Search Reviews | Top Rated Agencies | Add Your Review | Compare Agencies | Blog Join | Login  
Adoption Agency Reviews, Ratings, Rankings and Testimonials Adoption Agencies Reviews, Ratings, Rankings and Testimonials

Adopt Abroad

319 S. Front Street
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
United States


http://www.adopt-abroad.com

Type: Private Agency


  Average Ratings
Based On All Reviews

Review by NY submitted on July, 21, 2015 at 09:47 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Jan 2000
Status: Placement
Type: Semi-Open, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Other, nothing

NY's Ratings:
Pros: Nothing positive to say...

Cons: Adopt Abroad opens programs without doing any homework on the country they are working in. In fact in some cases no one from AAI has ever even visited the country they are "working" in. The information they give you about your child will be wrong, the child may or may not have a family and may or may not be living with them. They will tell you exaggerated success rates to hook you in to the program. They will take your money and turn as cold as ice in a moments notice. If you come to them with questions or concerns after they have received thousands of your dollars already then they will make up excuses on the spot or write it of as a miscommunication and degrade you while doing so. You will never be told where your child is residing while you are away from them. You will get 1 picture before you go that may not actually resemble your child when you get in country and once you leave them after obtaining guardianship you will receive 1 photo every few months if you are lucky. Once you have given your money to them they have no reason to end the adoption or do any work on your behalf what so ever so things will understandably seem never ending.

Reviews: I wish I was able to find more reviews on AAI before I started this process. If I had I know I would not be in this situation now. Please Please take my advice and do not give this agency a moments more thought. They are most assuredly not worth your time, money and tears.



Review by Kinneyb1 submitted on March, 3, 2015 at 02:28 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Nov 2013
Status: Homestudy and documentation
Type: Open, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Other, Bulgaria

Kinneyb1's Ratings:
Pros: I don't have anything positive to say about Adopt Abroad.

Cons: I live overseas and contacted Adopt Abroad to do my home study. I was assigned to Karen and within two weeks, I sent her all my paperwork. I was coming back home to the states in a few months so we agreed to do my in person home study interview when I returned. In the meantime, she kept asked for documents that I had already sent. When we met the first time in her house, she introduced me to her three children. She pointed to the middle one and told her, "Tell them why are you different." The child replied that is adopted. It was very uncomfortable to have her singled out like that, The rest of the interview was just as unprofessional, with many breaks taken because of her children interrupting. She would stop the meeting and spend half an hour or so playing with each of kids. As a result, what could have been just a short meeting turned into about 5 hours. Plus, as a potential adopter, it was a bit uncomfortable to watch her mother her children while I was waiting for mine. The process continued and Karen would lose paperwork, or request documents that I've already submitted. Some documents expired and I had to pay again to get them to her. We were no closer to finalizing when I was given very bad medical news and, after much agonizing, decided to end the adoption process. I immediately contacted Karen and told her that I couldn't continue. I asked her to please send a refund. As usual, and what I've come to expect, it took a really long time for her to respond that I will not be getting a refund. I asked for the director’s phone number and, again, after several weeks, I finally got the number for Carol Albers and requested a refund of the $2000 I submitted. Carol was quite belligerent and hurtful. In a bad situation, such as cancelling an adoption, I would have expected compassion and understanding. She absolutely refused to give me a refund, despite the fact that I never did receive the report nor is there anywhere on the website, or in the contract that states there are cancellation fees for cancelling a homestudy.

Reviews: If you must use them, and I would suggest that you don't, please work out a cancellation policy. They currently do not have one for a home study and, as a result, I'm out of pocket $2000.



Review by PrinceMoses submitted on March, 16, 2013 at 08:50 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 4y 0m
Start Date: Oct 2010
Status: Withdrew voluntarily
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Morocco

PrinceMoses's Ratings:
Pros: The social worker that adopt abroad sent was kind, professional, efficient and flexible. She completed my homestudy in a timely manner and was helpful.

