Search Reviews | Top Rated Agencies | Add Your Review | Compare Agencies | Blog Join | Login  
Adoption Agency Reviews, Ratings, Rankings and Testimonials Adoption Agencies Reviews, Ratings, Rankings and Testimonials

Adoptions From The Heart

30-31 Hampstead Circle
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania 19096
United States
610-642-7200

http://www.adoptionsfromtheheart.org

Type: Private Agency


  Average Ratings
Based On All Reviews

Review by Amgray submitted on January, 25, 2012 at 07:17 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Feb 2011
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Oct 2011
Time Until Placement: 8 months
Type: Open, Domestic, Intrastate
Special Needs: No
Child from Pennsylvania, United States

Amgray's Ratings:
Pros: We had a really wonderful experience with Adoptions from the Heart's Wynnewood and Allentown, PA, and Cherry Hill, NJ, offices. AFTH started out as just our home study agency, as we were originally planning to do an international adoption with an agency located out of state. However, we eventually decided to switch to a domestic adoption and at that point we moved our entire process to AFTH. Our adoption of our son was finalized in October, 2011. We had some bumps in the road -- mainly, before our son came to us we had to return a newborn who had been placed with us a week earlier because the birth mother changed her mind. That was extremely difficult, but we felt we had been very well prepared for the possibility by AFTH and we felt well supported through the whole process. Our experience has been that the AFTH staff really cares about us, our child, and our child's birth mother, and that staff members at various offices work together extremely well to support everyone involved. We feel very good about the way his birth mother (a teenager) was treated throughout the process, and that is part of what made our adoption such an amazing and positive experience. AFTH has done a wonderful job from start to finish. I'd recommend them to anyone.

Cons: The only negative thing I can think of is that some of the instructions around logistical things -- ie when to add the baby to our health insurance and how to deal with medical assistance -- were a little unclear. I'm sure if we had asked the right questions we would have had them answered, but of course we hadn't been through an adoption before so we didn't know what questions we should be asking. The exact timeline and procedures around the adoption process were at times a little unclear. We had to keep asking what would happen next, etc. However, we are pretty detail-oriented people so I imagine the information they provided would have be fine for most people. Really, these were minor issues in an overally very positive experience.

Reviews: No other comments.



Review by KimberlyL submitted on January, 13, 2012 at 01:49 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Oct 2010
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: May 2011
Time Until Placement: 7 months
Type: Semi-Open, Domestic, Intrastate
Special Needs: No
Child from Pennsylvania, United States

KimberlyL's Ratings:
Pros: We worked with Adoptions From The Heart for a domestic adoption in 2010. We found them to be extremely professional and supportive. We worked mostly with Ashley K as our social worker in the Wynnewood office and we also worked with Michaelina. We can not say enough positive things about our experience with both of these phenomenal social workers and the staff at AFTH. They made this process comfortable and not scary or intimidating at all. They walked us through the process and all types of situations we could face and how they would be handled so we would be prepared for anything and everything. We always felt confident with them and supported by them. We started the process at the very end of April 2010, went through the paperwork and homestudy process and then entered the program officially in August. We brought home our baby girl in October 2010, so we were fortunate to not have a long wait at all. Ashley helped us with every question we had and she was there for guidance when we needed it. She answered our calls and emails promptly and thoroughly. The classes offered by AFTH were very informative and allowed us to connect with other adopting parents who could relate to what we were going through.

Cons: We did not experience any problems with Adoptions From The Heart before, during, or after our adoption journey.

Reviews: We will be forever grateful to AFTH for creating our family, and we hope to use them again in the future.



Review by elizabethorgan submitted on January, 6, 2012 at 10:39 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Jan 2008
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Nov 2011
Time Until Placement: 46 months
Type: Semi-Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania, United States

elizabethorgan's Ratings:
Pros: I worked with Ashley and she was wonderful. She kept me informed of the progress and kept my spirits up when it seemed to take a while. She made suggestions on my profile and key which were very helpful. She genuinely likes the work she does and believes in the process.

Cons: No problems. Fees are high, but I wouldn't trade it for the world.

Reviews: I would recommend the Wynnewood office of AFTH to anyone. Their group of social workers are very caring folks.