Search Reviews | Top Rated Agencies | Add Your Review | Compare Agencies | Blog Join | Login  
Adoption Agency Reviews, Ratings, Rankings and Testimonials Adoption Agencies Reviews, Ratings, Rankings and Testimonials

Building Blocks Adoption Service, Inc.

52 Public Square
Medina, Ohio 44256
United States
866-321-2367
denise@bbas.org
http://www.bbas.org

Type: Private Agency


  Average Ratings
Based On All Reviews

Review by jmadi submitted on December, 19, 2011 at 08:09 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: May 2011
Status: Placement
Completion Date: Dec 2011
Time Until Placement: 7 months
Type: Semi-Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from California, United States

jmadi's Ratings:
Pros: After months of investigation of multiple agencies we were blessed to have signed on with Building Blocks Adoption Service (BBAS) in Medina, Ohio. BBAS processed our homestudy and our placement of our son. We started our started our homestudy with BBAS in May of 2011 . The social worker that was assigned to us was amazing. She put all of our worries and concerns at ease. Our entire homestudy process took about 6 weeks. Once our homestudy was completed we worked with a gal that helped us complete our profile book that would be used to match us with a birthmother. After submitting our profile to several birth parents to look at, we were matched with our birthmother in August 2011 and our son was born on October 13, 2011 in California. BBAS communicated and guided us throughout the entire process. There was never a time we felt alone. If we had any questions they answered them quickly and professionally. From the time we started our process until now BBAS has always been there for us. We received complete information about our birth mother and her social and medical information. The attorney that worked with us in CA was not very communicative by BBAS stepped in and was able to get the answers we needed. Adoption is a confusing and emotional journey. BBAS was able to guide us step by step through the entire process. We highly recommend BBAS. If you are seeking an honest, ethical and caring group of people to guide you through your adoption BBAS is the agency to work with. We have found forever friends at BBAS.

Cons: NONE

Reviews: Enjoy your adoption journey. Even though it may feel overwhelming, sit back and think about how wonderful the outcome will be.



Review by PGordon submitted on November, 23, 2011 at 06:27 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 14y 0m
Start Date: Sep 2010
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Jun 2011
Time Until Placement: 9 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: Yes
Child from Mala Vyska, Pennsylvania, United States

PGordon's Ratings:
Pros: Genuinely eager to help people complete their families. A wonderful Christ centered organization. Extraordinary staff Kind and thorough Efficient Resourceful Honest Caring Thorough

Cons: Three Building Blocks Adoption Services Inc. adoptions so far. STILL NO CONS ! ! !

Reviews: How can I possibly sum up the good in Building Blocks Adoption Services Inc. (BBAS) here? BBAS has facilitated three separate adoptions for over a nearly ten year period. We are very familiar with this terrific organization. Every member of their extraordinary staff is courteous, kind and thorough. They, individually and as a whole, are efficient, resourceful and genuinely eager to help people complete their families. The staff at BBAS realizes how intricate and arduous a process adoption is and strives to ease the burden. Their expertise is evident throughout the entire process. Our first attempt at adoption was with another agency. That agency made numerous errors and then actually dropped the program we were in right in the middle of our adoption. In disbelief and out thousands of dollars we cold called BBAS. The Director stepped in, collected all the pieces, and salvaged our adoption. Tragically the baby girl we were adopting was discovered to have devastating and ultimately fatal brain damage from a stroke she had suffered in utero. She seemed prefect but she was failing to develop. Neurologists at CHOP studied her case and advised us not to bring her to the U.S. stating the medical community would be forced to perform procedures that would only prolong an agonizing life. Devastated with us neither BBAS nor we could simply walk away from this baby. BBAS ensured for all four years of our little angles life she was loved, nourished and cared for by a wonderful in-country foster mom. They further ensured that when in country for our next adoption my wife was able to hold and spend some time with her. Please trust me when I say BBAS absolutely has the very best interest of every child everywhere in the world at heart. They have since completed two more adoptions for us and two for our dear friends that we referred. I cannot possibly say enough about this wonderful Christ centered organization.



Review by dlatte submitted on November, 22, 2011 at 09:28 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Feb 2011
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Sep 2011
Time Until Placement: 7 months
Type: Semi-Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Celina, Texas, United States

dlatte's Ratings:
Pros: We love Building Blocks Adoption in Medina, Ohio. We adopted our daughter through this agency this year and feel truly blessed to have worked with this agency. Not only was the staff honest, ethical and professional but truly does care about its clients. When we were going through our process we had a family loss and BBAS was there for us to support us through our family tragedy. When we received a call, only one month after our homestudy was completed to tell us we were chosen by a birth mother they were upfront and honest about the adoption process and the risks involved. Building Blocks Adoption not only gave love and comfort after my grandfather passed, but gave us a beautiful daughter that we will forever cherish. We highly recommend Building Blocks Adoption now and forever. Matter of fact… next year we plan to adopt once again and will use BBAS with no doubt.

Cons: NONE!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviews: Through the initial application process, home study, matching and placement process this agency was outstanding.