Cons: I will NEVER recommend Adopt Abroad to anyone. The problems I encountered were many: (1) Questions were never answered even after repeatedly asking the same question via e-mail; questions were only answered if I called; (2) I found out important information-- from another adoption agency--that Adopt Abroad should have known but did not, such as (a) if you want to adopt a Moroccan child, and you are an expat, all your paperwork should have your U.S. address or a family member's U.S. address, because Moroccan officials frown on you taking a Moroccan child to certain countries--pretty much every country in Asia and (b) immediately after adoption is finalized in Morocco, take your child immediately to the U.S. for readoption; it is much better for your child and yourselves if you do that; (3) Adopt Abroad employees can't answer my questions; only Carol, the director can; whereas, some adoption agencies have one or two people in charge of each country's adoptions and handles clients adopting from that country, Carol does it all. Thus, she was spread so thin that her work became sloppy. She hired employees to help but her new employees were nice but not helpful and referred me to her; (4) the Moroccan translator/driver was a bully who wanted me to stay at his friend's apartment and got mad if I said that I wanted to stay elsewhere (5) the Morocco lawyer was nice but incompetent (6) If you adopt from Morocco, you have to be a Muslim--which I was never told--and this information was not on the Adopt Abroad website at the time for Morocco adoption--and raise the adopted Moroccan child Muslim (that part is in the Adopt Abroad Morocco adoption website).

Reviews: Some have had wonderful experience with Adopt Abroad while others have not. Adopt Abroad has happily and successfuly placed many children with their forever families. However, I will not recommend Adopt Abroad. In hindsight, there was a lot of things I should have done.



Review by Kendra submitted on September, 16, 2012 at 08:46 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 6y 0m
Start Date: Jan 2011
Status: Finalized
Type: Open, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Majuro, Marshall Islands

Kendra's Ratings:
Pros: Our social worker was nice and pleasant, just lacked experience (as noted in the next section).

Cons: This is the first time we have ever posted a negative review of anything and we waited months before deciding to finally post. We feel it is necessary to post this review to prevent other families experiencing the same problems we had by using another agency. There is an earlier review from an int'l family that reads as if it could be us so the problems are not isolated. We are an American family living as ex pats in London. This is our first adopttion but we had a great adoption support network that assisted us throughout our adoption process. We were registered with an American adoption program based in the US. We needed to find a home study agency to perform an American / Hague approved home study. Thus, we had two agencies: Adopt Abroad as our home study agency and our local US adoption agency (referred to as local adoption agency). We fully recognize that we, as potential adoptive parents, are anxious for the home study to be completed. We were told that our Home Study would take around 2 months, perhaps 3 and that there was a qualified social worker within a few hours of us. As soon as we paid our money and signed the contract, we received very little communication from Carol Albers despite repeated calls and e-mails. The social worker had not performed a home study for the Marshall Islands before and generally did not seem skilled in home studies. Our local adoption agency in the U.S. found it very difficult to obtain the right information from her about us. We ended up being sent the list of requirements and working with our social worker to explain what was necessary. In sum, our social worker, although very nice and pleasant, was delayed in communicating with us, did not provide us with information as to what the next steps were or a timeline to assist us. We had additional challenges as our social worker worked out of her home with an old computer system which caused a number of issues in sending documents back and forth. We ended up having to convert all of our documents to an old file format (Windows 97) and at points, physically mail information to her as she was unable to open PDFs or photos. What really caused us problems was our state CA/N disclosures. We had two states which would only send the results directly to the home study agency. They would not send the results to the local adoption agency and they would not run more than one set of results. Adopt Abroad has a policy of not sharing information with third parties. When we signed up to the contract, we understood and agreed to this policy. However, we were appalled to find out that this meant that Adopt Abroad would not send information to our local adoption agency. Thus, Adopt Abroad received our CA/N results but refused to send a copy of these results to our local adoption agency resulting in our dossier being unable to be completed, causing yet more delays. Carol and our social worker were not at all willing to assist us with a workaround, despite our willingness to sign whatever legal waiver and release Adopt Abroad wanted. It was simply a firm (and rude) no with a complete failure to work with us in resolving the situation. Our local adoption agency eventually agreed to a workaround to submit our dossier. Our time from signing the contract until our dossier submission was almost 8 months and that was after we eventually took an active role in assisting our social worker with the requirements. Almost a year later, after we received our referral, we received an urgent call from the local attorney in the Marshall Islands needing the physical copies of these CA/A checks. Again, we contacted Carol for copies, explained that we were literally preparing for court and again, same response. Fortunately, enough time had lapsed that these two states ran these CA/N checks for us again. However, as a result we had a delay in preparing our court documents. Another family adopting with us who we met when adopting our son experienced similar problems with Adopt Abroad to the point that she swtiched agencies. Our local adoption agency now refers all int'l families to a different agency. We will not use Adopt Abroad for any of our post adoption support.

