped her lawyer and signed on with a baby step . once she was linked with this agency everything got so much easier!! i was able to find out much more information about my birth mother and the team of people working with us , especially maggie norett our social worker, were our voices as they helped our birth mother take care of herself medically which before was not happening. the entire staff work together at this agency and in a very timely manner. our adoption went so fast and smooth . their pricing was very fair and they were very upfront about costs. any questions or concerns we had were addressed immediately and i always felt like i could contact anyone at any time. it was a wondeful feeling !! this agency works as a "family" and they are there for both their birth parents and adoptive parents! They have a tremendous amount of experience in the adoption world and i felt very comfortable with them. we are so grateful our birth mom switched to a baby step adoption agency.

Cons: there really were no problems associated with this agency. our adoption was expensive only because the birth mom switched lawyers half way through. i would not change a thing about how our adoption was handled from a baby step.

Reviews: we highly reccomend this agency for adoption for both birth parents and adoptive parents! the support and communication were terrific!! everyone involved worked so very hard to complete our finalization and termination of rights quickly and effectively. it was truly wonderful!



Review by krabaca submitted on March, 4, 2011 at 01:52 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Nov 2010
Status: Finalized
Type: Semi-Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Iowa, United States

krabaca's Ratings:
Pros: It would take me a VERY long time to write about all of the positive experiences we had while working with this agency, so I will highlight a few. First of all we were matched VERY quickly (I know this is rare). We began networking with our agency in late August and were matched in September! Secondly the staff is amazing. We were able to communicate with anyone we wanted or needed to day or night, seven days a week either by phone, e0mail or text message. I would like to mention that Barbara Casey, the director even spoke with me on a Sunday morning! Finally, the ease with which the process was completed was unbelievable. We were constantly reminded when things were due (paperwork, etc.), we recieved regular emails and completing our homestudy and post-placement visits could not have been easier! We are thinkin of adopting again and would not consider using anyone else! In addition, we recieve MANY new referrals almost daily through their network.

Cons: There really were no "cons" to our adoption experience. Price is often sited, but that is part of the process and A Baby Step Adotion is reasonable. In other words - you get what you pay for. We received top-rate services!

Reviews: I would highly recommend A Baby Step Adoption!



Review by barb submitted on February, 23, 2011 at 11:14 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Aug 2009
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Jan 2011
Time Until Placement: 17 months
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, United States

barb's Ratings:
Pros: The staff was very nice and supportive. They are extremely knowledgeable about adoption and their ability to navigate through the very complex adoption process of an interstate adoption is impressive. It was also very evident during our Finalization hearing that this agency is well respected within the judicial system. Gathering all of the necessary paperwork and document for the finalization hearing is overwhelming and this agency has the ability to "think on their feet" to help you reach your ultimate goal of creating a family.

Cons: They use one e-mail address for correspondence, in our case, we were communicating with multiple individuals. It was a little confusing at times figuring out who was your main contact on a specific item vs who was responding, but nothing we couldn't work through.

Reviews: Since we do not live in PA, our homestudy and after placement support were not coordinated by the agency, but handled at the local level. We are the proud parent of the cutest little girl in the world!



Review by altrwhite submitted on December, 27, 2010 at 04:02 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Jan 2010
Status: Finalized
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Nevada, United States

altrwhite's Ratings:
Pros: We matched in just 9 weeks, which was much faster than we anticipated. Because you are networking with both A Baby Step and with other agencies and facilitators around the country, you see a lot of potential situations. Staff really encouraged us to wait for the "right" situation for us -- this was a big positive for us, as we had interviewed with other agencies who insisted that healthy newborns were not available. The staff at ABSA told us that they could find us one, and they did pretty quickly. Our caseworker, Sarah, was terrific and really helped us as we were trying to make our decision about our match. She was very knowledgeable and supportive throughout the process. After the baby was born, there were difficulties with the agency in the birthmother's state, which had handled some paperwork incorrectly. Barbara Casey interrupted her vacation (on a Saturday, no less) to get on the phone and straighten everything out. The legal staff in the office was also terrific and made sure our finalization ran smoothly.

Cons: There really were no cons. I think the main thing when selecting an agency is: can they help you find a child and get him or her adopted using an ethical process that respects everyone involved? And can they do this in a reasonable time frame? Everything else is just details. A Baby Step met all our expectations in this regard.

