Search Reviews | Top Rated Agencies | Add Your Review | Compare Agencies | Blog Join | Login  
Adoption Agency Reviews, Ratings, Rankings and Testimonials Adoption Agencies Reviews, Ratings, Rankings and Testimonials

About A Child

729 22nd Street
West Des Moines, Iowa 50265
United States
1.888.596.2816
adopt@aboutachild.org
http://www.aboutachild.org

Type: Private Agency


  Average Ratings
Based On All Reviews

Review by aboutachild submitted on November, 6, 2008 at 02:57 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 1y 9m
Start Date: Feb 2005
Status: Finalized
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: Yes
Child from Ukraine

aboutachild's Ratings:
Pros: see review

Cons: see review

Reviews: This is AAC response to a family posting here under alias Jillian. Not to diminish the family's suffering in the tragic situation, we feel it is necesary to clarify certain points. At the time adoption has been completed, the family was extremely happy and posted the following public post to the Yahoo Adoption From Ukraine Group on 01/13/06: ====================== We returned right before Christmas with a healthy 18 month old. Our fees were reasonable and competetive and fixed. We knew in advance what our fees were going to be and paid no bribes. We also have a two year old daughter and didn't want to disrupt birth order. Our son is beautiful and nearly as big as our daughter, though developmentally he is about 6 to 8 months behind his peers. He's catching up very fast, though. We are from the States and dressed nicely for our NAC appt. All that said, from what I saw when I was there 99.9% of the reason of our "success" in receiving a child that met our request was our facilitator. We saw many families just like us that were not so fortunate. Of course, the process is changing now and will hopefully make it more equal for everyone, but when we were there it was all about the facilitator. If you join with a good team that has a good track record of recent young referrals I would say you have a good chance of getting a child under two and a half. ======================= 7 months later, American doctors finally diagnosed the child with PKU, an extremely rare genetic disorder that was not diagnosed and/or reported by Ukrainian doctors. When caught early enough, PKU is managed by protein-free diet, but by the time this boy was diagnosed, the damage was irreversible. About A Child provided moral support and refunded 30 of the fees paid by the family, but the family felt entited to full adoption expenses compensation, and promised a smear campaign against AAC if sheir demands are not met. About A Child is committed to warning prospective parents about risks and uncertainties of international adoption. We always recommend consulting with International Adoption doctors before acceptinga referral and since this tragic incident have included a topic of genetic disorders to our family education module.



Review by Jillian submitted on September, 8, 2008 at 09:03 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 1y 9m
Start Date: Mar 2004
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Jan 2005
Time Until Placement: 10 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Ukraine

Jillian's Ratings:
Pros: State-side the staff (particularly Victoria) was helpful and friendly. In country Victoria called our facilitator nearly every day to get an update.

Cons: 1. When we were in the car on the way to the airport we were told that the In-Country fee we were supposed to bring with us had been raised three thousand dollars from the figure we were given in our paperwork. 2. State-side we were told that in-country fees would be due as services rendered. Instead the facilitator collected the entire fee upon our arrival. 3. Multiple, unexpected, extra expenses kept popping up in country. 4. Against Ukrainian law, our referral was pre-indentified for us and we were not given the option to look at any others while at the SDA (then NAC). 5. Our son's medical records were extrememly falsified (ie. terminally ill child reported to be completely healthy) and then given to us only orally (though copied records were promised to us daily until we flew out, naturally, they never arrived in the mail as promised either). 6. After indescribable heartache, lasting family repercussions, etc. About A Child's response was, "Oh, sorry." They refused to give any help or support.

Reviews: I WOULD STRONGLY RECOMMEND POTENTIAL ADOPTIVE PARENTS TO STAY FAR AWAY FROM THIS AGENCY.



Review by trecke submitted on January, 9, 2008 at 05:58 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 3y 9m
Start Date: Mar 2007
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Nov 2007
Time Until Placement: 8 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: Yes
Child from Budapest, Hungary

trecke's Ratings:
Pros: We really loved working with About A Child, particularly Victoria and (our in-country translator) Orsolya. They were very responsive and attentive to our needs. We never felt that we were alone in this sometimes scary process, and Orsolya made the Hungarian adoption process seem easy and efficient. You could tell that AAC's staff was on our side and that their main priority is that the children find good and loving homes. If we do decide to adopt again, we will definitely use AAC again!

Cons: None!

Reviews: AAc is already Hague compliant, which is a leg up above other agencies who are not.



Review by shele337 submitted on December, 9, 2007 at 04:37 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 4y 0m
Start Date: Feb 2007
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Aug 2007
Time Until Placement: 6 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: Yes
Child from Artemovsk, Ukraine

shele337's Ratings:
Pros: Our experience with About A Child was wonderful. They are friendly, helpful & extremely knowledgable about the process of international adoption. They were honest and up front about all aspects of adopting from Ukraine. We were able to get in touch with them when ever we needed to, had our questions answered quickly & efficiently, and all of our paperwork was reviewed and passed along to the next level very quickly. They kept in touch with us as we traveled to Ukraine and we were supported through every aspect of our journey. Once home with our son, AAC continued to assist us with all post adoption paperwork. They were a valuable asset in our adoption experience & we highly recommend them to anyone embarking on the journey of international adoption.

Cons: We did not have any problems with this agency.

Reviews: They are a small agency & as a result are very friendly and very helpful. Don't let their size fool you, they know their stuff! If you are looking for people who know the process of internatinal adoption & an agency to assist you in adding to your family with a positive experience, these are the people you want by your side through the process!