Search Reviews | Top Rated Agencies | Add Your Review | Compare Agencies | Blog Join | Login  
Adoption Agency Reviews, Ratings, Rankings and Testimonials Adoption Agencies Reviews, Ratings, Rankings and Testimonials

Adoption Network Law Center

23161 Lake Center Drive
Lake Forest, California
United States


http://adoptionnetwork.com/

Type: Facilitator


  Average Ratings
Based On All Reviews

Review by jirvbon submitted on August, 5, 2014 at 03:47 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Jan 2000
Status: Homestudy and documentation
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Alabama, United States

jirvbon's Ratings:
Pros: Friendly people

Cons: Think very carefully before handing over $17,000 to these people. My wife and I did just that. At first all looked OK. We started to get very angry when their marketing people insisted that my wife and I submitted pictures of us in hunting camouflage gear, working out at the gym and stuff that were just not in our day-to-day lives. The , because I am over 50, we were "advised" to click on a box that said we would be happy with a child from a drug-taking mother. My wife and I were not at all comfortable with this but we went ing with their advice. Since we started, we recently had a family tragedy that kept us from going ahead. We told our contact at Adoption Network Law Center and they owed our case. I imagine their people probably spent no more that two hours on our case. $8,500 an hour. Not bad! Avoid paying up-front! Once they have your money they don't care. I am a businessman and am not naive. My wife and I were so keen to adopt that we just went into this without research. Do t make the same mistake!\cell \lastrow\row}

Reviews: Slick operation. I asked for a refund and was politely declined



Review by Wurmnestfamily submitted on April, 26, 2012 at 10:53 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Jul 2011
Status: Finalized
Type: Semi-Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Illinois, United States

Wurmnestfamily's Ratings:
Pros: We began our journey in the summer of 2011. We had researched several agencies but felt immediately connected to ANLC from the first phone call with Jennifer! After getting all of our paperwork processed we went live on their websites in September 2011. After waiting for a few months we added the "immediate birth" option to our profile in December. In January we recieved a call that there was a couple who wanted to have us adopt their 2 day old baby boy!!! We were thrilled. We drove immediately to meet our baby that day and were well supported from ANLC the entire time. We receieved multiple calls from them while we were there and they coordinated everything from lawyers to social workers within hours! We are so glad we are part of the ANLC family and we will look into adopting again in the future. We will definately go through their agency again!!!

Cons: No cons at all!!! The price seems steep but worth the end results and support throughout the journey!

Reviews: We have already referred several couples to ANLC and they were as pleased as we were after the initial phone call!



Review by lilysmom submitted on April, 10, 2012 at 10:56 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Dec 2010
Status: Placement
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Huntington Beach, California, United States

lilysmom's Ratings:
Pros: After an unsuccessful IVF treatment followed by 3 natural pregnancies ending in miscarriage we explored domestic and international adoption as well as foster to adoption. As older parents, we expected a very long wait time and decided to work with ANLC. Within 4 months after starting the application process we received a phone call with a prospective match. Our birthmother was 8 months pregnant and we were on a plane 30 days later to be with her in the delivery room. We have the most incredible relationship with the birthmother who is an amazing young woman. In large part we attribute the success of our relationship with the birthmother to our caring and compassionate ANLC caseworker who facilitated our interactions with her from the first phone interview. Our birthmother was treated with sensitivity, consideration and support throughout the entire process (as were we) which made us very secure in our choice of ANLC. We were able to get to know our birthmother in the week that we waited for our daughter to be born. This process, while fraught with anxiety from all of the 'unknowns' ended up a calm and beautiful experience beyond description thanks to the sensitive handling by ANLC staff.

Cons: None

Reviews: We have recommended ANLC to other couples we know who are interested in adoption because of our wonderful experience.



Review by guest submitted on April, 10, 2012 at 09:39 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Nov 2010
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: May 2011
Time Until Placement: 6 months
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Nevada, United States

guest's Ratings:
Pros: Adoption is an emotional roller coaster like none other; from the highs of finally realizing that you will have a precious little bundle to the devastation of a birth mother changing her mind after you have already had the baby 9 days, back to the high of the next call saying there is a baby that needs a family. Throughout the whole process ANLC was there for us, offering counseling and words of encouragement after our failed adoption. They were by our side through the process of our successful adoption, helping us navigate the paperwork and providing so much behind the scene support that our Attorney even commented how amazingly well our paper work was put together and how it made her job so much easier. We are so happy that we had ANLC and look forward to working with them again in the future.

Cons: The price seemed really high but after experiencing the support they provide it was well worth it..

Reviews: We are so thankful for the ANLC team that helped to make our family a reality.



Review by MinnMom submitted on March, 24, 2012 at 04:08 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Feb 2011
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Sep 2011
Time Until Placement: 7 months
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Florida, United States

MinnMom's Ratings:
Pros: After calling around and interviewing several agencies and feeling discouraged with each one, I finally felt that I had found what I was searching for when I found ANLC. When I called ANLC I was greeted by a very helpful, warm and friendly woman who took my information and passed it along to Jennifer P. I recieved my info packet and a phone call from Jennifer right away. I felt like someone finally understood what I was going thorough and was assured they would hold my hand thorugh the entire process. We were in a little bit of stickershock over the price but with the amount of exposure to birthmoms you get and the shorter average wait time, we felt it was worth it. We signed on at the in August and began getting all of our necessary paperwork, marketing, and homestudy completed. Our websites went live at the end of Oct. Through all of this time I experienced a great deal of anxiety. But after each talk with Jennifer I was made to feel so much more at ease with the process. She was very easy to talk to and very supportive. We got "the call" on Valentine's Day. It sounded too good to be true. But after speaking with our Birthmother a couple days later we felt so comfortable with her and knew it was going to work out. We went to meet her before her due date(May 1st) and it was amazing. It was a perfect match! We were able to go to an ultrasound appt with her and really enjoyed spending time with her. We planned our next trip to be there a week before the due date. Our beautiful baby boy was born at the end of April. She ended up having a c-section so we weren't able to be in the room. The hospital was wonderful to us and brought me in to meet our new baby as soon as he taken out. They really treated us as though we had given birth to him. We had our own room with him and got to to do his first bath! It was truly magical! The birthparents and their families spent a lot of time with us in the hospital and at our condo afterwards. It was hard saying goodbye to them as we felt they were now a part of our family. Its been over a year now since our first meeting and we are still in contact. ANLC brought us together and we will be forever grateful. Our son is a dream come true!

