Search Reviews | Top Rated Agencies | Add Your Review | Compare Agencies | Blog Join | Login  
Adoption Agency Reviews, Ratings, Rankings and Testimonials Adoption Agencies Reviews, Ratings, Rankings and Testimonials

A Childs Dream

19491 Front Street Northeast
Poulsbo, Washington 98370
United States
1 360-598-6119

http://www.achildsdream.org

Type: Private Agency


  Average Ratings
Based On All Reviews

Review by melissawinn submitted on March, 25, 2011 at 04:45 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Feb 2011
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Mar 2011
Time Until Placement: 1 months
Type: Semi-Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Las Vegas, Nevada, United States

melissawinn's Ratings:
Pros: I loved the fact that I had cell numbers to social workers working with my birth mother. Even when they were EXTREMELY busy, they took the time to take my call and give the information I needed or would tell me when they could get it to me.

Cons: I do not have any.

Reviews: I am a practicing OB/Gyn in Texas and felt that the agency was very professional. They replied to my questions/emails/texts in a timely fashion. The paper work which was extensive, was easy to understand and they had a check off list which was very helpful to make sure we knew exactly what documentation was needed for the adoption to be finalized. They also gave us realistic waiting times for the process. Dee (Nevada office) was very knowedgable and helpful. She was always patient with my ignorant questions. Ruth who was the social worker who worked directly with my birth mother was able to give me the reassurance I needed throughout the 72 hours waiting process before birth mother could sign. I am VERY pleased with my experience with "A Child's Dream".



Review by DanaK submitted on March, 3, 2011 at 02:41 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Apr 2003
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Dec 2003
Time Until Placement: 8 months
Type: Closed, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Iowa, United States

DanaK's Ratings:
Pros: There were none, except for the fact that we have our son.

Cons: They were very unprofessional and rude. We never laid eyes on the social worker again, after she brought our son to us, nor did she ever contact us the whole time we were in TN to make sure everything was okay. Also, before she left, she asked that if we had clothes for our son she would need the outfit back that she brought him in. So basically, he came to us in a diaper and blanket. Anna Marie only contacted us to find out where her check was at and that happened numerous times, this was after we had handled things the way she told us to. We then heard nothing from them until after the finalization process, then I get a phone call from a ranting and raving Anna Marie informing me that our finalization was illegal. She claimed that we had not filed all the necessary papers with her, turns out she didn't have a clue what she was talking about. I would be VERY CAREFUL in dealing with them, their biggest concern is the money, not the children they place.

Reviews: We dealt with them because the referral agency gave them our information. After the referral agency found out what happened, she told us we were the sixth family she had referred and we all had the same complaints about Anna Marie and her staff. She no longer deals with them. There are a lot of good agencies and lawyers out there, it's too bad that A Child's Dream has been a nightmare for so many families that just want a child. The name should really be A Parent's Nightmare. Thankfully it did not keep us from seeking a second child but not through them. Every chance I get I warn people about this agency.



Review by guest submitted on May, 28, 2010 at 07:19 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Dec 2007
Status: Placement
Type: Semi-Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Washington, United States

guest's Ratings:
Pros: None, other than a very-well-meaning (yet very mis-guided) caseworker and nice attorney. Unfortunately, this agency made some very poor choices in the handling of our case (they should have never taken the case, they should have approached the birthfather to confirm what they knew of his opposition to the adoption, and/or they should have told us the truth about their knowledge of his opposition so we could have made a more informed decision before signing a contract and receiving placement)...probably for all the right reasons (to help successfully place a precious little baby girl as desired by the birthmom's family) but at extreme pain and cost to us as well as at the emotional cost to both birth parents and our baby girl. Also, they returned some (but not nearly all) of our money from our failed adoption when confronted with what we knew of their handling of our case.

