Search Reviews | Top Rated Agencies | Add Your Review | Compare Agencies | Blog Join | Login  
Adoption Agency Reviews, Ratings, Rankings and Testimonials Adoption Agencies Reviews, Ratings, Rankings and Testimonials

Heritage Adoption Services

10011 Se Division St.
Suite 314
Portland, Oregon 97266
United States
503-233-1099
info@heritageadoption.org
http://www.heritageadoption.org/

Type: Private Agency


  Average Ratings
Based On All Reviews
9.9 (1,OVERALL) 10 (1,Recommend?) 10 (1,Matching) 10 (1,After Placement) 10 (1,Homestudy) 9.7 (1,Price) 9.7 (1,Staff Support) 9.7 (1,Staff Knowledge) 10 (1,Communication)

Review by margiehumphrey submitted on November, 30, 2007 at 01:05 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 10m
Start Date: Apr 2005
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Aug 2006
Time Until Placement: 16 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Chenzhou (Hunan Province), China

margiehumphrey's Ratings:
Pros: I can’t imagine the journey with anyone but Heritage!! When I walked into Heritage’s office, I had no idea where to begin. I didn’t know what adoptions options were available to me, whether domestic or International adoption was the right option for me, what the cost was, etc.. Heritage educated me regarding my adoption options and also put me in touch with other families, and other organizations to help me with my process and my wait. After I began the adoption process, I became very active and involved with other “waiting families” who were also in the process of adopting and other families who had recently adopted. Through these connections, I became quite close to several families and we exchanged agency/adoption experiences. Many of these families were using various other adoption agencies. And through these exchanges, I learned that although many of the other adoption agencies out there are reputable and good, none of them seemed to offer the personal touch that Heritage provides. I felt as though Heritage was with me every step of the way, holding my hand when I needed it, and just there to listen or offer support at any point in time during the process. The other families using other adoption agencies became envious of the experience I had with Heritage. Mostly they noticed the approachability, communication, availability, and openness of the Heritage staff who were supporting me. There were no other agencies or family experiences that compared to my experience with Heritage in that regard! I can look back now and recall that first day when I met with Heritage. I needed the reassurance that the adoption would really happen, that I wouldn’t be disappointed again, that I could “count” on the process. Heritage was there to educate me on the risks, but at the same time provide me with the reassurances that I needed. I put my trust and faith in Heritage’s experienced and capable hands and they far exceeded all of my expectations in all regards. Now I look at my adorable daughter Amity every day and I have so much to be thankful for and many people to thank…..her birthparents, the country of China, and Heritage Adoption Services. All of them had a hand in bringing me and my daughter together as a forever family. I will be always be grateful to Heritage staff for helping me through the long, emotional journey to bring my daughter Amity home! Today I “dream” about that point in time when I will be able to adopt my second child and provide my daughter Amity with a little sister or brother. There is no question in my mind that Heritage will be with me for adoption number two! I can’t imagine the journey with anyone but Heritage!!

Cons: None

Reviews: Refer to previous comments



Review by dukeella submitted on November, 23, 2007 at 06:01 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 9m
Start Date: Mar 1999
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Jun 2000
Time Until Placement: 15 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Anhui, China

dukeella's Ratings:
Pros: Heritage was SO very knowledgeable in all areas of the adoption process. From my first call as someone who didn't know which country to chose to now, 7 years later they have been very responsive to questions. They return calls and e-mails VERY quickly. During the process when people all over the internet would ask questions, I would respond with "why isn't your agency telling you that?" I always had the answers to rumors before I ever even read them on the internet. No matter my question, no matter how many times I asked, they provided the answers, with professionalism and patience! The in-country staff was absolutely the BEST!! So many adoptive parents I met in China were incredibly jealous of the service Heritage provided us. We have always said that if we were to adopt again, there's only one agency we'd use and it's Heritage!

Cons: NONE!

Reviews: If you're looking for an agency that will hold your hand as much, or as little, as you need, call Heritage, you'll be glad you did!



Review by mtsienna submitted on November, 22, 2007 at 01:45 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 10m
Start Date: Jun 2005
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Sep 2006
Time Until Placement: 15 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Semipalantinsk, Kazakhstan

mtsienna's Ratings:
9.6 (1,OVERALL) 10 (1,Recommend?) 10 (1,Matching) 10 (1,After Placement) 0 (1,Homestudy) 9 (1,Price) 9 (1,Staff Support) 9 (1,Staff knowledge) 10 (1,Communication)
Pros: I choose Heritage based on recommendations from my homestudy agency (no international agencies in my state at the time - now Heritage is here!), research and a personal interview at their office. They were very professional and seemed to really have their act together. As with many internation adoptions, Kaz changed the requirements during my dossier creation. Heritage always was "in the know" on these when people on message boards had not heard a thing or had incorrect information. My process from dossier to travel was very short and now I have the best daughter in the entire world - IMHO. Their post placement support was also very good. And their fees were very typical of what I heard from others. Their fees are clearly set forth and were spot on without a single surprise. They did not have any big upfront amounts. Never in the process did I have concerns about their ethics. It was a very smooth (for an international adoption) process and I always felt well supportive. The in-country staff were wonderful and I still miss them. I still feel very supported by Heritage over a year after my adoption was final. Great agency - I highly recommend them.

Cons: The only possible one was that they were in another state but they were always really on top of e-mail or voice mail and so it was just not any issue. I really do not have any cons.

Reviews: None.