Cons: Our whole experience went so smoothly I cant think of anything they should do differently.

Reviews: Our wait time was only 3.5 months as soon as our websites went live. From the time we signed on with ANLC to the time we had our baby in our arms was 9 months-Perfect, right?! We feel our experience was well worth the money. We plan to adopt again in the future and will work with ANLC again.



Review by PAMom submitted on March, 22, 2012 at 06:22 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Jan 2011
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Oct 2011
Time Until Placement: 9 months
Type: Semi-Open, Domestic, Intrastate
Special Needs: No
Child from Pennsylvania, United States

PAMom's Ratings:
Pros: From the first phone conversation we had with our advisor Jennifer P. we knew we made the right choice. We had found a first class operation and wanted to begin our journey with ANLC. This discovery came after months of vetting many other agencies, this included for profit, non-profit as well as faith based agencies. ANLC had the ablity to answer all of our questions and make us feel at ease through the entire process. We worked quickly to get our profile, home study and clearances complete and were able to get matched with an amazing birthmother in a few short months. During the waiting process contact and interaction with ANLC constant, adoption is a scary journey full of risks and hiccups. ANLC navagated these bumps, twists and turns with us while providing support and advice.

Cons: cost - it is expensive but you get what you pay for, you are building a family while dealing with real people with real emotions.

Reviews: Our birth mother's advisor Tammy R was amazing too, we have a semi-open adoption. We realized that in our happiness and excitement our birthmother may go through some tough times. Tammy was able to assure us that our birthmother was doing well even after we were finalized. Both Tammy and Jennifer have kept in contact with us a year later!! We have an AMAZING SON because our birthmother was kind enough to make a selfless decision and ANLC brought us together!!



Review by slmtm submitted on February, 21, 2012 at 06:32 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Jan 2000
Status: Homestudy and documentation
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Alabama, United States

slmtm's Ratings:
Pros: There was nothing positive about the experience.

Cons: They are very shady and not focused on helping people. They are only focused on getting your money. They have added various types of legal jargon to ensure that there is absolutely no reason to refund your money - regardless of the situation so beware before you hand over nearly 15,000.00 for the first phase.

Reviews: This was a horrible experience all the way around and I would not recommend this awful company to even an enemy.



Review by Almaoben submitted on November, 18, 2011 at 01:50 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Oct 2011
Status: Placement
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Garden City, Michigan, United States

Almaoben's Ratings:
Pros: From frustrated beyond belief to overjoyed beyond belief! One Miracle at a time Does Work! For some of us it make take a little more time, but the end result is so much more intense and endearing that it makes the long wait totally worth it! On June 7, 2011, I made a posting here about how frustrated I was with ANLC and the length of our waiting time. I was very frustrated and angry and did not understand what was going on. My husband continued to have faith and trusted the work ANLC was doing for us although I was more than skeptical. He kept telling me that our goal should be to have our child not to antagonize anyone, especially ANLC since they were working for us. After much thinking and much prayer, I realized that my husband was right. Our ultimate goal was to have our little baby with us and to love him and care for him. In order to be ready for our baby, I had to let go of my anger and be positive about things and start trusting ANLC. I was very humbled and truly puzzled by how professional, kind and empathetic the staff from ANLC were to us in spite of my posting. Kristin Yellin and her staff took their time to explain to us what was happening with our profile and the kinds of limitations the agency must deal with during the whole process. I really wish I had taken the time to ask these questions before I made those posting in this website. I understood then that some of my perceptions were totally wrong and unfair and I take this forum to apologize to ANLC for some of the things I did not understand previously. My husband and I were truly impressed with the ways things turned out during our dealings with ANLC after my posting. We were treated with respect and consideration and they were still willing to work with us. We put all our trust in ANLC and decided to wait. ANLC staff always said to me that for each prospective adoptive parent there is a perfect match; there are perfect birth parents and a perfect baby. Boy, did that come true in our case! The third week in September we got a call that birth parents had picked us. They had looked at our letter in Courageous Choice and knew we were the right family for her. The baby was due on November 3. We spoke to the birth parents a week later and it was amazing. They were very reassuring about the adoption and that they would not change their minds. These birth parents were truly remarkable people, so loving, and so compassionate and caring of our feelings and of their baby. During this time, we received a lot of phone calls from ANLC staff following up with us and supporting us, especially with me because I was so nervous about our new chance to become parents. On October 4, 2011, I received a call from ANLC staff telling me that she thought the baby would come early. She kept laughing with me and urging me to get ready. Boy, was she right! Our baby was born on October 6, 2011, and of all days, I left my cell phone at home that day. I did not get the call until later in the afternoon. Our baby boy was perfect, a little under weight, 4 pounds 14 ounces, but perfect otherwise. We got so many emails from ANLC staff congratulating us and supporting us through the waiting time. We were referred to the Keane Center for Adoption and Attorney Herbert Brail for the process in Michigan and ICPC. What an outstanding team these two were! During this time, the birth parents kept reassuring us that they would not change their minds. Everything went really smoothly and we were able to bring our baby boy home rather quickly. He is one month old now, and is up to 8 pounds 4 ounces. He is really amazing, smiles a lot, sleeps all night already and is a really good baby. He loves to be cuddled, touched, and kissed. We feel so blessed! Someone made an entry in one of these forums suspecting and questioning the veracity of the stories posted by those individuals who made positive entries here after a successful adoption. The person was questioning why would someone post anything here after having a child. I feel I can respond to that statement now. We come back to post our positive experiences out of a deep sense of gratitude and humility after receiving the greatest gift of all: our child. To those of you in pain and disappointment, my heart goes out to you. The process of adoption is one charged with very strong emotions. This is inevitable. From frustrated beyond belief , I went to elated and overjoyed beyond belief! My one recommendation is for you to reach out to your agency and speak to them. Many times things are not what they seem to us when our judgment is clouded by our pain. After all, our goal is to become parents. I wish for you all parenthood! As I look at my baby boy, I realize the true miracle in him and that our long wait was absolutely necessary for us to come together as he is without a doubt perfect for us! He even looks like us! In retrospect, I would not have it any other way . . . I am forever grateful ANLC ... God bless you all!

Cons: The only concern I had was the length of the waiting time. Kristin Yellin and her staff, though, took the time to explain the process to us in a very respectful and cordial manner. After that, we were satisfied that ANLC was doing all they could and understood the limitations they must deal with in finding matches for their adoptive parents!