Reviews: We would recommend this agency. We had tried working with other agencies and did not have a great experience -- it seemed that they were entirely focused on serving birthparents and were too comfortable with the idea that if you want to adopt a baby, it should take years. A Baby Step works respectfully with their birthfamilies, but the staff was always concerned about how they could help us find a good placement and bring it to fruition. They seemed to take our case individually -- when there were problems, they figured out how to solve them very efficiently. Our baby became ill on his second day of life, and they were so concerned about him. They called and emailed and wanted to be sure he was okay. One thing we noticed was that as soon as he was named, they called him by his name -- other people involved in our adoption case just kept calling him "the baby," as though he was not a real person. This is just one example of how carefully and respectfully we were treated by this agency. We would recommend them.



Review by gormont submitted on December, 1, 2010 at 08:13 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: May 2010
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Aug 2010
Time Until Placement: 3 months
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Mississippi, United States

gormont's Ratings:
Pros: The networking system that Barbara Casey and her staff uses allowed us to have information on many birthmothers making us feel that there were many opportunities and possibilities for us. The process from our initial meeting to the birth of our son only took 13 months. That went so much faster than we anticipated. Additionally we had difficulty with the other attorney from the state in which our son was born. Barbara Casey and her staff were very helpful with this matter and were very quick to fix the mistakes made by the other attorney.

Cons: Sometimes communication was not as strong as we had hoped it would have been. At times we felt there were too many people involved and we were not sure if messages were being delivered and/or received and sometimes there was a delay in responses. Having adopted for the first time we just didn't like to feel uneasy or confused with anything.

Reviews: It does not really matter what pros,cons or ratings we could write about Barbara Casey and her staff. With out their adoption agency we would not have our son. There is always going to be ups and downs when trying to extend your family but it is all worth it in the end. We are thankful for what A Baby Step Adoption (Adoption Associates) has done. Our family is now complete.



Review by Tracy submitted on November, 7, 2010 at 06:25 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Jul 2010
Status: Homestudy and documentation
Completion Date: Nov 2010
Time Until Placement: 4 months
Type: Closed, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Arizona, United States

Tracy's Ratings:
Pros: I had such a wonderful experience with this agency. My case worker was amazing and was there for me and my husband every step of the emotional journey of our adoption. We had paid the fee to join the network in June of this year. Only a month later we were matched with a birthmother (just two weeks before her due date). It was a whirlwind time for us. With all of the ups and downs, excitements and fears, our caseworker (Sarah) was right there to talk us through. I could never say enough good things about Sarah and about A Baby Step Adoptions! So a little over a month after joining the agency network, i was flying to Arizona for the birth of my little girl. This agency, is caring, organized and very efficient. Soon after we flew home we began the post placement visits. Our caseworker made them comfortable and easy. She genuinely cared for us. That makes all the difference. The ladies in the office andswered all of my questions with ease and made the legal side of our adoption painless. This is a truly great organization.

Cons: I've been trying to think hard to find a problem that we may have encountered. The truth is there were any. The whole process was smooth from a quick match to a quick and efficient home visits. Our adoption will be officially finalized in 3 days, just three months after we brough our baby girl home.

Reviews: Since I began my adoption process a few months ago, I have recommended this agency to a friend of mine. She was also matched in only about a month or so and now awaits the birth of her baby girl. I whole heartedly recommend this agency to anyone who is looking to adopt. Our experience was perfect!



Review by guest submitted on October, 10, 2010 at 12:47 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Sep 2010
Status: Placement
Type: Semi-Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Reading, Pennsylvania, United States

guest's Ratings:
Pros: The process was extremely fast and successful compared to other agencies. The process was efficient with affiliation to other agencies which allows for more opportunities to adopt. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. They work hard to develop relationships between clients, birthparents, and staff.

Cons: We quickly finished our home study paper work to speed up the process. We submitted it to our social worker but the process was delayed only about a week due to email complications with the agency.

Reviews: This agency provided us with a newborn baby boy within a few short months. The staff made the process conveniently smooth and painless. I have already referred a few friends to a Baby Step Adoption. We would definitely use this agency for a future adoption.



Review by Gretch324 submitted on August, 25, 2010 at 04:29 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Jul 2009
Status: Placement
Type: Semi-Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Texas, United States

Gretch324's Ratings:
Pros: From start to finish, the staff at A Baby Step were helpful and caring. They were compassionate and eager to help us start our family. Every question we had was answered quickly. Someone was available via cell phone, office phone or email almost 24/7 which was amazing. We never felt lost through the experience. They know the law and make sure all of the paperwork is filed and in place. We wouldn't be the happy family we are today without A Baby Step.

Cons: We knew going that the process was going to be more expensive than if we had gone through other agencies. It is important that potential adoptive parents know that they should have the funds available when they are ready to join the network.