Cons: 1) agency failed to obtain birth father consent ahead of time, during, or following placement even though they knew at all times where he was 2) agency was aware that birth father was opposed to adoption prior to placement but did not disclose this to us (we subsequently obtained written documentation showing that this information was provided them on the intake forms and confirmed that the birthfather tried calling them to stop the adoption but they would not take his calls). 3) agency denied their knowledge of the birthfather's opposition when we specifically questioned them on this prior to placement 4) agency refused to obtain birth father consent at the hospital when we requested it 5) owner was insulting to us when we went to sign papers in their office after placement and tried to ask simple questions about the process 6) agency was insensitive toward us after placement when we tried to express concerns about how the adoption was being handled 7) agency pushed all hearings out as far as possible to make fighting the adoption hardest on the birth father, but ultimately hurting all parties involved to the maximum extent possible 8) agency rubbed the birthmother all the wrong ways as well, resulting in huge distrust among all parties involved--and resulting in the agency being an advocate for none of the direct parties involved.

Reviews: It's nice to see that some have had pleasant experiences with this agency since our failed adoption, but disheartening to see others that had some of the same negative experiences we did. Hopefully, as long as they are allowed to stay in business, they treat people better than they treated us. I would go to great lengths to protect other adoptive mothers from the pain I experienced, coupled with the complete lack of support I felt throughout our failed adoption from the people we paid approximately $30,000. It was only after I learned that we had been misled about one simple fact (that they knew the birthfather was opposed to the adoption) that I could at all understand their bizarre behavior toward us throughout the adoption process. The biggest lesson we learned from this and our subsequent successful adoption last year: adoptive parents are not as powerless as we might think. If it doesn't feel right, don't go with an agency. If the story you are being told by an agency doesn't sound right, be willing to question it...even if you are about to be matched and your questioning might threaten the placement. Finally, insist that the agency put things in writing to you (such as comments on their understanding of the birthfather if they do not have consent)...if it's the truth, they should have no problem with it...if they are not telling you the truth and will not put what they are saying in writing, then walk away. Our one blessing from our failed adoption was that a precious little baby girl was loved and raised by us for 3 months when no one else was there for her. We know that we did everything we could under some very bad circumstances to love her until the day we lost her. She will remain always in our hearts and prayers.



Review by axton911 submitted on July, 1, 2009 at 09:52 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Feb 2007
Status: Homestudy and documentation
Completion Date: Nov 2008
Time Until Placement: 21 months
Type: Open, Domestic, Intrastate
Special Needs: No
Child from Las Vegas, Nevada, United States

axton911's Ratings:
Pros: I would never recommend this agency and have filed a complaint with the BBB. My next step is to look at filing a complaint with license board in both Washington and in Nevada. The major issue with this agency is that they fail to get birthfather's signatures prior to letting the adoptive parents live with the newborn parents. In many cases, they know where the father is and could collect the signatures before the baby is born. The mother signs after the birth but the father's signature should be collected prior to the birth. In my case, I was told 3 different times that they would collect the signature before the birth. The day I left the hospital, I was assured that they would ask the birthfather that week for his signature. Records showed he was not contacted for several months after the birth and denied the request. I was soooo close to having to have to return the baby. Thankfully, the BF changed his mind after 9 months. Unfortunately, ACD paperwork was such a mess and they lost paperwork that it took another year to close the adoption. The owner, Anna-Marie.linehan, is extremly rude to adoptive parents. I have had several tell me they had the same experience with her. When things got tough with the Birthparents, she was appalled that i went to her for help and told me to go through her lawyer. Dee Rodriguez, in Las Vegas, was also horrible. She was suppose to meet me and introduce me to the Birthmother but did not. She did not show up for the birth or to introduce me to the hospital staff. I had to beg her to come to the hospital when the mother tested postive for drugs during the birth and said she was not going to allow me to adopt the baby. It was just a terrible experience. I am thankful for one thing. My baby boy is now two and the love of my life. I am thankful that the agency got me in contact with the birthmother but that is really the only positive to say. The way they treat people is the biggest crime. Adoption is so emotional. This is the least we should expect after paying 30k+ for their services.... which by the way is one of the higher fees out there.