Review by lmwk00 submitted on November, 19, 2011 at 12:33 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 1y 0m
Start Date: Apr 2009
Status: Placement
Completion Date: Dec 2010
Time Until Placement: 20 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Addis Ababa, Ethiopia

lmwk00's Ratings:
Pros: We have adopted three children with BBAS. One child from Guatemala and two children from Ethiopia. We highly recommend BBAS. They have amazing personal service, very prompt responses to questions and concerns, excellent staff here and in country, great prepartion resourses, a smooth and clearly outlined process, and they genuinely care about you and your family. We have been so happy with BBAS. They are professional, honest, and wonderful to work with. We live out of state and we were still very impressed with the personal service they provided. We recommend BBAS to anyone who asks us about adopting.

Cons: there were delays in the process but that is to be expected with international adoption. BBAS was very open and honest about the delays and was very helpful and supportive. We appreciated their openness and superb communication during the difficult time of waiting.

Reviews: Their website is amazing and very helpful. I cannot tell you how wonderful their communication and personal service is. We looked at other agencies and even fired one agency. Building Blocks has the best service around. Both stateside and in country. We were taken care of every step of the way.



Review by rfracassa submitted on November, 18, 2011 at 08:00 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 1y 1m
Start Date: Dec 2008
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Jan 2009
Time Until Placement: 1 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Almaty, Kazakhstan

rfracassa's Ratings:
Pros: Everyone we came into contact with at BBAS was wonderful. From the first application to bringing our daughter home, we were well informed with our hand being held the entire way. While in country, we were in continuous contact with our agency representative, and the coordinator working with us in country was very well informed and able to answer our questions. We did an extensive amount of research prior to choosing BBAS as our agency, and we were not disappointed in our choice. We feel very blessed to have found and worked with BBAS. After our adoption was finalized, BBAS has been great about keeping in touch. And now we are part of an amazing BBAS extended adoptive "family".

Cons: Our adoption was incredibly smooth. We felt everything was honest and ethical throughout the whole process. There is nothing we would have wanted the agency to do differently.

Reviews: In every adoption, there will be delays and also times of unexpected movement. Just go with it. In the end, you will surely look back and see how all the pieces fit just right to bring your family together!



Review by kancho submitted on November, 18, 2011 at 04:46 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 2y 0m
Start Date: Jan 1998
Status: Finalized
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Bulgaria

kancho's Ratings:
Pros: The adoption process went smoothly and we were 100% satisfied with the process. Our son is wonderful and we are totally pleased with BBAS. They were professional, knowledgeable, caring, and easy to work with. Plus each year they hold a picnic so we can compare notes with other families and it also gives our children a chance to meet children from their home country and other countries. We would highly recommend BBAs.

Cons: THis adoption was smooth sailing. We experienced no difficulties.

Reviews: Staff members at BBAS are knowledgeable and professional. We always felt that everything was under conrol and this was born out in that the adoption went smoothly. We were very happy with the service they provided.



Review by gauteng205 submitted on November, 18, 2011 at 03:16 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 6m
Start Date: Jan 2005
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Dec 2006
Time Until Placement: 23 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Guatemala

gauteng205's Ratings:
Pros: The agency representatives were very knowledgeable, helpful and patient - they answered all our questions about the process. During the summer of 2005 when we had to deal with a number of deaths in our extended family, here in the US and abroad, the process was briefly halted to allow us the time and space to deal with our loss. During this time, the agency representatives were extremely kind and thoughtful. Agency representatives assisted us EVERY SINGLE STEP... We are forever grateful to ALL of them for the blessed gift that we have.

Cons: NONE--- the agency representatiives and attorneys were professional, knowledgeable and answered every question we had; there were no issues in the country of adoption -- again, because we had a top notch agency who knew all about the process, and representatives who knew what was needed; our paperwork was processed without a glitch -- even at the US Consulate.

Reviews: THIS AGENCY IS HIGHLY RECOMMENDED .... FOR DOMESTIC AND INTERNATIONAL ADOPTIONS.



Review by WVTreemom submitted on November, 18, 2011 at 03:01 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 6m
Start Date: Sep 2004
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Aug 2005
Time Until Placement: 11 months
Type: Closed, Domestic, Intrastate
Special Needs: No
Child from Guatemala City, Guatemala

WVTreemom's Ratings:
Pros: Was always there to talk with me. We ended up adopting two children from Guatamala within a month of each other. We even had support staff go with us both times to guatamala to pick up our children. I would definitely go with them again if we were going to adopt again.

Cons: nothing.

Reviews: Everyone was very helpful.



Review by jjgarber submitted on November, 18, 2011 at 10:00 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 2y 0m
Start Date: Feb 2010
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Feb 2011
Time Until Placement: 12 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Vladivostok, Russian Federation

jjgarber's Ratings:
Pros: We have adopted three times from Russia, using BBAS all three times. Our daughter was 3 1/2, one son was 21 months, and the third son was 18 months old when we brought them home. The staff at BBAS was extremely helpful and answered all questions in a timely manner. If we ever adopt again, we will most definitely use them!!!