Reviews: One suggestion would be to have A Baby Step Adoption come up on internet searches. When we were looking for agencies and information on adoption, we did blanket searches for "adoption agencies in Pennsylvania" and A Baby Step Adoption wasn't listed. We called some local agenceis that were in the phonebook and one of them said they had heard of an attorney in Reading, PA. That led us to Barbara Casey and A Baby Step Adoption.



Review by guest submitted on August, 10, 2010 at 10:24 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Jul 2009
Status: Homestudy and documentation
Completion Date: Jul 2009
Time Until Placement: 0 months
Type: Semi-Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Central Jersey, New Jersey, United States

guest's Ratings:
Pros: Baby Steps Adoption has truly been a blessing to my family. Since the beginnig they have been very supportive with questions, concerns and emotinal support. They will always greet you with a smile. Our experience has truly been an emotional roller coster. Before we became clients of Baby Steps we were represented by a private attorney. We were scammed by another attorney within 2 months into the adoption process. When Baby Steps heard of the news they immediately went into defense mode for us and began a more vigorous and thorough search to find the perfect birthmother. A month later we were matched with another birthmother through another agency which was unsuccessful. Yet again, Baby Steps was not only supportive they stepped in and tried to co-councel the birthmother's social worker...yes co-councel! After our second attempt we were willing to give up. Our journey was to emotionaly painful,but the staff including Barbara (the director) was very encouraging and was reassuring that they would find the right birthmother for us. Three months later they had matched us with our birthmother. Everything about her was right! They mathced her personality and style of adoption perfectly. Baby Steps had given us hope and light back into our lifes. Our son was born on July 9,2010

Cons: This may come as a surprise but there is nothing I can say came as a surprise to us. Baby Steps is a very thorough agency. Once you have an initial meeting with them you will walk away educated about adoption, adoption styles and variation in price.

Reviews: Baby Steps Adoption is one of the best agency to work with. I appreciate there honesty,patience and hard work



Review by blueschiz submitted on June, 15, 2010 at 05:30 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Aug 2008
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Jun 2009
Time Until Placement: 10 months
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Kansas, United States

blueschiz's Ratings:
Pros: Both social workers that worked with us were great. Kelly did our home study and she was kind and supportive. She also was very helpful as the only sane ear I could reach when I got frustrated with the agency. She tried very hard to help, but was powerless given the state of the agency and its lawyer. She had plans to improve the agency and it looks as though they are on that path.

Cons: We worked with them when they were Adoption Associates and after paying a large fee, that I thought went towards an adoption we were merely sent random emails with connections to other adoption agencies and attorneys that had situations available. They only presented us with 3 possibile birth mothers in 9 months, all of whom turned us down. They connected us with Deborah Stephenson of Reachsource Adoption Services and the birthmother "disappeared" as soon as we paid our fee to her. Neither Adoption Associates or Reachsource was willing to refund our money. In fact, Adoption Associates (Baby Step) kept the $500 initial birth mother expense payment for that situation even though it was never paid to the birth mother. As we progressed it was clear that Barbara Casey was getting stressed that we were not matched and she became extremely difficult to deal with. We found a match on our own through Connections (Maine) and Barbara got upset that we went outside her agency, even though that is exactly what she sent us all those emails to do. She even yelled at me on the phone more than once for asking her for a financial accounting of our expenses with her. In the end we paid 14,500 for home study, post placement and references. Way too much and never got an invoice or receipt.

Reviews: I know they've given themselves a face lift, but if you use this agency, ask for specific financial accounting from day one. Have in writing exactly what you will receive for that money. Ask how many birth mothers they have right now - I know the social workers were working to get more as we fininshed with them. I believe they really want to be good, but organizationally and financially they were a mess.



Review by HappyParent submitted on June, 14, 2010 at 05:02 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Dec 2009
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Dec 2009
Time Until Placement: 0 months
Type: Semi-Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States

HappyParent's Ratings:
Pros: The agency director and all of the other staff are tremendous. We had little understanding of the process, and they took us through the steps. They did a great job of trying to keep the adoption from being a very stressful experience. Once we placed, the A Baby Step Adoption moved quickly and efficiently to finalize that proceedings. We finalized within two months of bringing our newborn daughter home from the hospital. (The forms on this site did not let us indicate that finalization took place in 2010). We had a difficult time in the adoption when the birth mother with whom we'd been matched had a change of heart; the agency did a good job working with that placement, and when that one fell through, worked particularly hard to ensure that our next placement involved a short time frame. Within three months of the difficulty with the first placement, we had custody of our daughter. We are very happy with our little girl. We really enjoy that every morning we get to go into her room, look into her crib, and get a huge smile and giggle from her. We hope that if you are reading this site in connection with an interest in adopting, that this comes to you, too.

