Search Reviews | Top Rated Agencies | Add Your Review | Compare Agencies | Blog Join | Login  
Adoption Agency Reviews, Ratings, Rankings and Testimonials Adoption Agencies Reviews, Ratings, Rankings and Testimonials

Adoption Connections, Inc

105 E. Rhondda Ave
Andover, Kansas 67002
United States
316-733-6711

http://www.adoptionconnectionsinc.com

Type: Private Agency


  Average Ratings
Based On All Reviews

Review by soccermom submitted on August, 31, 2012 at 05:09 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Jan 2011
Status: Finalized
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Alabama, United States

soccermom's Ratings:
Pros: This agency is more than just an adoption agency. For those who withdrew voluntarily, I am sorry that you did not get a chance to see them through. They are a small agency with many years of experience. They have been placing children in homes for 30 years. They have a heart for the birthmother. I have had my name in with several agenices and no one has taken an interest in the family and the birthmother as much as they did. They do not request a fee until the birthmother signs. Every other agency requires at least part of their fee upfront and they are much higher fees and Adoption Connections did not require a application fee. They told us that they do not ask for the fee unless the birthmother signs because they want the families to be able to adopt at some point. Again, they care for the birthmother and the family. There is so much risk involved in any adoption. The fact that you had a fall through does not make it the agency's fault. They can not make the birthmother sign and give up their baby. And if you don't have a heart for the birthmother, you don't deserve to adopt a baby. You have to be sensitive. So all we had to risk is birthmother living expenses upfront. This is a risk with any adoption. Reading these other comments makes me so sad because adoption is not always an easy process (for anybody). Each case is so different.

Cons: We wish we could have spent more time with the staff and even help them. They work themselves to the ground. But they want to keep the cost low so they do not have a huge staff.

Reviews: We adopted our child at a time that there were several birthmother delivering at the same time. We all stayed at the owner's home and had an incredible time. We have new friends for life and we couldn't have had a better experience. We had several fall throughs with other agencies and lost money, but we would not blame it on the agencies. That was a risk that came with the territory. I would highly suggest this agency. You couldn't ask for better people and skill.



Review by hockeymom26 submitted on April, 18, 2012 at 02:08 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Dec 2008
Status: Placement
Completion Date: May 2009
Time Until Placement: 5 months
Type: Semi-Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Wichita, Kansas, United States

hockeymom26's Ratings:
Pros: This is a small agency with limited resources. You have to know that going into it. The owners of the agency truly believe that this is their mission and purpose in life and they live it. We were placed once through them and the match fell through. Within 3 weeks we were matched with our daughter's birthmother and were there for her birth. We live in Tennessee and had to travel to Kansas for the birth. We stayed with the owners and they could not have been more welcoming and supportive of us.

Cons: Limited communication during our birthmother's pregnancy.

Reviews: Again, one must realize that this is a small agency with limited resources. The owner's and their daughter do everything. Details are missed and they are not very organized, but, you have to accept this on the front end. Overall, our experience was wonderful and they made it very special for us. If you are the type that must have a lot of communication and organization to feel secure in the process then this is probably not the agency for you. However, if you are willing to trust the agency and the process you will not be disappointed.



Review by Susie submitted on April, 10, 2012 at 07:43 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Mar 2011
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Sep 2011
Time Until Placement: 6 months
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Kansas, United States

Susie's Ratings:
Pros: Pros--They were helpful. They cared about everyone involved. They were dedicated. They were nice. They answered our questions and supported us all. They were willing to help in tough situations.

Cons: They were sometimes disorganized. We never got pictures etc. I think they were good-hearted, but had a lot on their plates.

Reviews: I think this is a wonderful agency and we would like to use them again. You have to go into it knowing that it may not be the best organized in the beginning, but it all works out in the end and the attorney is super-organized. They are great, caring people.



Review by guest submitted on January, 23, 2012 at 10:39 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Mar 2011
Status: Withdrew voluntarily
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Kansas, United States

guest's Ratings:
Pros: This is a very small agency & the owners are actually very welcoming & even invite many adoptive parents to stay in their home while visiting. The agency price is reasonable, especially considering nothing was due to the agency until placement.