Cons: GET THE BIRTHFATHER signature. It has to be a higher priority. If they know where the father is, there is no reason a baby should leave the agencies custody until the BF signs an official document. BE NICE and provide the service to adoptive parents. At least pretend that adoptive parents are the clients and treat them with respect. If the agency does not look out for the rights of adoptive parents, there is nothing that protects us during the adoption process. Treat the birthmoms with respect. This was a huge complaint from the birthmom. She too said that they made promises not kept and treated her disrespectfully. This is why the birthfather would not sign per the court papers. He hated how they were treating the birthmom.

Reviews: Less than a 5 rating for sure. Be careful if you decide to work with this agency.



Review by LorieBH submitted on June, 10, 2009 at 06:26 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Jan 2009
Status: Placement
Type: Closed, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Las Vegas, Nevada, United States

LorieBH's Ratings:
Pros: The staff at A Child's Dream are very knowledgable and walked us through all the complicated steps of adoption. They always answered any questions we had promptly and honestly.

Cons: I don't feel we had any negative experinces with this agency. Our adoption went very quickly and we have been very happy with A Child's Dream!

Reviews: Overall we couldn't be happier with our adoption experience! Julie at the Las Vegas location was awesome and extremely helpful!



Review by EllasMom submitted on May, 17, 2009 at 11:18 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Mar 2009
Status: Placement
Type: Semi-Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Washington, United States

EllasMom's Ratings:
Pros: My husband and I could not wait to get on the computer to tell you about our experience with A Child's Dream. We think that it should be re-named "A Parents Dream", b/c so far that has been exactly what our experience has been.....a dream! Prior to our placement I had read some not so favorable things about this agency and I felt the need to come on here and tell you that we had the exact opposite experience with all of the people at A Child's Dream. They are wonderful, down to earth, heart felt people. Everything, every step of the way was handled perfectly. Our calls were answered promptly and efficiently. Our paperwork was complete and copies of everything were shared with us. Our Birth Mom was handled with loving care by Gina and being that she is the most important person in the process this gave us great comfort. When our placement was complete and we went to the agency in Paulsbo, we were greeted by Gina, Anne Marie and Mike Kotzin. We enjoyed our time with them and felt "part of the family" right away. My husband and I recommend this agency 100%. They know their stuff and are wonderful people. They will make your dream of becoming a forever family come true.

Cons: Nothing!

Reviews: Wonderful and we would recommend them 100%.



Review by dansgirl submitted on April, 14, 2009 at 06:05 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Mar 2007
Status: Placement
Completion Date: Nov 2007
Time Until Placement: 8 months
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Nevada, United States

dansgirl's Ratings:
Pros: When we were given our situation through A Child's Dream, we were extremely nervous, because we had just been approved to adopt and this was the first situation we were given. My husband and I researched the agency and did find some negative comments, but was not scared off because regardless they seemed to have done their job. Anyway I spoke with someone at the agency and they were more then helpful. They even gave me a number to call after hours, just if I had a question. Once my husband and I spoke to them, our nerves were eased. We had constant contact with them during the waiting process (for the birth mother to deliver). They answered any of my questions, even if they were probably crazy. Not once did they seem frusterated with me. When the birth mother went into labor they called me as soon as they knew the birth mother was being admitted in the hospital and we were able to get on the next plane. The birth mother was having a hard time and wasn't sure if she would go through with the placemet. The birth mother later told me, the whole time the staff was really understanding and never once pressured her into the placement. They just told her she had to do what was best for herself. After some grueling days, the birth mother went through with the placement (sigh of relief and prayers answered). A Child's Dream made sure the birth mother received the counseling she wanted (they set counseling aside for every birth mother). They did not just forget about her once the placement was made or us for that matter. Once we were ready to finalize we had to get the agency some documents, but other that that it was smooth sailing.