Cons: We really didn't have any problems. In fact, we were one of the families affected by Amrex back in 2007 and lost all of our fees to the man who ran Amrex. BBAS stepped up to the plate and paid half of our fees when it was time to pay them again! We can never thank them enough!!

Reviews: Remember that all adoptions do not happen according to a timeline. NO agency can guarantee that it will happen just as the paper says..



Review by pose4 submitted on September, 22, 2011 at 04:34 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 3y 11m
Start Date: Jan 2009
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Nov 2009
Time Until Placement: 10 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Ukraine

pose4's Ratings:
Pros: My husband and I adopted from Ukraine in 2009 and have an amazing little girl! Throughout the entire adoption process BBAS was there to answer any question we had and was very quick to respond. The coordinator in Ukraine is the best in the country and is so dedicated to the work he does. Any times that we had issues or concerns they were addressed professionally, quickly and all of our needs were met by this agency. The social workers there and Denise have continued to be available to us post adoption for any questions or resources we might need. We have chosen to use this agency once again for a domestic adoption. Everyone has been a pleasure to work with and they have guided us through this process. The lawyer they have suggested for us is extremely knowledgable regarding adoption and we have no doubts that BBAS is in the adoption business for the right reasons and not for the money as some people have said. I also think that personal attacks on Denise are completely uneccessary and ridiculous. She should not be blamed for things that she couldn't/can't control. Unfortunately with adoptions you take many risks and have to be aware of that going in. She has been someone to talk to as a friend, as a director, and as an adoptive parent herself. She has shown me much kindness and I will continue to support and use this agency.

Cons: I would like for them to develop a support group for adoptive parents.

Reviews: None.



Review by mbandbrent submitted on January, 3, 2008 at 01:08 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 7m
Start Date: Apr 2005
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Jan 2006
Time Until Placement: 9 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Guatemala City, Guatemala

mbandbrent's Ratings:
Pros: Our experience with Building Blocks was excellent. Emails with questions were answered promptly (typically between 8 and 9pm) and we were updated weekly on how our adoption was progressing. Once we had our referal medical updates and updated pictures were received every 3-5 weeks. BBAS went as far as helping to pick out our flight and made extra phone calls to my husband while he was in Guatemala to check on him (ironically I was too pregnant to fly). There were no surprises in our process and the staff at BBAS was up front about any snags in the adoption journey we encountered. It is never fun to hear that hurricane Mitch caused mud slides or that you were kicked out of PGN, but we were at least informed. I would highly reccommend BBAS and would use them again in another adoption.

Cons: WE did not have any problems. Our adoption went very smoothly

Reviews: The staff in Guatemala were outstanding. They spoke excellent English and really looked out for the well being of the children.



Review by ECase submitted on November, 20, 2007 at 09:20 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 2y 6m
Start Date: Aug 1999
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Oct 2000
Time Until Placement: 14 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Burgas, Bulgaria

ECase's Ratings:
Pros: Nothing. There were no "pros" with BBAS,the Bulgarian facilitation team and Dr. Sabrutova in Burgas. They were all in it to make a quick buck. The most unethical group of child brokers alive.

Cons: Problems. How to list them - child was "held" for international adoption by his orphanage director. Once our baby died in Russia, the agency shut us out, lied about the real time line for the Bulgarian adoption and then charged us $6,500 more for his adoption. The agency director LIED about $500 per client. NOBODY prepared us for post-institutionalization issues - we had to do that on her own. By and large, we have come to realize BBAS Bulgarian adoption program was a child selling scheme, especially in Burgas.

Reviews: There is nothing helpful to add. The agency's attorney is a divorce/family lawyer. He is pocketing funds from their Guatemalan program. His name is Richard J. Marco, Jr. and he works closely with the Hubbard family to bilk paying clients. The agency needs to be shut down and its director and this attorney thrown into jail. And to make recompensation for the funds they have stolen from adoptive parents.



Review by ECase submitted on November, 20, 2007 at 09:14 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Mar 1999
Status: Referral received
Completion Date: Nov 1999
Time Until Placement: 8 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Perm, Russian Federation

ECase's Ratings:
Pros: At first the agency director was helpful. But that's to be expected from somebody who is a natural salesperson and a born liar. The process was smooth for the baby's adoption. The prices at the time were market value.

Cons: The baby died in our hotel room in Perm, Russia. After the adoption there was NO support while we waited for our other child from Bulgaria. We were offered a refund of $9,500 if we signed a confidentiality agreement. We did not sign. While waiting for our son from Bulgaria we were isolated from communications from the agency, shut out, trashed out and were then charged $6,500 for HIS adoption. Denise Hubbard & Richard J. Marco, Jr. are garbage. They need to be shut down and thrown into jail for theft and lack of morals. Here is our website about our experience and that of others: http://www.bewareofbbas.org

Reviews: We found out the agency director has nothing more than a high school diploma and course work at the local community college. We have it all detailed on our website. We also realized Adoptive Parents have NO RECOURSE when an international placement agency takes a dump like BBAS on us. Read here for more: http://www.bewareofbbas.org