Reviews: We recognize that families adopting are often anxious and nervous about the process and the time it takes. From our adoption support network and our local adoption agency, we know that our experience is out of the norm and should not have been this way.



Review by dustydotts submitted on April, 4, 2012 at 08:47 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 4y 6m
Start Date: Feb 2009
Status: Referral received
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: Yes
Child from Razgrad, Bulgaria

dustydotts's Ratings:
Pros: We began our adoption agency in 2009. After talking with MANY agencies, we chose Adopt Abroad. Carol and her staff have gone above and beyond MANY times during the process. We are very pleased with our agency Family National Association in Bulgaria as well. They have gone out of their way for us as well and we could not be more pleased with both! We received our referral in October and had court on March 20th. The judge permitted our adoption and we are currently awaiting travel dates to go get our daughter. We loved her so very much and thanks to our wonderful guide from FNA enjoyed our time in her country tremendously. We just can not wait to walk her out the orphange doors and into her forever family!! WARMLY recommend this agency and this program!!!

Cons: Communication was sometimes a little slow due to the small agency, but Carol ALWAYS answered my numberous calls and emails and was always very kind, helpful, and knowelegable. Would not change a thing!!

Reviews: Great agency and partner agency! MANY MANY thanks!



Review by tarice submitted on April, 3, 2012 at 04:54 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 3y 0m
Start Date: Dec 2011
Status: Homestudy and documentation
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: Yes
Child from China

tarice's Ratings:
Pros: Adopt Abroad got back to me as soon as I contacted them. We were in need of an agency to do our homestudy for international adoption. Dr. Carol Albers, owner was my social worker. She was very personable and comfortable with our biological children..The boys looked forward to being interviewed and felt very at ease during the process. Had we not already been in a relationship with another agency we would have loved to have Dr. Albers assist us with our entire adoption process.

Cons: na

Reviews: na



Review by maydas submitted on March, 16, 2012 at 02:39 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 12y 10m
Start Date: Jan 2011
Status: Homestudy and documentation
Completion Date: Jun 2011
Time Until Placement: 5 months
Type: Closed, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: Yes
Child from Oklahoma, United States

maydas's Ratings:
Pros: Carol Albers and Her Staff are Awesome! Very friendly and family oriented staff. Made the whole process a memorable life changing experience. Very dedicated and honest professionals helped us in every step of the way. We are forever thankful for your hard work and dedication. We will continue to work with this agency to help our wonderful family grow. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts. Rod and Adi

Cons: none

Reviews: Prospective adoptive parents need to put in a 110% effort to make this a success. The agency and the parents must work together as a team to make this all possible. The more time, flexibility and patience you put into it the more you will get out of this experience.



Review by zaksof submitted on March, 9, 2012 at 10:25 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 4y 0m
Start Date: Nov 2009
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Nov 2010
Time Until Placement: 12 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Meknes, Morocco

zaksof's Ratings:
Pros: My experience with Adopt Abroad overall was extremely satisfactory in every level, although the communication was slow to receive it did come thru and were very helpful at every stage of the adoption.