Cons: No cons tied to the agency. While the process can be costly, the agency gave us accurate estimates of those costs. Our costs were slightly higher, though not by much because A Better Step Adoption worked with us, as a result of the change in matches.

Reviews: Overall we were very pleased with the whole process.



Review by guest submitted on June, 11, 2010 at 04:23 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Dec 2009
Status: Finalized
Type: Semi-Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Salt Lake City, Utah, United States

guest's Ratings:
Pros: *Prior to signing with this agency, I called repeatedly over a two month period to ask questions about adoption in general. The caseworker I spoke with during that time was very friendly, helpful and overly accomodating. One time, she spent over two hours on the phone with me answering all my questions. *I found the staff very reliable and felt they took a personal interest in our situation. *After we were matched, the agency was very quick to get all necessary paperwork in order and provide us with contact information for the hospital contact person and our attorney in Utah. *While in Utah, they were always in constant contact with us to answer any questions we may have had and to explain what to expect next. *While waiting to clear ICPC, we were told that our state was unhappy with the way Utah's termination laws were written and that our state would not clear us to return until it was redone. Within an hour, Barbara Casey was on the phone with us, explaining what the problem was and her plan to fix it. My husband and I truly felt that Barbara was going to do all she could for us and kept us updated throughout the day. By the end of the day, she called to say that a compromise had been reached and we could return home as soon as possible. They got us home one week from the day our son was discharged and it may have been even sooner had that week not been over Presidents Day, when all government offices were closed. *After returning home, we quickly scheduled our three post-placement visits and we filed our petition in court shortly thereafter. ****We had our first meeting with the agency to officially sign with them on December 8, 2009. After creating our profile, we joined the matching network on January 19, 2010 and submitted our profile to a potential birthmother on January 28th. We had our homestudy on February 1st and received the call that we were matched with our birthmother on February 2nd. Our son was born on February 10, 2010 and we finalized on April 14, 2010.**** *A Baby Step Adoption recognizes how much of an emotional journey adoption can be and how important it is to you, as an adoptive parent, to move the process along. As an adoptive parent, you just want to know that the process is final and that beautiful baby is yours forever. The entire staff works very hard to make that happen as quickly as possible.

Cons: We have no complaints at this time.

Reviews: *This agency really does try to create a positive adoption experience specially tailored for you. You have the flexibility throughout the matching process to change your preferences and to set your own budget. They work very hard to find everyone's ideal match within the budget that each couple has set. *Being able to review potential birthmothers and choose which situations to send our profile to was a very important positive for us. While doing my research, I found a lot of agencies that took your preferences and submitted your profile to birthmothers that matched those preferences. You just waited for the "baby call." Our agency recognizes that adoptive parents should have some control in that process. They also realize that a new couple may change or expand their preferences as they become more familiar and more involved in the process. Therefore, every client is notified of every birthmother available, whether it is similar to your preferences or the complete opposite. As a result, each couple has the power to decide what birthmothers may be right for them. In the end, the birthmother is the one who chooses the couple, but it helps to know that your profile is being submitted to potential matches that are right for you. *My husband and I strongly recommend A Baby Step Adoption and will use them again in the future should we decide to adopt again.



Review by cpattinger submitted on June, 11, 2010 at 07:01 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Dec 2009
Status: Placement
Type: Semi-Open, Domestic, Intrastate
Special Needs: No
Child from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States

cpattinger's Ratings:
Pros: Emotionally beaten up from years of fertility treatments, a failed domestic adoption and a failed international adoption, my husband and I found A Baby Step Adoption (Babara Casey). We interviewed over 20 different agencies and private attorneys between December 2009 and January 2010. We "signed up" with A Baby Step Adoption in February, 2010. Our home study was taken care of quickly and by the end of March 2010, we had an adoption profile and were on our way to being matched with a birthmother. The agency is very busy with many relationships with other attorneys and agencies. Weekly, we were presented with birthmother situations that we could choose to send our profile or not. Some required sending a profile to have the birthmother review but surprisingly, there were several "quick" placements where an adoptive family was needed immediately. We took advantage of one such situation. After an adoptive family backed out of a birthmother situation, we stepped in. From the word "go" the staff at A Baby Step were at the top of their game. They coordinated with the birthmother and father to have my husband and I in the delivery room; they helped coordinate a private space for us with the hospital staff where we could spend time with the baby post delivery and they had open two-way communication with us from start to finish. Due to the outstanding work with the birthmother, coordination of placement and emotional support of the staff at A Baby Step, our son was born on May 13, 2010 and we have not missed a single moment. I wish in my heart of hearts that we would have found this agency sooner in our quest to be parents.