Reviews: ANLC is an agency with a heart. The staff are really supportive and caring. They have a personal approach that is both refreshing and compassionate. The adoption process is not easy; it's one charged with a lot of emotion. ANLC staff take that into consideration and do not hold any outbursts you may have against you. They are compassionate and endearing and I will be forever grateful to their staff for their compassion and consideration towards us!



Review by Steven submitted on October, 27, 2011 at 01:09 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Aug 2002
Status: Placement
Completion Date: Jun 2003
Time Until Placement: 10 months
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from California, United States

Steven's Ratings:
Pros: Our Experience with ANLC was wonderful. We found them to be professional, caring, responsive, and from top to bottom dedicated in their mission of matching parents and birthmothers and helping them through this process. We started working with them in August, were matched with a birthmother 4 months later, and took our son home from the hospital after his birth the following June. They held our hand throughout and were in constant contact with us. I was particularly impressed with the relationship they formed with the birthmother and the way they facilitated our becoming close to the birthmother as well. I felt that although there is no avoiding a certain percentage of birthmothers changing their minds at some point, the chances of any last minute surprises were much less because of the bonds that helped create. I honestly can't say enough good things about ANLC - They made our dream come true and family complete.

Cons: Nothing negative to say

Reviews: I recommend them highly



Review by Brenda submitted on October, 26, 2011 at 06:15 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Apr 2010
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Sep 2010
Time Until Placement: 5 months
Type: Semi-Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Arizona, United States

Brenda's Ratings:
Pros: ANLC walked us through every step of the process. They were friendly, interested, and helpful. Our adoption took only 4 months from our first phone call to ANLC until we were holding our son. They did great with the birth parents, who we keep contact with, and made sure their needs were met. They also have kept contact with us since the adoption, and are a positive support for us. We had an amazing adoption experience with very low frustration and anxiety throughout because of ANLC's help. I would very highly recommend them. We adopted twice through ANLC, and both times had a child within 4 months. Both times had a wonderful experience. This is an amazing group of people to work with. No regrets. We'd choose them again.

Cons: The price is high, and we had to take out a loan. However, in comparing agencies and listening to other people's adoption stories, I think the price is not too far above others, and the agency staff are terrific. We had a child within 4 months of starting the adoption process for both adoptions with ANLC. It was worth the price.

Reviews: This agency has got to be the best! Nothing bad to say, they are so amazing to work with. They help you with everything, tell you all the costs ahead of time, support you throughout and after, tell you what to expect, etc. So great! Love this agency!



Review by murphy submitted on September, 12, 2011 at 10:44 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 1y 2m
Start Date: Feb 2010
Status: Homestudy and documentation
Completion Date: Apr 2011
Time Until Placement: 14 months
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Kentucky, United States

murphy's Ratings:
Pros: We were matched twice...both times our adoption coordinator was incredible!!!!!!! She was there anytime we had a questions. We couldn't ask for a better person to help us through this processes

Cons: Waiting is horrible! ANLC calls monthly however by no fault of there...it seems to be long time between calls.

Reviews: Reply to YANKEE's post below: By the date and the information you provide, I adopted that "Food Allergies, failure to thrive, serious gastrointestinal issue ,"SPECIAL NEEDS" child through Adoption Network Law Center. I would like to give you an update on this AMAZING child. Yes, she has food allergies. She is seeing one of the best pediatric allergy specialist in the Midwest who thinks she will grow out of most of her allergies. She was marked failure to thrive as she wasn’t gaining weight. If you had really took a close look at her records, you would have realized that they did not diagnosis her food allergies until she was almost a year old. Feeding a child things they are allergic to will prevent them from gaining weight. If you would have done your research, you would have found that the gastrointestinal issues she has go hand and hand with Allergies. If you are really NEED to be on a gluten free diet—that would imply you have Celtics disease—which is the similar gastrointestinal issue she has. IF you took the time to really review the records provide, you would have realized this child never had constancy in her healthcare—as she never saw the same doctor more than 3 times—therefore her parents were getting conflicting advice and timely testing was not done. You also state in your post that she is on “prescription formula”—this is ALSO Not true!! I do not have a problem ordering it and having it shipped to me—without a prescription. While it is not the cheapest formula, it is a small price to pay for my child’s health and happiness….this expense will also be short lived. You also complain in your post about “having to pay for fostercare”, you may want to do some research on that too next time—that is very common in cases that birth parents haven’t signed off on child yet to put them in fostercare at the adopted parents expense. I know as I have experienced this possible expense through the adoption process. “WE ADOPTED PEOPLE ARE NOT CANS OF COFFEE THAT YOU TAKE OFF A SHELF AND PUT BACK” –--Funny, this is what you did to this child…you looked at her…and that put her back. Thank you for backing out! Your lose was our gain!!!!!!!!! Our child is beautiful, amazing, intelligent, healthy and everyone that sees her tells us what a happy child she is—even strangers. We laugh about the label “Special Needs”-they only need she had was Lots of love. To me, all children have Special Needs—they need love and parents that are willing to go to bat for them. NO child is perfect and if that is what you are waiting for…I am sorry-your expectations about children need to be revisited as NO child is perfect—they all have some issue at sometime in their life—and then they come to light, you can’t put them back on the shelve like a coffee can.



Review by Jeff submitted on September, 5, 2011 at 02:14 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Mar 2011
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Sep 2011
Time Until Placement: 6 months
Type: Semi-Open, Domestic, Intrastate
Special Needs: No
Child from California, United States

Jeff's Ratings:
Pros: Excellent exposure to birthmothers. High quality process-engagement from staff. Proactive and anticipatory.

Cons: None.

Reviews: My wife and I engaged one of the "top" adoption attorney's in SoCal and had a horrible experience. Then friends introduced us to ANLC, and upon learning about this firm's value proposition, I can say with complete confidence, it is completely different from any other alternative. Specifically, the exposure to the birthmother pool is unrivaled, and this is a key consideration for adoptive parents since the greater the exposure, the greater the possiblity of getting matched. The other distinction is the form of engagement by ANLC consultants through-out the process. Simply, it was exceptional, from beginning to end, and we owe our new and blissful life with our daughter to ANLC. I cannot offer a stronger recommendation. Again, based on ANLC model, approach, quality, etc., there is no choice--!!!



