Search Reviews | Top Rated Agencies | Add Your Review | Compare Agencies | Blog Join | Login  
Adoption Agency Reviews, Ratings, Rankings and Testimonials Adoption Agencies Reviews, Ratings, Rankings and Testimonials

Carolina Hope Christian Adoption Agency

1527 Wade Hampton Blvd
Greenville, South Carolina 29609
United States
(864) 268-0570
office@carolinahopeadoption.org
http://carolinahopeadoption.org

Type: Private Agency


  Average Ratings
Based On All Reviews

Review by dbgloria submitted on July, 7, 2010 at 12:11 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Sep 2008
Status: Withdrew voluntarily
Type: Semi-Open, International
Special Needs: Yes
Child from N/A, Ukraine

dbgloria's Ratings:
Pros: n/a

Cons: n/a

Reviews: We went through Carolina Hope Christian Adoption in South Carolina (half way through this process they were bought out by Nightlight Christian Adoption). We had a bad experience. During our initial interviews with this office they portrayed themselves as being capable of handling an Ukrainian adoption. The staff member assigned to us had never done a Ukrainian adoption, but said she ‘begged’ to have us assigned to her because she wanted the experience. Despite misgivings we went ahead. Communication was very poor. We would go months without hearing from them, standard documents had typos, confusion reigned as far as what documents needed to be submitted next. Hundreds of dollars were spent re-doing tasks because they told us to do them in the wrong order. After a little more than a year and ½, they finally admitted their facilitator in Ukraine had stopped contacting them, and there was no record of our dossier ever making it to the office in Ukraine. As for us? Laura Godwin, the director told us “I am not one for confrontation. I have not attempted to contact him, and he has not contacted us again.” And our $5000 we gave Carolina Hope (now called Nightlight Christian) to pay their employee/facilitator? It’s gone. The office is not going to pursue their employee/facilitator. So that is it: 22 months later, we have lost 2 years of our lives, thousands of dollars, and we are still childless.



Review by friedlob submitted on March, 16, 2009 at 07:47 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 7m
Start Date: Jan 2005
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Sep 2006
Time Until Placement: 20 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Guatemala

friedlob's Ratings:
Pros: Carolina Hope Christian Adoption Agency exceeded all of our expectations. They were very communicative and walked us through each step with explanation and accuracy. They were very sensitive to our needs and suportive of our questions. This was a wonderful experience for our family and we consider Carolina Hope as friends and partners for life.

Cons: This process is a long and emotional one. Outside of the anticipation prior to each new step in the process, I would change nothing about the way Carolina Hope handled our case.

Reviews: I would highly recommend Carolina Hope to anyone looking to grow a family through adoption.



Review by Mamita submitted on March, 13, 2009 at 08:46 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 4y 8m
Start Date: Apr 2006
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: May 2008
Time Until Placement: 25 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Villa Nueva, Guatemala

Mamita's Ratings:
Pros: Carolina Hope was outstanding. They knew exactly what they were doing as far as the paperwork and process. They were up front and honest as problems were encountered. When our case hit a huge snag (missing birthmother/abandonment), they offered to either give us a new referral (in place of the current one), give us anew referral (and keep the current one on the back burner), or just stick it out. When we chose to stick it out, they worked diligently to complete our case in record time. They never asked for more money. When our daughter came home, she had a rough adjustment. Carolina Hope called and emailed on several occasions just to see how we were doing. They had their therapist call us to help us get through the worst of the storm - even though they were not our homestudy/post-placement agency. Someone from Carolina Hope visited Guatemala and the children a few times a year. They would try to take pictures of all the kids. Laura, Lisa, and all the staff were available for questions. They returned calls within one day. They listended to my fears, and helped me get through an incredibly difficult and risky process.

Cons: We did not receive regularly scheduled updates. It would have been nice to have a scheduled time for updates and pictures.

Reviews: People who have smooth adoptions may be happy with a mediocre agency, but when you encounter difficult adoptions, then you know the real quality of your agency. Carolina Hope Christian Adoption Agency is among the best of the best. I hightly recommend them.



Review by elisa1989 submitted on March, 11, 2009 at 08:38 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 1y 9m
Start Date: Mar 2001
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Jul 2001
Time Until Placement: 4 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Phnom Phen, Cambodia

elisa1989's Ratings:
Pros: To be perfectly honest...my husband and I both feel we could not have had a better agency to help and support us through our adoption journey. Laura Godwin and her staff were always there to lend support during, as well as after we brought our son home. We did have some minor "blips" as you would expect with any adoption, but, Laura and her staff were nothing but helpful in overcoming the "blips". The provider we initially contacted to do our homestudy we were less than satisfied with. Once we made contact with Carolina Hope, Laura jumped right in and corrected all the mistakes and we were on our way to creating our family =). We have great respect for everyone at Carolina Hope Christian Adoption Agency and would highly recommend them.