Cons: There really are not many "cons" to working with A Baby Step. The staff is well trained, competent and effcient.

Reviews: We have recommended A Baby Step (Barbara Casey) to many of our friends. For couples wanting to adopt, this agency is THE best value for your heart and wallet!



Review by stuckdh submitted on April, 27, 2010 at 02:42 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Jun 2009
Status: Finalized
Type: Semi-Open, Domestic, Intrastate
Special Needs: No
Child from Reading, Pennsylvania, United States

stuckdh's Ratings:
Pros: Barbara Casey and A Baby Step Adoption are professionals at what they do. We have been trying for years to have a child and heard all kinds of horror stories about domestic adoption. We also saw the stats that showed trying to get a domestic newborn could take upwards of a few years. Barbara and her office team matched us within 1 month of being with her agency. Although that adoption failed, not to the doing of the agency (it happens), they quickly matched us to the baby that is now our beautiful daughter. Less than 10 months from when we signed on with the agency, we had our daughter and the adoption was finalized. The process was great, she knew the laws and prepared us for every step of the way including preparing us for worse case scenerios. The entire team is professional and most important diligent in making your dreams come true.

Cons: None. You get what you pay for.

Reviews: Highly recommend this agency



Review by happymom submitted on April, 14, 2010 at 07:40 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Aug 2008
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Oct 2009
Time Until Placement: 14 months
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Pennsylvania, United States

happymom's Ratings:
Pros: Being our first adoption and agency that we worked with we are satisfied with A Baby Step Adoption. Once we were matched, the adoption process to finalization went very smoothly and quickly. They were able to find a birthmother in our state, that kept our costs within our limited budget.

Cons: They are a small and intimate agency that are very busy, and need to be more tactful, organized, and polished at times, but they do have a sincere concern to help grow our family.

Reviews: I will be recommending A Baby Step Adoption to close friends who are looking to adopt.



Review by krees submitted on April, 9, 2010 at 11:03 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Jan 2009
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Nov 2009
Time Until Placement: 10 months
Type: Open, Domestic, Intrastate
Special Needs: No
Child from Reading, Pennsylvania, United States

krees's Ratings:
Pros: All of barbara staff were kind and professional and willing to answer all questions. The challenges of adopton are not always easy but they really work hard to make your dream come true. Our baby in 6 months old and the social worker called just the other day to see how we were doing!!

Cons: all the negative goes away (honestly) once you have your baby.

Reviews: I am forever grateful for the help of Barbara Casey, Linda and Kelly. We have the most beautiful baby girl and are thrilled.



Review by blueschiz submitted on August, 31, 2009 at 10:24 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Jun 2008
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Jul 2009
Time Until Placement: 13 months
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Kansas, United States

blueschiz's Ratings:
Pros: The two social workers we met were both competent and kind. Kelly did our home study and post placement and was easy to work with and very supportive. We worked with Maggie on one possible match and she was responsive and helpful.

Cons: I don't really know where to begin. Disorganized, unreasonable and abusive. We worked with A Baby Step when they were Adoption Associates, Barbara Casey (owner). They took our initial fees and performed the home study. It took many phone calls to get the home study completed. Once completed, they did not match us with a birth mother, rather they continuously emailed us with situations held by various adoption lawyers, facilitators and agencies. It was very stressful and we did all the work, contacting these various entities and sending out profiles. Then we were expected to pay the full fees of the lawyer/agency in addition to what we paid A Baby Step, nie Adoption Associates. We were advised to use a particular facilitator (Reachsource) and as soon as we paid the fee the birthmother disappeared. Later we accidentally met another agency (Connections) through Barbara Casey (Adoption Associates) and went with them for our adoption. Connections was excellent, professional and accountable. Then Barbara got ANGRY with ME for going to another agency, which is what she promoted us doing all along. She YELLED at me on the phone when I asked for an accounting of our expenses with her - which did not seem unreasonable to me. We were not able to resolve our problems and we left with them having $2500 in legal fees for services they never provided and $500 in birth mother expenses for the reachsource situation that fell through, which Barbara refused to return. $15K to them total for homestudy, post placement and referrals.

Reviews: I would never recommend this agency. When in their office I heard several very angry voice messages on their machine, so we were not alone in our frustration with them. And I never should be verbally abused by a service provider.