Review by kaileymarie submitted on August, 8, 2011 at 06:55 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: May 2010
Status: Homestudy and documentation
Completion Date: Jul 2010
Time Until Placement: 2 months
Type: Semi-Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Mesa, Arizona, United States

kaileymarie's Ratings:
Pros: This agency was great to work with! They quickly answered phone calls and emails and were willing to answer any questions. They often made phone calls to check in. We were matched in a couple of weeks after our profile went live. They are a great adoption agency that is truly in it for the right reasons. I would recommend this agency to anyone looking to adopt and add to their family.

Cons: None

Reviews: Great to work with and they are good at what they do!



Review by Almaoben submitted on June, 7, 2011 at 02:22 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Jan 2000
Status: Homestudy and documentation
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Maryland, United States

Almaoben's Ratings:
Pros: My first client liaison was great. She was very supportive and very responsive. Unfortunately, she left the agency. Some of the staff try to be helpful.

Cons: In 9/09, we went live on ANLC website and by the end of the month, we had a match. We were really excited. We paid the rest of the fees and waited. In 11/09, the birthmother decided to keep her baby. ANLC told us we would be receiving priority because of our situation. We have already been waiting for 19 months and no match. Upon advice by ANLC, we increased the stipend to the birthmother, open ourselves to different races, medical conditions and drug exposure. We changed the pictures and birthmother letters in all 3 profiles. I had to call and send emails and follow up so many times to make sure the updates were uploaded - it was really frustrating. We have followed all of ANLC suggestions and nothing happens. They keep saying that we are being given priority. Yet recently, ANLC created videos in YouTube and by the time ours came on the website, there were hundreds of other videos previously loaded with so many views it appeared they had been online for a long time. My husband had to call and ask that we be included in the featured families. This is heartbreaking. To add insult to the injury, ANLC now says no birthmother has picked us. Past events show that now we have paid all the fees, ANLC has no incentive to promote our profile and find us a match. They have so many other families who have not paid their fees and those are the ones receiving priority. My husband and I were so excited to find ANLC; their marketing pitch was they would find a match within 6 to 9 months and so they did. But after the disruption, this all changed. They keep giving me different figures now. Time is of the essence because of our age and even this ANLC does not take into account. This is the most disappointing and hurtful experience ever. To play with a couple's wanting to parent is cruel and inhumane, and no one deserves to be treated like that.

Reviews: ANLC misrepresented to us the length of waiting time we had ahead of us after our disruption. We have no mechanism whatsoever to make ANLC to give us priority like they say they are. They knew and know of our ages and our urgency in getting our baby quickly. They did find us a match, but even throughout that whole process I had to keep calling ANLC and ask them to provide services to the birthmother who kept calling me crying. In the midst of this very emotional situation, the birthmother counselor resigned without giving us any notice. I kept calling the counselor and no one would give me any information. It was truly like a nightmare. But I had a good attitude the whole time. I finally got through to someone and a new counselor was assigned. My client liaison also left the agency and I had no idea - I kept calling for about two weeks and no one would tell me where my client liaison was. She had always been very good in responding to my phones. Finally, a new client liaison contacted me. We have remained positive during this whole ordeal but enough is enough. 19 months after a disruption is too long a wait. If we were given priority, we should have had our baby by now or at the very least a match.



Review by yankee submitted on April, 22, 2011 at 08:29 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Apr 2011
Status: Withdrew voluntarily
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: Yes
Child from Alabama, United States

yankee's Ratings:
Pros: The only positive aspect was when the owner called us to apologize on behalf of a staff memeber who insulted us in an email. She hit the reply button instead of the forward button. In the email she wrote, "that she was tired of getting it through our heads"...She felt we showed no sympathy towards the birthmother. This was our first draft letter and we were promised help in writing it. I am adopted and put in there how my birthmother felt when she had to give me up and when we met. I was told to take all that out. We felt demeaned by this particular employee by her tone and attitude. The owner said that what we wrote was actually supportive of the birthmother. At which point we continued on with a new person.

Cons: We weren't being matched. We were than asked to change terms of our contract. They were going to tell us if the birthmother had an STD and which one. According to HIPPA regulations the birth mother doesn't have to legally tell us anything. The way the contract is written neither did the agency. There were only two STD's we were willing to deal with. Then we had a match, again, outside of what we requested, but we were willing to listen. The baby had "Food Allergies". Not a big deal because I am on a gluten free diet. The baby was failure to thrive "in the parent's environment". What was not disclosed was that this baby had a serious gastrointestinal issue and was really a "SPECIAL NEEDS" child. The red flag went up when our phone screen with the parents was cancelled and the parents wanted to put the baby in foster care until we got there (WE WOULD HAVE TO FOOT THE BILL). The coordinator was going to ask her boss to start the paperwork we needed to get done without the phone screen or our final approval to take the baby. When I looked up the perscription formula the baby was on we felt that this was a baby dump by the agency and the parents. We said "NO".

Reviews: Our 2nd half of the money was refunded, but we have serious doubts that this agency is working for us. If we wanted a special needs child we would have stayed with DCF and not dish out the money. The home study was done by another agency which has been wonderful and supportive, so ANLC can't take credit for that. WE ADOPTED PEOPLE ARE NOT CANS OF COFFEE THAT YOU TAKE OFF A SHELF AND PUT BACK. WE ARE HUMAN BEINGS WITH FEELINGS AND EMOTIONS!



Review by wannabe3 submitted on March, 16, 2011 at 08:45 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Jan 2000
Status: Referral received
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Ohio, United States

wannabe3's Ratings:
Pros: Media employees of ANLC seem to care more about getting couples matched than CL's do. Media employees are positive and work hard to make your web page look its best.