Cons: There were some errors with the final documentation being translated incorrectly but were quickly resolved in a timely manner.

Reviews: If adopting internationally this agency will definitely fit your needs...



Review by ElmerJFudd submitted on March, 7, 2012 at 10:07 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 1y 0m
Start Date: Apr 2010
Status: Homestudy and documentation
Completion Date: Apr 2010
Time Until Placement: 0 months
Type: Open, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Meknes, Morocco

ElmerJFudd's Ratings:
Pros: Carol and her team were always there for us. We were completely made aware of every step along the way. Communication was excellent at all times.

Cons: No cons.

Reviews: We had access to a wonderful attorney who worked very fast and kept up up-to-date on the process after we took possession of the children.



Review by ElmerJFudd submitted on July, 27, 2011 at 10:39 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 10m
Start Date: Aug 2010
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Jul 2011
Time Until Placement: 11 months
Type: Open, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Morocco

ElmerJFudd's Ratings:
Pros: Meeting and selection of children was a very positive aspect of the process. Dr Albers was personable, it was good to meet with her in the country of adoption. She is clearly professional.

Cons: A clear timeline as well as costings would have helped. The checklist given was not comprehensive. There was some difficulty with communication and questions in emails were sometimes left unanswered, which was frustrating. We felt that we did a lot of work ourselves especially after post-placement, we wondered at times what we were paying the agency for. When visiting the children, which we did 3 times, we thought the cost for the driver in country very steep and unreasonable. It would have been helpful to have had post placement assistance from the agency. We had to find a different lawyer from the one recommended by the agency as they had limited knowledge of the process. This increased our costs above what was expected. A lot of the research into the process, filling of forms, filing forms & getting documents was left to ourselves especially with regard to post placement.

Reviews: We are delighted with our family, our boys are gorgeous and very happy. The orphanage and director that we dealt with was most helpful, supportive and made the in-country process very easy. Overall is has been a challenging experience. The main points to improve would be communication and clearity of the process.



Review by kansasmom4 submitted on July, 25, 2011 at 10:35 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Mar 2011
Status: Finalized
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Finland

kansasmom4's Ratings:
Pros: We used Adopt Abroad to perform our home study only. We are Americans living abroad and they had a social worker on staff in a neighboring country that was the best option for us.

Cons: I had two major problems with the agency through the process. One was communication. 0ur social worker (whom we totally loved) was fantastic, but Australian. A lot of our questions she did not know the answer to. We were not permitted to contact the people in the states who would know. We had to go through her. We felt lost in the shuffle. When i was able to email Dr. Albers about something several times, it took weeks to hear back from her, and the answer usually seemed like she did not even read my email completely. Communicating with the agency was incredibly frustrating. My second problem came in the way of hidden fees. We were asked to pay the $500 home study fee and the social workers fees. This was all fine and written and declared ahead of time in a fee schedule. At the time of our home study visit, I had printed forms for our state police clearances. We needed them from four states in the US, and three were required to be sent directly from the agency with someone's signature. Our social worker felt it should not be her signature, but someone in the US. Communicating this with Dr. Alberts turned into a nightmare and delayed our home study by a couple of weeks. When she did finally write back, it was to say that an extra $100 paperwork fee would be required. To sign three sheets of paper that I sent to them and fax them to a fax number that I provided them. I felt this was ridiculous, but there was no wiggle room, and we were too far into the process to say no.

Reviews: We really loved our particular social worker, and she was a fantastic, quick, and efficient communicator. It's too bad she was handicapped by the US side of the agency. I would not, and have not recommended this agency to other expats. I have already told several families to avoid it if possible as I felt the communication was so poor and it was really stressful.



