Search Reviews | Top Rated Agencies | Add Your Review | Compare Agencies | Blog Join | Login  
Adoption Agency Reviews, Ratings, Rankings and Testimonials Adoption Agencies Reviews, Ratings, Rankings and Testimonials

Adoption Ark

830 Sth Buffalo Grove Road #103
Buffalo Grove, Illinois 60089
United States
800-748-5169
kids@adoptionark.org
http://www.adoptionark.com

Type: Public Agency


  Average Ratings
Based On All Reviews

Review by uwpc98 submitted on June, 22, 2011 at 06:52 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 3y 10m
Start Date: Sep 2009
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: May 2010
Time Until Placement: 8 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Kemerovo, Russian Federation

uwpc98's Ratings:
Pros: From the very beginning, Adoption Ark was there to explain the process and help us to choose the best program for us. We were supported from the beginning in our decision to adopt 2 toddlers simultaneously. Our case workers answered all our questions quickly and always made time to explain things to us.

Cons: The process, though long and arduous, is necessary and the waiting had nothing to do with our agency. I don't think there is anything more they could have done. Mostly the process was smoothe.

Reviews: Adoption Ark was WONDERFUL and we've decided to use them again to complete our family.



Review by cankimcats submitted on June, 21, 2011 at 02:49 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 1y 5m
Start Date: Jan 2010
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Dec 2011
Time Until Placement: 23 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Kemerovo, Russian Federation

cankimcats's Ratings:
Pros: Very professional. Our coordinator, Anna K., was both pleasant and professional and always responded to non-urgent requests within one day. The agency fees were well laid out in writing and there were no hidden costs. We felt very supported throughout the entire process and could sense the agency cared for the children they were placing.

Cons: I cannot make any suggestions on things to change. There is a strong sense that this agency has been doing this for a long time and reallly know what they are doing...especially once you get over to Russia, you understand why they ask for what they ask for and you are relieved they are so thorough.

Reviews: Trust them......they know what they are doing and they are there for both you and the child. I am sure there are many great agencies out there, but this is the only one I worked with, and I can honestly say you can trust in them and trust in the process, it works!



Review by trisho182 submitted on June, 21, 2011 at 01:24 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 1y 7m
Start Date: Dec 2009
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Feb 2011
Time Until Placement: 14 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Kemerovo, Russian Federation

trisho182's Ratings:
Pros: The in country staff is awesome, very strong conncections with the community, very smooth travels. Our wait time for a referral was very short.

Cons: At one point our referral was adopted by a family in Russia. The next day we said we would like a new referral when one was avaliable and they ended up sending three referrals. You are not meant to choose between children, that was a challenging time.

Reviews: Adoption Ark worked hard after all the drama with Russian adoptions to help us finish the process of bringing our son home.



Review by kemerovomom submitted on June, 21, 2011 at 01:12 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 2y 0m
Start Date: Jun 2010
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Mar 2011
Time Until Placement: 9 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Kemerovo, Russian Federation

kemerovomom's Ratings:
Pros: Great in-country support to help address any unexpected glitches. Staff in the state's were very organized and responsive. I always felt that they were on-top of things and that nothing was going to fall through the cracks.

Cons: None they were great. Very organized which is so critical in this complicated process.

Reviews: Again staff in the US were very organized and supportive. They had good communication with the group in-country and seemed very coordinated. In-country facilitators were also great. They could really help solve problems when they cropped up.



Review by KazMom submitted on June, 20, 2011 at 04:13 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 3y 2m
Start Date: May 2005
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Nov 2005
Time Until Placement: 6 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Arkaylyk, Kazakhstan

KazMom's Ratings:
Pros: From the very moment we decided to adopt, Adoption Ark was there and easy to contact. We had a SIX MONTH turn around time from when we sent the contract to when our child arrived home!! We adopted nearly six years ago, yet we are still in contact with our coordinator in Kazakhstan and in the US. They are like family to us. This month we received a letter from the IRS requesting receipts and our child's adoption declaration. Due to a recent move, I could not locate our receipts from SIX years ago. I called Adoption Ark on Thursday evening and they mailed a copy the very next day!!! I expected our agency to be around until our child was settled into our home, but I had no idea that they would be here for us, this many years later. I can not immagine any agency topping their service. They have the children's best interest at heart and Adoption Ark will do anything in their power to bring a child home. This was our 2nd adoption and I can not say this about our first agency. In fact, Adoption Ark took over where our last agency left us hanging. Even though they never received one penny for our first adoption, they volunteered to take over the post placements and always ask about both of our children, not just the one they placed. If we ever adopt again, it will be with Adoption Ark and I would refer my closest friends to them.