Cons: If you want your heart broken, and your wallet empty- this is the facilitator to recommend. If you want to keep your friends, never recommend ANLC to anyone. Not until after you get your hopes up and they have your initial marketing fee is it disclosed you should be 'open minded' to saying 'yes' to a birth mother who has done drugs, has an std, or drinks and smokes. This is to 'encourage' your chances of getting matched quicker. All of their 'client liasons' read from the same manual, for when you ask them a question they cannot answer, or question their methods, they reply "well, perhaps adoption isnt for you" or "we are trying our best to get you a healthy baby' We were matched 5-6 months after signing up w/ a BM who was 3 months pregnant. She was an unemployed mother of 2 and we supported her for over half a year. So in addition to meeting our own bills, we were paying hers. Commuication from ANLC was difficult. We had to initiate about 90% of the phone calls and emails. Had to keep asking for the copies of the BMs medical records and updates. Our monthly updates were never on time. When you are matched, you have to send in the remainder of the match fee. So ANLC has all of your money and you are now waiting for the birth of the baby. Oh, you also have to retain an attorney in the state the baby is being born- and we had to do most of the research ourselves. ANLC only gave us a name and a number. Again, not very helpful. So our adoption fell through b/c the BM changed her mind the date the baby was due. There were tons of red flags along this whole dreadful experience. However we were hopeful, had names picked out, nursery ready; family and coworkers were informed. We were ready to become parents, Afterall, who ever hears of an adoption failing? Red flags: BM didnt keep doctor appointments but was sure to get her monthly check. BM didnt keep appoitment with attorney. Also, no quick return phone calls from ANLC CL. Sometimes they'd be out of the office but no notification on their voicemail. She we'd leave a message thinking we'd get a call back, only to have days pass by and have to call again. Irresponsible service! Then ANLC had the nerve to ask us to update our pictures for our online profile almost immediately after all this heartache! If we were matched once, why the need to update our images and ask us to rewrite a new Bm letter? Heartless! We have not been rematched. Its been a little over one year. Our motnhly updates are still late, and at one point we didnt receive any update. We have been passed to at least 3 client liasons b/c they keep leaving. Having to tell our story again and try to develop a new relationship w/ new CL. ANLC has our money. We had to take out a loan for the adoption. We asked for our matching fee back and ANLC said No. We have no baby. They are heartless and cruel. Once you are matched and paid, if that match falls through, ANLC does not put you in the forefront to be rematched. You are not a priority to them. Not sure how any of their employees sleep at night. There is more to tell; its all heart breaking and sad.

Reviews: Would NEVER recommend. PM if you have questions.



Review by sedlak7195 submitted on February, 4, 2011 at 08:48 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Jan 2000
Status: Homestudy and documentation
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from California, United States

sedlak7195's Ratings:
Pros: they were great in the sales part, before we sent them any money

Cons: let me just say don't go with them. I've met so many people with the same story. paid the fees, no adoption ever completed, poor communication.

Reviews: If you are looking for reviews of this agency, DO NOT GO with anlc. Like sooo many others our story is the same. Payment of $23k, no adoption after 2 years, poor/no communication, high employee turnover. I could tell an extremely long story, but let me just give a little advice. Do not go with a pay ahead agency. Better off with friends, church etc. We were like everyone else..."Oh we can just adopt". It may be easy for some. Please reply to me if you decided to not go with anlc after reading my review. I can take solace in knowing that I saved someone the same fate as me.



Review by jesse2010 submitted on January, 25, 2011 at 02:32 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 1y 4m
Start Date: Aug 2005
Status: Finalized
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Florida, United States

jesse2010's Ratings:
Pros: Dear Adoption Network Law Center Where there is great love, there are always miracles! A year ago we walked into your office filled with lots of doubt due to a long roller coaster ride of fertility treatments and failed pregnancies. After meeting with your staff we felt confident that we had found the right place for us. After a short lunch at the Spectrum, we returned to sign on board; we’re so glad we did. The staff worked quickly to get us up on the website. It took us two days to complete all of the paperwork. We completed adoption training, had our fingerprints taken, got our medical clearance, gathered our photographs, and completed 10 scrapbooks in one week. Our friends and family returned the letters of recommendation immediately upon receiving them, we met with our social worker and our packet was complete in record time. It took a day and half of being up on the ANLC website before we were matched with our sensational Birthmother. We will never forget receiving the phone call from ANLC on Friday, August 5, 2005. We almost crashed and got pulled over by the Sheriffs Department on our way to Laguna Beach. We explained to the officer what had happened and he congratulated us, told us to drive safely and let us go with a warning. “Oh my Goodness!!!” Everyone…friends, family and neighbors were thrilled and in shock that it had happened so quickly. This was unheard of, we definitely had angels on our side. On August 11, 2005 we met our Birthmother. Exactly two months from the date of our meeting, our son was born. What an amazing experience! I was able to be our Birthmother’s Lamaze coach and was in the delivery room to witness this joyous event. In two short months from walking through your front doors, our lives were forever changed! One year and 4 days later, we were in family court with Richard V. Mowery, (what a wonderful attorney) and the finalization of our son took place. Miracles do happen! Thank you for fulfilling our lifelong dream of becoming parents. There is no greater joy than holding our son in our arms having him call us Dada & Mama. With great pride and confidence we whole-heartedly support your organization and will continue to promote adoption through Adoption Network Law Center. Sincerely, Jesse and Janet.

Cons: -

Reviews: -



Review by jeremy33 submitted on January, 12, 2011 at 03:38 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 3y 5m
Start Date: Nov 2009
Status: Finalized
Type: Open, Domestic, Intrastate
Special Needs: No
Child from Pennsylvania, United States

jeremy33's Ratings:
Pros: To everyone at Adoption Network Law Center, We would like to take this opportunity to sincerely thank you. A thank you for all of the help that was given to us almost one year ago, to aid in the adoption of our beautiful daughter Victoria Alexa. When beginning the process it seems so discouraging, from the waiting to the expenses, etc. But when the process involves working with an organization so helpful as Adoption Network Law Center, it really makes the time more enjoyable. We apologize for the twelve-month delay in getting this necessary "thank you" to everyone. However, you'd be happy to know that this past year has been filled with hours and hours of fun and excitement playing with Tori. In fact, we have sent a picture along of our daughter so you can see first hand how happy she truly is! Again thanks for all of your support and guidance through a difficult yet wonderful situation. Please feel free to forward our names as references for other hopeful adoptive parents. We would love to share our pleasant experience working with everyone at Adoption Network Law Center! Dawn, Jeremy and Victoria.

Cons: We've experienced no problems.

Reviews: Great agency.



Review by tylerdawn submitted on January, 11, 2011 at 02:50 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Aug 2002
Status: Finalized
Type: Open, Domestic, Intrastate
Special Needs: No
Child from Arizona, United States

tylerdawn's Ratings:
Pros: Dear Adoption Network Law Center, As of August 7, 2002 everything has been finalized! We are so happy and cherish each day. Clay has been with us since his birth on March 29th (Good Friday) and we brought him home on Easter Sunday. Clay is an absolute joy; always smiling, laughing and speaking his mind! Oh, he is also a flirt! Everything happened so fast for us (not even two months) that we didn't speak with many of you, but we do appreciate all you've done for us. Because of Clay and your law center, we have a smile of sunshine every single day! We've had a lot of couples asking about our adoption...we tell them to check out Adoption Network Law Center! Thank you, Tyler, Dawn and Clay Evan

Cons: no cons

Reviews: Thank you ANLC!