Review by guest submitted on July, 12, 2011 at 06:14 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 9m
Start Date: Oct 2010
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Jun 2011
Time Until Placement: 8 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Meknes, Morocco

guest's Ratings:
Pros: This agency matched me with an amazing baby. He is a little angel and could not be any more perfect. Also, everything happened in the time frame I was told. There were no surprises, just mild in country delays due to the political situation in Morocco. I am very happy.

Cons: I think as expectant families we are very impatient and it is important to remember to stay patient and pro-active.

Reviews: Good luck to everyone!



Review by JLASinUSAF submitted on June, 26, 2011 at 03:00 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 1y 0m
Start Date: Oct 2010
Status: Homestudy and documentation
Completion Date: Mar 2011
Time Until Placement: 5 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Morocco

JLASinUSAF's Ratings:
Pros: The positives all had to do with the families ability to gather the paperwork required for the home study and dossier. If you have it, it moves more quickly. Since we already had most of our paperwork, that portion moved as quickly as it could. The in state staff is polite and professional. Price for the country we adopted from was very reasonable. All charges were up front.

Cons: Sometimes communication was great sometimes it seemed like we were waiting a while for a response or that we were having to repeat answers that were asked of us. Very busy agency! This was really our only issue.

Reviews: Bringing home our son is the best feeling ever. Couples need to be patient with the process and understand, it is a process! Many aspect of the paperwork are out of your control. Once we accepted this, it made the waiting a little more tolerable. Adopt Abroad made our adoption possible and we thank them for their hard work.



Review by Guest2 submitted on February, 15, 2011 at 09:37 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 10y 0m
Start Date: Jan 2008
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Sep 2009
Time Until Placement: 20 months
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Florida, United States

Guest2's Ratings:
Pros: Great agency to work with. the people were very caring and very knowlegable

Cons: None

Reviews: We adopted our relatives from foster care. The original social worker screwed things up and we turned to Adopt Abroad for help. Dr. Albers took our case on for NO MONEY. She fought with the state workers to get the children their benefits, told us who to contact and what our rights were. They fixed what was a big mess in a short amount of time. Dr. Albers also was great at working with the children to deal with their grief and adjustment into our family. I cannot thank them enough for all they did for our family. We are forever grateful. US Military Family in Germany



Review by lmhendle submitted on February, 15, 2011 at 04:03 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 5m
Start Date: Jul 2010
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Nov 2010
Time Until Placement: 4 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Meknes, Morocco

lmhendle's Ratings:
Pros: I had an amazing experience with Adopt Abroad, Inc. We had no problems with communication or anything. Dr. Carol Albers and Pia were the ones who helped us the most. They did exactly what they stated they would do, and was fully supportive along the way. After all, without them I wouldn't have my beautiful baby boy!

Cons: Nothing, they did their part.

Reviews: The one complaint I've heard from others is the lack of communication and processing times. Please remember that if you don't do your part, they cant do anything.



Review by guest submitted on February, 2, 2011 at 01:47 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 15y 8m
Start Date: Jan 2008
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Jun 2008
Time Until Placement: 5 months
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States

guest's Ratings:
Pros: They were very supportive of my special circumstances, being single gay man. They pointed me in the right direction so I was able to adopt, and be successful as a father. They found the perfect kid and walked me through the process. They looked out for the welfare of the child first, but also made sure my needs as a prospective parent were met as well. They pointed me to the right parenting classes, to the right state to be able get a child from foster care overseas in a US military community. They did everything I hoped they would do. They matched me with the right child, and looked out for the best interests of the child above mine. They were honest and fair. They walked me through the process of adoption from start to finish.

Cons: No problems.

Reviews: They found a social worker in my area, offered to start adoptive parents group in my community and told me where I needed to improve as a parent and where my strengths are.