Cons: They seemed a little expensive, but after researching other agency's they are on the higher end, but not the most expensive by any means.

Reviews: I asked them about what I had read on other websites (also on this site) and all they would tell me is that due to confidentiality they were unable to speak about the cases, but they were aware there was negative posts . It seems to me that they aren't even able to defend themselves. Everything is pretty one sided and wonder what the truth of these situations really are. There are always three sides to a story.



Review by harvitt submitted on March, 15, 2009 at 09:37 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Jan 2006
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Aug 2006
Time Until Placement: 7 months
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Oakland, California, United States

harvitt's Ratings:
Pros: Despite their dishonesty, the rude manner in which they treated us and the birthparents, and their ineptitude, the adoption went through. The lawyer that they had us use (not included in their cost of course), Carol Rainey, was fine.

Cons: We live in CA and were matched with birthparents in WA state and our facilitators in CA had us work with A Child's Dream once we were matched. Our homestudy was not complete at the time the baby was born. When we first had contact with them, they gave us no idea that they were going to charge us $10,000 for, well, i'm not sure what. They did send someone from their office in Poulsbo (West of Seattle) to the southeast corner of the state where the baby was born, to terminate the birthparents rights. Unfortunately, they let this person go by car and incur all sorts of charges which they passed on to us ($3000) for travel and lodging, etc, because she didn't like to fly on small planes. They arranged for a place to stay when we moved up to the Seattle area, but it was completely inappropriate for a family with a new born and a 2yr old; it was on Bainbridge Island far from everything, and not even a safe house for a 2 yr old to be in... When we met with them, up in Poulsbo, Anna Marie Kotzin was completely unintelligible. This is where we first found out that they were billing us $10,000, and at this point we had our baby but they still had legal control over things and could easily sabotage things, and we had no choice, unless we wanted to give them the baby and go home. We ended up paying them almost 11k, so the other 8,000 was for preparing an interstate compact and screwing us over repeatedly by dropping the ball on our paperwork and extending our stay in WA before we were allowed to return to CA. They also had the birthmom use an outrageously expensive and, it turned out, crappy therapist. They tried to create distrust between us and the birthparents, it was really unbelievable.. They were really rude and inept and unethical and they should be put out of business.

Reviews: The agency in CA that did our homestudy had previous dealings with them that were also completely unsatisfactory. Via other adoption websites, i have come into contact with others that had the misfortune of using them (as well as a couple that had fairly decent interactions with them, but these were vastly outnumbered by people as outraged as we were). If you want to contact me directly, my email is (remove the spaces): da nha rvi tt {at symbol} ya ho o.c om



Review by trevorcannon submitted on July, 9, 2008 at 10:12 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Jun 2005
Status: Homestudy and documentation
Completion Date: Jan 2007
Time Until Placement: 19 months
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Las Vegas, Nevada, United States

trevorcannon's Ratings:
Pros: ACD's social worker Susan was very helpful. She assisted us in better communication with the hospital and with the birthmother and her family. She was a bright star.

Cons: Their pricing structure is higher than other agencies because they do not include basic costs with the agency fee. Communication between staff members and with clients needs definite improvement! AnnaMarie needs anger management training.

Reviews: The communication lines at ACD are horrible. We had the worst time getting hold of anybody to get our questions answered. We finally made contact with AnnaMarie and were treated like criminals for simply trying to clarify our responsibilities. She actually threatened to give our daughter to another couple after we had held her in our arms! I have never been treated so poorly. And the pricing is all "ala carte" .... the basic fee for ACD is comparable to other agencies, but ACD adds all basic costs in addition to the fee where other agencies include most costs as part of the fee. These people are in the business for the money, not for the children. Their social worker Susan was very helpful, although she did not get support from the head office to handle our case when she had to take a couple of days off - leaving us stranded in Las Vegas for an extra 5 days.