Search Reviews | Top Rated Agencies | Add Your Review | Compare Agencies | Blog Join | Login  
Adoption Agency Reviews, Ratings, Rankings and Testimonials Adoption Agencies Reviews, Ratings, Rankings and Testimonials

Connections Adoption Services, Inc.

Po Box 182
71 Main Street, Suite A
Raymond, Maine 04170
United States
1-888-316-8575

http://www.connectionsadoptionservices.com/

Type: Private Agency


  Average Ratings
Based On All Reviews

Review by coreysinma submitted on February, 28, 2012 at 07:20 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Oct 2009
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Dec 2010
Time Until Placement: 14 months
Type: Semi-Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Kansas City, Missouri, United States

coreysinma's Ratings:
Pros: After not getting anywhere with several facilitators and deciding to sign up with Connections we were generally pleased. They seemed really excited to receive our application and said it shouldn't take long for us to be matched. It took 8 months for us to find the right (there were several options but not the right ones) match and they did well when we were matched. We appreciated them being on the calls with the biological family and helping with the conversation.

Cons: I would say the biggest con for us was the communication and lack of follow up. We have yet to receive a final statement and our adoption has been finalized for over a year. The agency is small and they seem to be quite busy, I still don't think that is an excuse for us having to "chase" them sometimes. The owner was usually available, she was generally easy to talk to, she isn't the warm fuzzy type and sometimes got situations confused. Overall they found us our little angel and for that we are eternally grateful however, when they send us holiday cards they address them "To Mr. _______ and son". We adopted a baby girl. For a small agency they should be more attentive to details. I'm pretty sure they owe us at least a couple of $100 dollars since we had money set aside for expenses that weren't used. We were so overwhelmed with joy once we had our daughter home we didn't follow up and they did not call us to check in. In fact they didn't even call once to see how we were doing, I e-mailed them to let them know they had sent us duplicate welcome home gifts (one ten months after the other). If you are looking for a detail oriented/hold your hand type of agency this is not your place. If you are looking for an agency that has a lot of connections and has a need for adoptive couples open to race then this is your place. Just know you will have to do a lot of following up and you will be mostly on yoru own when you travel/finalize your adoption. Thank goodness our lawyers in MI were so amazing.

Reviews: n/a



Review by pineseedling submitted on January, 21, 2010 at 12:11 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Jul 2009
Status: Homestudy and documentation
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Alabama, United States

pineseedling's Ratings:
Pros: None of the positives turned out to be true. We were told they had short match times (ours is 6 times the average wait and counting, currently), that they would "hold our hands" (complete opposite is true), and that their fees were reasonable (they promptly raised them after we applied and then tried to charge us for things they never said would cost extra). We applied because they were one of the few agencies that actually asks each birthmother if she's open to gay couples, but I do not know if they actually do this either, given our experience with their other claims.

Cons: We have been so disappointed with this agency. First they did not acknowledge our application. When I called to check in the very first time, instead of "hi, thanks for applying!", the owner Mary gave me a BLISTERING sermon about my preference for biracial over fully AA and never once asked about my many valid reasons for that. Isn't that kind of MY decision, since it's MY child? She is always pushy and rude every time I speak with her. Then we uploaded our profile to their website. From the beginning it was never complete. We must have asked hundreds of times in phone calls and emails for them to finish it or add to it. The one time they replied they wanted to charge us extra for it! Then they quit responding to our messages, period. For example, I got an adoption grant for which Connections needed to write me a letter saying I worked with them. No one replied, no one did this. They act like we're bothering them each time we call. Then they say no one's there who can answer our questions and they'll call back -- they never do. No emails are ever acknowledged or returned. They have caused us much heartache and disappointment. They promised us a match within a month (for an AA baby). It's been 6. We know it's probably because we're a same sex couple and we asked them to update their literature to reflect the longer wait times for gay couples. I'm sure they won't. Now that they've raised their rates and treated us like this we will not renew our contract in July.

Reviews: If possible, try to avoid speaking with Mary, the owner. I called two of their references and they had glowing things to say about the other employees, (most of whom have now left, which explains a lot, because they're obviously understaffed).



Review by blueschiz submitted on August, 31, 2009 at 06:48 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Feb 2009
Status: Placement
Completion Date: Jul 2009
Time Until Placement: 5 months
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Salina, Kansas, United States

blueschiz's Ratings:
Pros: Connections is a very supportive agency that was completely organized, thorough, competent and accountable. Mary Guiseley and her staff acted professionally at all times and were honest about every aspect of the adoption from the birth mother's situation to the financial records. We always felt comfortable, and even when unexpected difficulties arose they worked very hard to make sure that we did not lose our situation.

Cons: I can think of no negatives about this agency and wish that we could afford another adoption so that we could work with them again.

Reviews: In two adoptions we worked with 5 agencies and this is the only one of the five that I can recommend whole heartedly. The social workers that we worked with were professional and supportive at all times. I was given a cell phone number and a way to reach them any time I needed to and they were never resentful about talking to me. I spoke at length with the owner of the agency several times and she helped us resolve a situation with a different agency even though she had no need to do so. The lawyer they recommended in the state of adoption was also competent and thorough. Five months after placement I feel I could still call them if I needed to. All in all Connections Adoption Services is the type of agency that others should aspire to be.