Review by cindymom submitted on December, 6, 2010 at 08:25 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 8y 0m
Start Date: Jan 2008
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Jan 2009
Time Until Placement: 12 months
Type: Open, International
Special Needs: Yes
Child from Tennessee, United States

cindymom's Ratings:
Pros: We only did our post placement report with them, but they did a fantastic job. Dr. Albers was very quick to respond to our inquiries, and extremely professional. It was definitely a pleasure working with Adopt Abroad, and we would do it again in a heartbeat.

Cons: none

Reviews: Wonderful agency all the way around.



Review by ninahoury submitted on December, 2, 2010 at 05:18 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 1y 0m
Start Date: Jan 2010
Status: Homestudy and documentation
Completion Date: Mar 2010
Time Until Placement: 2 months
Type: Open, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Mohammedia, Morocco

ninahoury's Ratings:
Pros: i was glad to find an agency like adopt abroad to help me with the home study ,since i live overseas and i wasn't weeling to leave my daughter behind to go and do the process in the US . plus Carol Albers was very helpfull and thier price was very reasonable since i thought i was going to spend a lot more . thank you very much for ur help nina Houry

Cons: i used the agency only for the home study .and it was good

Reviews: i didn't use any attorney



Review by Family2010 submitted on November, 23, 2010 at 07:05 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 9m
Start Date: Mar 2008
Status: Homestudy and documentation
Completion Date: Jan 2010
Time Until Placement: 22 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Yerevan, Armenia

Family2010's Ratings:
Pros: We were very happy with the assistance Carol and her team provided throughout the adoption process. Home study was a positive experience and the final document showed a good insight into our family. Carol would often reply to my emails within a day. We also had some travel complications while we were still in coutry and her team went out of their way to help us eventhough this was after the adoption was complete and not part of their responsibilities and we really appreciated this.

Cons: No problems.

Reviews: Adopt Abroad helped us make our adoption dream come true and for that we are very grateful.



Review by tlanglitz submitted on November, 18, 2010 at 06:48 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 5y 6m
Start Date: Oct 2008
Status: Placement
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Portland, Oregon, United States

tlanglitz's Ratings:
Pros: Dr. Carol Albers is very much a professional in her field. She represented us in four staffing/committee meetings and we were chosen in the top two families three times and then chosen for the adoptive placement in our last meeting. That was out of a field of 70+ families each time. She represented us very well. She is a veteran and is/was able to tell us each step of the way what to expect. The fees are well within the price range of what other agencies are charging. The webpage featuring our family on their website was very helpful when dealing with case workers. They also did a good job with our homestudy and expediting paperwork from their main office when necessary. Good resources and were encouraging to us when things took longer than we expected. She did not give up on us and we are now planning a trip to pick up our new daughters! I would recommend Adopt-Abroad!

Cons: None.

Reviews: It requires patience to adopt from the US Foster Care System but it has been worth it!



Review by baldobunch submitted on August, 16, 2010 at 09:34 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 3y 4m
Start Date: Dec 2009
Status: Finalized
Type: Closed, Domestic, Intrastate
Special Needs: No
Child from Wilmington, Delaware, United States

baldobunch's Ratings:
Pros: We were stationed overseas with the military and yet the process of foster to adopt was seamless thanks to this wonderful agency. Lots of communication despite time differences and distance. Very fast process and with their help, the stress was eliminated.

Cons: We didn't have any problems with the agency at all.

Reviews: We were stationed overseas with the military and yet the process of foster to adopt was seamless thanks to this wonderful agency. Lots of communication despite time differences and distance. Very fast process and with their help, the stress was eliminated.



Review by 123agency submitted on July, 12, 2010 at 07:24 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 1m
Start Date: May 2009
Status: Placement
Type: Semi-Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Georgia, United States

123agency's Ratings:
Pros: Agency will help in any way they can to help you have a successful adoption.

Cons: Need to keep in contact with agency to know what you may need or if anything is missing to complete Home Study.

Reviews: Just have to be patient while waiting to get all documentation for Home Study completed. Keep in contact with the agency to know what is needed or missing for your Home Study so it can be completed in a timely matter.