Cons: We cannot think of any cons.

Reviews: Once again...adopting a child is a very emotional, happy, stressful process. Laura and her staff were ALWAYS gracious. I called them sometimes, many times a day and they always returned my call. They were professional and honest throughout and we could not be happier.



Review by shannonoh submitted on February, 22, 2009 at 06:46 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 1y 6m
Start Date: Jan 2007
Status: Placement
Completion Date: Oct 2008
Time Until Placement: 21 months
Type: Semi-Open, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Guatemala

shannonoh's Ratings:
Pros: Staff was very supportive during a difficult process. Agency was professional and deliverables were done in a timely manner.

Cons: NA

Reviews: Our adoption was difficult due to paperwork issues on the Guat side. I often called the agency for "pep talks" and a lot of hand holding. For me, that was the biggest "value add" service that was provided to us.



Review by Guatmom submitted on February, 13, 2009 at 05:28 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 2y 11m
Start Date: Apr 2006
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: May 2007
Time Until Placement: 13 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Guatemala

Guatmom's Ratings:
Pros: The staff were always willing to answer any questions or find out the answer for us as quickly as possible. I fostered our two daughters in Guatemala until the adoptions were completed. I had some difficulty communicating with the facilitator in the country, but when I called Carolina Hope the matter was addressed quickly. We have since had a failed domestic adoption (mother changed her mind) and the staff were very supportive during that difficult time.

Cons: There could be improvement with the communication from agency to in country facilitators. After living there I realized there is a lot that can occur without the agency having knowledge.

Reviews: We learned frustrations and disappointments come with adopting. Thankfully we had an agency to help with both the frustrations and the disappointments. We continue to have a good relationship with Carolina Hope. We are currently working on our third adoption with them.



Review by spearsfamilyne submitted on February, 13, 2009 at 01:20 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 4y 9m
Start Date: Jun 2008
Status: Referral received
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Nazret (Adama), Ethiopia

spearsfamilyne's Ratings:
Pros: We are one of the first families in a new program for Carolina Hope. The staff has been courteous and helpful. They are working with a very good partner agency in Ethiopia. All of our questions have been answered in a timely fashion. They were very helpful with assembling the dossier. All of the fees are clearly specified and are in line with what other agencies are charging.

Cons: Carolina Hope does not work directly in Ethiopia but through an excellent partner agency. So far, however, this has worked out fine.

Reviews: We have been very pleased at this point with how our adoption has progressed. It has been a very smooth process. We have not yet completed our adoption, but expect no problems that would possibly be attributed to Carolina Hope.



Review by emlodi submitted on February, 13, 2009 at 01:01 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 1y 1m
Start Date: Feb 2008
Status: Referral received
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Addis Ababa, Ethiopia

emlodi's Ratings:
Pros: Communication is very good. Very nice and friendly staff. They are obviously doing all that they could for us in the adoption process. We would recommend them and use them again.

Cons: n/a

Reviews: Great Christian agency!



Review by Kordad submitted on September, 13, 2008 at 10:55 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 2y 0m
Start Date: Apr 2006
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Oct 2007
Time Until Placement: 18 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Guatemala

Kordad's Ratings:
Pros: No positive experiences. Coercion, lies, falsifications, threats and abandonement of a family in a foreign country. We finished our adoption in the foreign country ourselves, after learning the language and living there for a year.

Cons: Threats, lies, falsifications, abandonement of a family while in a foreign country, unavailable, terrible in country contacts who ignored us the many months we lived in country, rude when available, we had to complete our adoption without the agecy's aid after paying them in full. The agency actually had no idea when we finished our adoption and when we left the country with our child. Our post placement "counseling" consisted of a threat via email from the agency that their lawyer was reviewing our case. Unless you have a year to spend full time in a foreign country, the immense monetary resources it takes to finish an adoption with no assistance, and the ability to learn a foreign language quickly, you may want to think twice regarding this agency. The Director's husband is an extremely threatening lawyer who warned us our child, whom we were fostering, could be taken from us at any time if we did not do as his wife wished. The following day, our child was taken from us by the facilitator for 5 days and returned to us in such poor health we had to have our child evaluated and treated at a hospital. They are a Christian Agency who uses scare tactics, threats, and unethical practices paired with falsification of documents and lying to keep prospective adoptive families "in check".

Reviews: We were allowed no contact with our attorney during the nearly 2 year process. The agency was helpful in one way--they were able to cash our checks.