Review by saljon submitted on January, 10, 2011 at 04:45 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 1m
Start Date: Oct 2010
Status: Finalized
Type: Open, Domestic, Intrastate
Special Needs: No
Child from Minnesota, United States

saljon's Ratings:
Pros: To all future parents: I hope my story will encourage you to never lose hope. I started panicking about my biological clock when I was 38 and single. I desperately wanted children but didn't want to parent alone. Fortunately, I met my wonderful husband, Jon, and we started trying to get pregnant as soon as we were married. I was 41 years old. After only 3 months of trying, we got pregnant, despite fears that my age would prevent us from conceiving easily. I was absolutely ecstatic! I happily went about the next 12 weeks enjoying a problem-free pregnancy with mild morning sickness and no spotting. Jon and I picked out names and made plans for our April arrival. Our innocence was obliterated when our ob/gyn couldn't find a heartbeat at 12 weeks. We were crushed. Surely this couldn't be happening to us. Devastating losses happen to other people, but to us?! As we sat at lunch trying to absorb and comprehend the doctor's words, we agreed to begin the adoption process. I soon became frustrated and angry that because of my age and because we were newly married, we were ineligible for many adoption agency programs. Additionally, we still hoped to conceive again, and most agencies would not let us consider adopting while pregnant. We wanted two children close in age, one biological, one adopted. The thought of an agency telling us that they wouldn't allow this irritated us beyond belief. We decided to find a birthmother on our own and work towards an independent adoption. We spent thousands of dollars advertising our need. We ran newspaper ads across our state, and we printed and distributed thousands of large postcards printed with our picture and story. A year and a half later, we were still childless. We had also endured 3 more heartbreaking miscarriages.

When we finally signed on with Adoption Network Law Center, I felt like I had found a life raft of hope in an ocean of desperation. The wonderful staff assured us again and again that we would be parents. When my faith was waning, their reassurances lifted my spirits. Best of all, they didn't have any of the arbitrary restrictions that many agencies have. Finally, just six months after we signed on, Judy called us with the news: We had been chosen and we needed to fly to California in four days! We were ecstatic! On September 30, 2002, our beautiful daughter, Nicole Paige, was born. Our birthmother welcomed us to witness the birth and to immediately care for our baby. This was an exciting and stressful time. Fortunately, Ellen from Adoption Network Law Center was there to guide us through every step. Ellen was nurturing, caring, competent and helpful in every way. She was truly our guardian angel and made our experience a smooth and successful one. We will be forever grateful to Ellen and the rest of the Adoption Network Law Center staff for helping us make our greatest dream a reality. Before we returned home to Minnesota, we visited the Adoption Network Law Center staff. I can assure you that they are a devoted, caring, competent group of dedicated adoption professionals. In fact, we have so much faith in Adoption Network Law Center that we are planning to work with them again soon to adopt our second child!! Sincerely, Sal and Jon

Cons: No problems

Reviews: No comments



Review by kellyk submitted on December, 3, 2010 at 03:40 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 3y 2m
Start Date: May 2010
Status: Finalized
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Austin, Arizona, United States

kellyk's Ratings:
Pros: We’d like to start off by thanking Adoption Network Law Center for their part in bringing Erica into our lives. She has brought us so much joy in 4 months that we can’t imagine our lives without her. Dave and I were married for 9 years and had two biological children when we signed on with Adoption Network Law Center. We had struggled through years of infertility and invitro treatments before conceiving our two children. Although we were very happy and had a full life, we longed for another child. Adoption had always been a favorable option for us. We knew we might have a longer wait than other couples because we did already have children. We never lost hope or faith and happily two days before leaving for our summer vacation, we got the call we’d been waiting for from Margarethe, our birthmothers’ counselor. Our baby girl wasn’t due for another month but she arrived early and quickly. We were 10 hours away from our home and another 20 hours drive away from the hospital. Unfortunately, we weren’t there for her birth but we were able to hold her before she was 2 days old. Though unplanned, we were lucky enough to meet our birthmother and spend some time with her. We are so thankful to her for her difficult and unselfish decision. We are also very grateful to Margarethe. She was always so upbeat and cheerful; she made everything seem so easy. We were so lucky to work with her, as was our daughters’ birthmom. We will refer others to Adoption Network Law Center. Everyone there has helped make this a wonderful experience for our family. Dave and Cindy

Cons: No problems

Reviews: Many thanks to ANLC.



Review by johnsandra submitted on November, 30, 2010 at 03:06 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 2y 1m
Start Date: Apr 2010
Status: Finalized
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from California, United States

johnsandra's Ratings:
Pros: Dear Adoption Network Law Center Staff, It is with sincere gratitude that we send you this note. We cannot begin to thank you all enough for bringing our birthmother and beautiful daughter, Kaylee Marie to us. This being our first experience with adoption, naturally we were nervous. You and your staff assured us we had nothing to be concerned about and laid our worries to rest. After a few short months - three to be exact - we were notified that you had found us what turned out to be a perfect match. Shortly after that phone call we met our birthmother. She was a beautiful and courageous woman. We felt as if we had known her forever. Our relationship with our birthmother blossomed. We became very close as her due date approached. Finally the “big” day arrived and what an exciting day it was. We were blessed with our beautiful baby girl and filled with joy beyond belief. Thank you all again for making our dreams come true. We will forever be grateful to you for bringing our birthmother to us, and to her for giving us a joy we would have never known. Our Most Heartfelt Thanks, John, Sandra and Kaylee Mari

Cons: None what so ever

Reviews: Thank you ANLC.



Review by christopherr submitted on August, 31, 2010 at 04:04 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 3y 3m
Start Date: Oct 2009
Status: Homestudy and documentation
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Florida, United States

christopherr's Ratings:
Pros: I chose ANLC for it's many years of adoption law practice, they realized how fragile children can be and I just knew that they are the ones that can help me. They work to help parents and families create situations that are best for themselves and their children. ANLC helped us, the adoptive parents and the birth mother as well. They took care of us in every way before, and after the adoption. Helping clients from across the country who need adoption services, I think is what they do best. They often handle legal issues that relate to adoptions where the birth families and adoptive families have already met. ANLC always look for a good family to adopt "their" child. We were given a wonderful 3 year old boy, that is just perfect for us, and that's why I want to thank them so much. xo xo :)

Cons: I can't think of any.

Reviews: No comments.