Review by kscheff submitted on July, 2, 2010 at 09:32 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 6y 0m
Start Date: Jun 2009
Status: Placement
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Meknes, Morocco

kscheff's Ratings:
Pros: The agency allowed me to decide which child would be best suited for my family instead of the agency picking out the child for each family. I was able to go there and interact with the children.

Cons: Better communication with the orphanage. I wasn't able to find out that much about the child.

Reviews: Even though adopting an older child was difficult in the beginning she is fitting in and interacting very well with my son. The process of correcting and mild behavior problems will be an ongoing process probably for a while longer.



Review by whitstx submitted on June, 14, 2010 at 08:19 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 13y 0m
Start Date: Feb 2007
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: May 2008
Time Until Placement: 15 months
Type: Closed, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: Yes
Child from Oklahoma, United States

whitstx's Ratings:
Pros: Communication was wonderful! I would email a question, need, or concern and receive an answer back quickly. Carol's networks and contacts were top of the line. Her contacts became my contacts and all worked to make the best match possible. The process from start to finish could not have been more smooth.

Cons: It is not really Adopt Abroad's fault at all, but the contracted Social Worker in Spain was not as available as she promised she would be for post placement visits. I had to hustle to get teachers and chaplains to write post placement visits the last couple of months before adoption.

Reviews: I am a single father and am active duty military. This was my first experience in dealing with adoption agencies. I clearly made the right choice. Carol and her crew were AWESOME to work with! I would email a question, need, or concern and receive an answer back quickly. Her networks and contacts were top of the line. What was maddening and frustrating for me had nothing to do with the agency, but trying to get my child command sponsored at an overseas command, a task NOT for the faint of heart. At every juncture Carol tried to intercede, she made phone calls, and gave sterling advice to me. I could never have asked for more, never expected better, and highly recommend Adopt Abroad to anyone in this process. It is worth every penny.



Review by JNoffke submitted on May, 25, 2010 at 04:12 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 1y 2m
Start Date: Apr 2009
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Dec 2009
Time Until Placement: 8 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Meknes, Morocco

JNoffke's Ratings:
Pros: The adoption moved very fast. We were able to travel to Morocco to meet available children and were able to choose the child we wanted to adopt. Everyone was very professional friendly and helpful.

Cons: The agency itself is small so at times reaching someone right away can be difficult. When going through the highly emotional process of adoption I would like to see someone be move available to answer questions and address concerns.

Reviews: Overall I had an amazing experience with this agency and the program we went with. I would highly recommend them to anyone looking into adopting.



Review by OverseasTeacher submitted on December, 27, 2009 at 04:13 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 1y 0m
Start Date: Aug 2008
Status: Homestudy and documentation
Type: Semi-Open, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Uganda

OverseasTeacher's Ratings:
Pros: This is a redaction of my previous post, which was posted in error. Please disregard the other. The agency goes out of their way to help and have done a great job for a great price!

Cons: Being abroad, there were times when communication was an issue, but this was mostly because we were usually unable to call and had to rely on email.

Reviews: They do a great job helping in exceptional cases



Review by OverseasTeacher submitted on December, 23, 2009 at 03:44 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 1y 0m
Start Date: Aug 2009
Status: Homestudy and documentation
Type: Open, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Uganda

OverseasTeacher's Ratings:
Pros: The agency tried to help make things possible for us in a unique situation. The price was also quite reasonable.

Cons: Communication was a major problem throughout. We would often wait as much as two weeks to hear back at critical times, despite multiple attempts to contact. Paperwork sent in the mail and via email was repeatedly misplaced. Things were delayed over and over due to lack of professsional conduct and communication, which ultimately ended up costing us thousands in re-done elements.

Reviews: Overall, the staff is willing to bend over backwards to make clients, but then doesn't follow through with promises made, and does not communicate well. Disorganization seems to be the key flaw that leads to all of this trouble (rather than malicious intent), but in such a sensitive process, this is a major flaw, indeed.