Search Reviews | Top Rated Agencies | Add Your Review | Compare Agencies | Blog Join | Login  
Adoption Agency Reviews, Ratings, Rankings and Testimonials Adoption Agencies Reviews, Ratings, Rankings and Testimonials

Children's Home Society & Family Services

1605 Eustis Street
St Paul (Eustis St), Minnesota 55108
United States
800-952-9302

http://childrenshomeadopt.org

Type: Private Agency


  Average Ratings
Based On All Reviews

Review by sushi submitted on February, 4, 2012 at 02:04 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 4y 0m
Start Date: Jul 2010
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Dec 2011
Time Until Placement: 17 months
Type: Open, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Ny, Ethiopia

sushi's Ratings:
Pros: Our adoption process faced many, many unexpected delays and unplanned events due solely to the instability of adoption in Ethiopia. It was the dedication, hard work and ongoing efforts of CHSFS staff that our adoption was finally completed. CHSFS consistently upheld ethical practices that always met the adoption requirements of both US and Ethiopia. Over several months of unknown timelines and unknown outcomes, the CHSFS staff provided ongoing, up to date information to our family directly. The staff worked beyond our expectations to keep us informed, keep our son safe and made decisions that emphasized the greatest resxpect for Ethiopian culture. They stuck with us through each difficult moment and offered great comfort and continual support. Our family feels so blessed to have worked with them.

Cons: None

Reviews: None



Review by mamaduck submitted on December, 20, 2011 at 06:47 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 6y 0m
Start Date: Aug 2010
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Oct 2011
Time Until Placement: 14 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: Yes
Child from China

mamaduck's Ratings:
Pros: Not many. We are grateful they represented our child and facilitated the match.

Cons: We are not strangers to adoption. This was the worst agency ever. I only gave 1 star because I can't give negative stars. The entire year was fraught with complete inefficiency -- you can't understand 90% of what the non-native English speaking employees are telling you. When you ask questions they send you to websites you already checked (commons sense). They don't KNOW anything you can't look up online yourself. The $ was grossly understated. China was a joke. Everyone was in it for a kick-back. We were basically deserted at the airport with no handicap access or working elevators. Guangzhou -- the representative was hardly even there. Again, everything seemed to revolve around kick backs, special accounts (resulting in $ being charged to my account that I was prepared to pay cash for)...routinely told "can't" or "that's how it's done". The travel liason was incredibly RUDE and basically told me I had no choice in the room, etc that I was paying for. Our special needs child was given to us with a bag full of candy and the clothes on her back. $3000 worth of dental bills because her foster fam. apparently was pocketing the medical/dental $ and no one checked up on that. The medical test that showed her "negative" for TB was a farce. Our pediatrician said she'll always test positive because she was vaccinated for TB. NO medical records, MRIS, nothing were provided for her. NOTHING. This is a special needs child. NO photos of her foster mother or family were allowed. RIDICULOUS. The whole experience was atrocious. I couldn't wait to get out of China. I couldn't wait to pay the last cent I owed the agency and turn in the last ppv report so we can wash our hands of this agency. Terrible terrible experience. Our child was not given any of the care packages we sent throughout the year until 2 weeks before we arrived. She didn't even recognize me when I was in the government office with her. When they told her she had to go with me, she screamed like someone was murdering her for an hour. I slept in front of the hotel door for 3 nights to keep her from escaping. She was NOT prepared at all. They tricked her and told her she was going to camp...and then one week into the "camp" at the orphanage, her foster family showed up and told her she was leaving in another week for the USA. She was FURIOUS at me. She kept picking up the phone and dialing her FM phone #. She had been told if she was bad she wouldn't get to go to the USA...so that's what she was doing!! We were led to believe she was being prepared for our arrival/for adoption for SOMETHING for the entire YEAR we waited...and nothing..nothing had been done...the toys we sent hadn't been removed from the boxes...the worst was her not having any photos of the people she loved as her family! The 2 disposable cameras we were told to send...were random shots they took of her all on the same day during the week she waited for us...she was furious in every photo. Bad, bad, bad experience. Thank god, she is doing great now. No thanks to any follow ups or help from the agency.

Reviews: Shop around for different agencies. I wish we would have asked more questions and talked with others that adopted through this agency.



Review by Kristinlinzy submitted on September, 13, 2011 at 08:07 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 1y 9m
Start Date: Apr 2010
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Jun 2011
Time Until Placement: 14 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: Yes
Child from Nanning, China

Kristinlinzy's Ratings:
Pros: CHSFS responded quickly to any questions or concerns we had. The in-country guides were outstanding. We were matched quickly - within 3 days of our Log in Date. I was very pleased with the service we received.

Cons: Really no complaints.

Reviews: This agency will give you conservative guidelines and their pre-adoption education educates you about extreme adoption scenerios. When comparing fees, please know that the information they gave us was right on with no last minute fees or surprises. I would much rather have a the worst case scenerio given (like CHSFS does) rather than be given overly optimistic information and be disappointed. I feel like they tend to under promise and over deliver. Please keep this in mind when comparing agencies.



Review by LisaMcCallum submitted on December, 11, 2007 at 05:35 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 1y 1m
Start Date: Sep 2001
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Dec 2001
Time Until Placement: 3 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Bryansk, Russian Federation

LisaMcCallum's Ratings:
Pros: Experienced agency that was well staffed and well informed on the process in Russia. Staff in Russia handled the process and logistics very well. No issues, as a result. Very happy with the outcome.

Cons: None.

Reviews: I highly recommend Children's Home Society and Family Services as an agency working in Russia.



Review by amland01 submitted on November, 12, 2007 at 01:19 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 6m
Start Date: Aug 2005
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Jun 2006
Time Until Placement: 10 months
Type: Semi-Open, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Addis Ababa, Ethiopia

amland01's Ratings:
Pros: The process was very smooth and went as planned! Good experience.

Cons: Communication was a serious issue with the agency. The program was so good, it was growing too fast for the staff to keep up with. They should have put new applications on hold until they had adequate staff.

Reviews: I would recommend.