Review by jeffjeff submitted on August, 27, 2010 at 09:07 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 8y 2m
Start Date: Mar 2009
Status: Placement
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Oklahoma, United States

jeffjeff's Ratings:
Pros: We adopted our 2 boys, 8 & 10 through Adoption Network Law Center. One from Oklahoma City and one from Tulsa. The first birth mother who picked us let us support her for several months, then backed out. Fortunately, ANLC found us another right away. There are no guarantees. There can't be. During the time leading up to the adoption the birth mothers were treated very well. We paid for their rent, groceries and medical bills. The social worker drove them to do their shopping. While we were in Oklahoma for the birth, the adoptive father's (me) sole responsibility is to make sure she didn't have to eat hospital food. For every meal she would tell me what she wanted and I would find a restaurant to order carryout. In the beginning we kept in touch with the birth mothers. As time passed the contact dwindled, but we still exchange letters with other members of the birth family. We are planning a trip to OK to see the birth mothers again. Thank you.

Cons: More law firms like this.

Reviews: I recommend Adoption Network Law Center.



Review by marinan submitted on August, 24, 2010 at 02:26 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 2y 3m
Start Date: Apr 2009
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Jul 2009
Time Until Placement: 3 months
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Lake Forest, California, United States

marinan's Ratings:
Pros: One year ago I was matched with through the services of Adoption Network Law Center. I was given a happy, healthy, absolutely beautiful baby girl. The employees of ANLC were so incredibly sweet and kind and caring, the most helpful of them all. It's a really hard decision to make, to place your child for adoption. It's painful, and you constantly question your choice, wondering whether it was the right one, and I have no doubt that it was hard for the parents... but they did everything they could to help me along the way. ANLC helped me write an adoption agreement that I could be comfortable with, and helped match me with a family whose values and morals I agreed with. They constantly checked in on me, to make sure that I was doing alright emotionally. Thank you, Adoption Network Law Center.

Cons: No problems at all.

Reviews: I wish to thank them with this review.



Review by mimismommy submitted on August, 2, 2010 at 11:05 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Dec 2009
Status: Placement
Type: Semi-Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from South Carolina, United States

mimismommy's Ratings:
Pros: We were matched very quickly. We realize that we were lucky for this to happen, but we are satisfied with the amount of work put into making our profile stand out. The consultant at ANLC talked to us and the emom at least once a week. Whenever a problem arose, she dealt with it quickly and stayed in direct contact with the attorneys. We were very satisfied with our experience and would happily recommend them to others.

Cons: The price is VERY high. Fortunately they offer loan options, but still... it would be nice if they were a bit more affordable.

Reviews: We love ANLC!



Review by Mar12 submitted on July, 17, 2010 at 10:39 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Dec 2007
Status: Homestudy and documentation
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Alabama, United States

Mar12's Ratings:
Pros: NONE!!!

Cons: PLEASE SEE COMMENTS

Reviews: We joined ANLC in December of 2007 and what a mistake that was!!!!! Here is our story.... We had the initial call and was told how wonderful they were and to hurry up and get our paperwork done so we could bring our new baby home!!! We were excited thinking wow it could really happen soon!!!! So we signed with them, paying $11,800 for their "Marketing". Well here we are almost three years later and we are still without a baby! So we signed up in December of 2007 and we ended up getting matched with a birth mom six months later. The baby was due two weeks from then. We could not believe it!!! We received the call and were given a verbal description of the situation. The girl was on methadone did not receive pre natal care until recently and few other issues. They needed our decision by the next day (still only verbal communication at this point). I spoke with many DRs who explained that the baby would be born addicted to methadone and would have to go through withdrawls in the hospital for about a month and there should not be any long term effects from that. (Yes, I had to research all of this all my own b/c ANLC did not know). So we called ANLC the next day and said we wanted to move forward. Now before they could send us the birth mom's proof of pregnancy, personal info, dr.'s info, etc.. we had to pay our "match fee of 9,800. Ok so I overnighted the check and they sent me all of the birthmother's info. A lot of the info was new to us some of the info was not relayed to us. We went on to have our conf call with the birth mom and adoption advisor. It went good and then I had a phone call and one or two emails with the birth mom. I tried calling her one Sunday and could not reach her. Then she was supposed to call me after her doctor's appt on Monday and I did not hear from her. I called ANLC and said something is not right. They said oh just give it until tomorrow and they we will try to get a hold of her. Tuesday came and they could not get a hold of her and her family just hung up on them. I remember just knowing that she had changed her mind and cried. They finally found her on Wed evening, she had given birth in the hospital and decided to keep the baby. We were told by our Adoption Advisor that she was going to find us the best baby ever and she was soo sorry! We thought ok, they will find us a baby soon so we got on with our lives! Here were are 2 years (almost to the day) that our birth mom changed her mind. We have not gotten ONE opportunity since then. We did not have any communication with ANLC for over a year. They requested updated pics of us, even though they had like 60 of them. It was just a general email to send in new pics. I then contacted them a month later to ask if I would contact this woman from ANLC that I had spoken with before and they said o'h she is not longer here this is your new contact. I could not believe it, how was I supposed to know that she was not there anymore. They did not even send a letter, NOTHING!!! The advisor that told me she was going to find me the best baby, moved out of the country. So much for that!!! My husband and I requested our match fee of 9800 back (BECAUSE EVEN IF YOUR MATCH GETS DISRUPTED, YOU DO NOT GET THE 9800 BACK, SO THEY HAVE NOT INCENTIVE TO MATCH YOU). and they denied our request. So we are stuck with them. I am seeking legal advice. This is just heartless!!! All they care about is MONEY!!! Once they have your money they do nothing to help you! If you want a baby, DO NOT USE THEM. They have made this journey horrible for us!!! edit reply



Review by sdteacher10 submitted on April, 3, 2010 at 11:23 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Feb 2009
Status: Placement
Type: Semi-Open, Domestic, Intrastate
Special Needs: No
Child from Scotsdale, Arizona, United States

sdteacher10's Ratings:
Pros: We were matched quickly, twice. After the second match, which we believed was perfect, we were unmatched and ANLC didn't even know! I had to research and figure everything out on my own yet I was charged for their earned time.

Cons: They try to intimidate adoptive parents with speaker phone calls and legal jargon. Once they receive your money they are not as responsive or sensitive. They work on their own time schedules so if you work until 4:00 or later; communications are difficult. Their BM screening process did not impress me and they say they provide weekly BM support to stay in tune with their thoughts but they don't AND they offered to give the BM our personal info. without asking us first during a 3 way conversation. Lastly, there is a HIGH turnover rate there with staff. The original gal I was working with was wonderful and then it went downhill from there after she left. They would not tell me why she left. I can only imagine. In all, they have $23,000 of ours. It has taken them months (and many threats) to offer us reimbursement of our match fee, $9800. So, that would mean that they keep $12,000+ and now want to know if we want to stay with them. We are not sure what we plan to do at this time.