Cons: Absolutely NO PROBLEMS.

Reviews: If anyone would like to discuss adoption concerns or have any questions, I will gladly discuss our story with you.



Review by mary submitted on January, 25, 2011 at 05:28 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Jan 2000
Status: Homestudy and documentation
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Alabama, United States

mary's Ratings:
Pros: I can't think of any at this time.

Cons: We spent nine months trying to adopt a little boy from Africa. We were told he was an orphan from the very beginning. When we went to Africa for court, the adoption fell apart. This little boy was never an orphan from the beginning and we were devastated. There is very little communication between Ghana and USA. Information was difficult to obtain the entire time we were doing the adoption.

Reviews: I would strongly recommend using an adoption agency in your own state. This would help with accountability and actually having someone to meet with face to face. Email across the country is very impersonal and not an effective way to communicate.



Review by jim submitted on December, 14, 2010 at 07:46 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 8m
Start Date: Feb 2009
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Oct 2010
Time Until Placement: 20 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Kazakhstan

jim's Ratings:
Pros: Adoption Ark is the best agency PERIOD! From start to finish they held our hands and walked us through the process. Their staff in the USA and the in-country staff were very helpful and got the necessary things done so that we were able to adopt a beautiful 7 month baby boy from Kazakhstan. We had no "hiccups" in our process as others have had who used other agencies. We read MANY blogs during our 20 month process and never read of a complaint from a family who used Adoption Ark!!!! These people are professionals and have the RIGHT in-country staff to help adoptive parents! Our time in Kazakhstan was the best month of our lives! We would definately choose Adoption Ark in a second if we decide to adopt another child!

Cons: There is nothing (nothing at all) that Adoption Ark could have done better. Yes, the waiting to travel was tough, but anything that you are excited to do it's hard to wait. Our "waiting" was not due to Adoption Ark, but due to the Ministries in the country of Kazakhstan. In reading other adoption stories (blogs) our adoption was pretty darn FAST (Start to Finish)!

Reviews: You have nothing to loose in considering Adoption Ark. Give them a call or email! You will be very glad that you did!!!!!! If you are serious about adopting then why not choose the VERY BEST agency? We would choose Adoption Ark again in a second!!!



Review by jenwipf submitted on December, 14, 2010 at 11:17 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 1y 10m
Start Date: Dec 2008
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Oct 2009
Time Until Placement: 10 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Kemerovo, Russian Federation

jenwipf's Ratings:
Pros: We absolutely loved this agency. I have been dealing with quite a number of staff, and pretty much all of them, I couldn't have wished them any better. We wanted to adopt 2 at a time and they totally accomodated us with whatever we wanted. Our caseworker was totally understanding of turned down referrals, which was very hard on us (turning down referrals). It would have been devastating if she had been judgemental about it, as this was our first time adopting and our first kids. Having gone through our adoption with Adoption Ark, we feel like pros now. Even a year after the adoption, I still communicate with them, telling them how well we are doing and adoption advice, and I know they don't have to, they have nothing to gain from it. If I were still living in the US, I would use them again in a heartbeat, in fact I would dearly love to.

Cons: There was one small incident, which was just a miscommunication. There was nothing intentional about it.

Reviews: The review only allowed me to enter a child. We ended up adopting two wonderful little boys through this agency, and they are thriving. We feel unbelievably blessed!



Review by Jen12 submitted on April, 5, 2010 at 05:54 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 11m
Start Date: Jan 2009
Status: Withdrew voluntarily
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Alabama, United States

Jen12's Ratings:
Pros: Easy to reach staff by email.

Cons: I feel this agency is very deceptive. We were told one thing before we paid, and another thing after we became clients and paid. They grossly misrepresented how the international adoption would happen, and especially misrepresented ages of children, and how we would choose a child. I don't trust this agency AT ALL. We ended up leaving and pursuing another agency, but of course lost our non refundable application fee. They also totally lied to us about what type of medical clearance we would need in order to complete the international adoption. Once again, they told us what we wanted to hear before we paid - after they had our money, entirely different story.

Reviews: Don't trust this agency!



Review by jenniferwal submitted on May, 19, 2008 at 03:29 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 6y 0m
Start Date: Oct 2006
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Aug 2007
Time Until Placement: 10 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Russian Federation

jenniferwal's Ratings:
Pros: Agency was forthcoming and fair. I adopted three children and they were home within ten months. I was apprised of everything that was happening. Wonderful, supportive staff. Highly recommend.

Cons: None.

Reviews: Large enough staff to have someone available at all times; small enough that everyone knows you by name.