Cons: This was a nightmare experience almost from the beginning. We had a 3 month change in due date, gender change from a boy to a girl, criminal issues with the birthmother that weren't initially disclosed but we were expected to help assist with, continuous requests for money, continuous requests to do things outside of contract (many of which seemed unethical), etc. When we'd refuse any request, it'd turn into a lengthy phone call with the social worker (who is the co-owner) trying to convince us to change our minds, often times throwing on the guilt that we could lose the situation & we had to keep the birthmother happy. The birthmother's crazy stories were never validated before involving us & most were lies. Tracking of the birthmother expenses is also very poorly done. When we'd call the agency attorney (who is the other co-owner & spouse to the social worker) to ask for guidance, instead of telling us what is legal, he'd ask us what we wanted to do. We didn't know what we could do, that's why we needed legal guidance! Communication with the social worker was touch and go. If we needed her for something, it was very difficult to reach her or get her to return our calls or e-mails. Conversations with her were rarely private as there were always other birthmothers or adoptive couples in her presence; & she'd also talk to them while talking to us on the phone. After months of emotional torture and birthmother expenses well in excess of what was in our contract, we were tapped out & over budget and had to withdraw from the situation.

Reviews: Adoption Connections seems to have their heart in the right place. However, they get too caught up in the birthmother's drama & trying to keep her happy to make the adoption work. This coupled with their lack of due diligence, lack of communication & lack of contract adhearance resulted in unnecessary heartache & expense. After we withdrew from the situation, ACI matched this birthmother with another couple. They also endured the same emotional torture we did, but fortunately the birthmother finally placed the child. We were very fortunate that the new adoptive couple assumed all birthmother expenses, so after she signed relinquishment, ACI was quick to refund what we'd paid. The overall cost for that adoption ended up being at about 36% higher than what was in our contract. Because of our experience, we could never in good faith recommend Adoption Connections.



Review by mom3 submitted on December, 12, 2011 at 09:20 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: May 2011
Status: Withdrew voluntarily
Type: Semi-Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Georgia, United States

mom3's Ratings:
Pros: The price was fair

Cons: Not organized. Not thorough.

Reviews: I do not recommend then at all!! To make a very long and painful story short- We were scammed by a birthmom. If they would have actually gotten proof of pregnancy in the beginning like they are required to do they would have found that it was not legit. We lost our money and never got a child. They are very unorganized. It was very hard to get a hold of them. We know of 2 more birth families that have had similiar experiences. The birthmom we were scammed by scammed another family through this agency. We were told the baby was a boy and they were told it was a girl. HOW DO YOU GET THAT CONFUSED? Thought the birthmom is responsible for the fraud, we feel that ACI is to blame for the entire situation, as they did not do their do diligence. They asked us many times to do things outside of our contract and made verbal agreements on their side of how they would make it up for us and did not follow through. I should have been smart and got it all in writing, but I trusted them. Go through this agency only if you want to lose money.



Review by ksmom submitted on November, 10, 2009 at 11:26 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Feb 2009
Status: Withdrew voluntarily
Type: Semi-Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Pennsylvania, United States

ksmom's Ratings:
Pros: There were no positive experiences with this agency. We lost two matches while working wtih them. The entire process was a nightmare. I do not recommend them at all.

Cons: Many problems with the agency: did not call us back (we had to call up to 4 times to get an answer), unorganized, unprofessional, said we were matched but they had never talked directly to the birthmother, we never got ultrasounds, they refused to fly to the birthmother to council her and do the paperwork correctly, they utilized an alcoholic, terminally ill, untrained contact for our match instead of a professional. They did not council our second birthmother at all, the second match with a facilitator fell through an hour after the social worker arrived at the hospital, they booked round trip flight instead of one-way as we requested wasting more of our money, and all of the issues regarding lacking communication above. I could go on and on. We adopted successfully only after we went to a better agency.

Reviews: Do not use them.