Reviews: Please feel free to contact me if you have had similar problems with ANLC. Thank you!



Review by USMCWife7 submitted on January, 29, 2010 at 02:20 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Jan 2009
Status: Withdrew voluntarily
Type: Semi-Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from California, United States

USMCWife7's Ratings:
Pros: There was no Pros...

Cons: They told me they would not work with me because I did not now what was on my background and I know I had messed up one time but my husband had a HIGH Military Clearance... I also have a complex congenital heart defect and they did not want to work with us on that as well. They also, did not like the fact I was only 22 at the time of contact.

Reviews: I would watch EVERYTHING if you are going to use them.



Review by Kens08 submitted on January, 8, 2010 at 10:14 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 2y 0m
Start Date: Dec 2006
Status: Homestudy and documentation
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Florida, United States

Kens08's Ratings:
Pros: Nothing positve to say

Cons: Stay Away!!!! They stole over $19,000 of our money. Their contract does not support or protect adoptive parents at all. They matched us and then over a course of 5 days of conversations with the Birthmother we found out many many details that were never revealed to us, their were numerous serious issues to be very concerned about. When we decided not to get on the plane they agency hung up on us and we did not hear from them for days only to hear we could owe more money. We spent over year negiotiating to try to recover some funds. We did not! They are heartless and are only in it to broker children.

Reviews: After explaing out situation to our local attorneys, other agencies and govermental representatives, all agreed they were awful to us, however had heard other similiar stories



Review by Laura submitted on December, 8, 2009 at 05:49 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Jan 2000
Status: Withdrew voluntarily
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Alabama, United States

Laura's Ratings:
Pros: This agency took $7500 from us and then we never heard from them. We made repeated phone calls and finally heard back from them. They told us we would only be sucessful if we accepted an interracial baby. This was not in our comfort range and we were very clear about this prior to signing up. Stay away from these people. They are crooks!!!

Cons: Be honest about the availability of children BEFORE they take someone's money.

Reviews: Stay away from these people. I think they particularly take advantage of people that live far from them.



Review by rdiaz submitted on September, 30, 2009 at 04:31 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 11m
Start Date: Aug 2008
Status: Finalized
Type: Semi-Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from North Carolina, United States

rdiaz's Ratings:
Pros: 1. The Nationwide marketing made a big difference. We were matched in 3 months. We worked with a very similar agency for 1 year and they never matched us. 2. The media manager helped us send in the right materials. We actually had 3 profiles. 3. They were thorough when they put together the legal part for our out of state adoption. 4. They paid us lots of attention. We actually had more than one contact and they seemed to all be on the same page when we called. 5. They were kind and supportive to our daughter's birth mother (she was only 18 ). 6. We got a lot of info on our birth mother.

Cons: 1. The baby was early so we got to the hospital after the birth. 2. The interstate part took about 10 days and that made it tough to plan Thanksgiving, but that is minor.

Reviews: We decided to post this rating because we heard from friends that there are negative things about them on line. We are so happy with the quality of service and having a complete family that I felt compelled to share how we feel. They are everything they say they are and we will be back for another adoption.



Review by lorisurfs submitted on June, 7, 2009 at 09:02 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Sep 2005
Status: Homestudy and documentation
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from California, United States

lorisurfs's Ratings:
Pros: There is absolutely NO PROS for this organization...........

Cons: This is one of the worst agencies, they have such a turn-over of people working for them. They are unprofessional, and do not provide the proper information to adoptive families at all. The only way to communicate with them is if the adoptive family calls to get status. Their websites do not give adoptive families any feedback, good data, statistics, etc. They do not do client follow-up at all. They only get their birthmothers from them signing up on their website, not like the networking they state on their website. They do not go out of their way for any of their clients who have been waiting for years, I say years to be matched. If they find a prospective match, they usually do not have all the birthmother information when they present them to adoptive family. Most of the birthmothers are not screened properly. Not to mention are on drugs. They constantly want the adoptive family to change their preferences when they fail to match them. They use the same sales pitch for every question the adoptive parents ask. The lawyer in charge is not even part of the California Adoption Bar Association, and has a terrible reputation with ALL other Los Angeles Adoption Lawyers, not to mention has been sued by their clients at least 10 times in the last couple of years (Cases Listed online).

Reviews: This is the worst agency. I would not recommended them to anyone including the birthmothers.



Review by harvitt submitted on March, 15, 2009 at 09:59 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Dec 2003
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Aug 2004
Time Until Placement: 8 months
Type: Open, Domestic, Intrastate
Special Needs: No
Child from Oakland, California, United States

harvitt's Ratings:
Pros: We've adopted twice using ANLC. The first time went virtually perfectly. Both times we were matched almost immediately. In the first adoption our birthmom moved down to southern cal to live in their housing for the last 2 months of her pregnancy. We went down there a couple of times to get to know her, which was wonderful. They also handled the legal stuff in this adoption and things went very well, and i'd give them a 10 out of 10 for our first adoption. The problems with ANLC and why i rated them lower are addressed below.. Still, their main job is matching you with birthparents. And we were matched so fast both times, and our birthparents are awesome (open adoptions and our birthmoms have even become friends with each other) and so are our kids..

Cons: Our 2nd adoption was more complicated because it was out of state (WA) and they referred us to a really horrible agency up there, ACD (A Child's Dream, Poulsbo, WA). We ended up getting stuck in WA state for almost a month, and some of the delays were caused by ACD, who also ripped us off and were rude and inept, etc. We felt that ANLC did a great job matching us, but felt let down that they referred us to ACD and did a poor job of telling us what we were getting into by pursuing an adoption in WA state. The costs and time and aggravation were off the charts in the 2nd adoption. But, yes, we do have two wonderful kids.

Reviews: ANLC handles a ton of adoptions every year. Sometimes they can seem a bit overworked because of it. If you think that for whatever reason you are a person/couple that is exceptionally difficult to match for whatever reason, maybe they're not the facilitator for you, i don't know. Yes, there are complaints out there about ANLC, but if you are as big as they are, there will be some cases that fail and some unhappy people out there. There are also a ton of people who have been well served by them.