Search Reviews | Top Rated Agencies | Add Your Review | Compare Agencies | Blog Join | Login  
Adoption Agency Reviews, Ratings, Rankings and Testimonials Adoption Agencies Reviews, Ratings, Rankings and Testimonials

Family To Family Adoption

1000 Austin Street
Suite B
Richmond, Texas 77469
United States


http://

Type: Private Agency


  Average Ratings
Based On All Reviews

Review by Brandon submitted on September, 25, 2010 at 01:21 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Oct 2008
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Dec 2009
Time Until Placement: 14 months
Type: Open, Domestic, Intrastate
Special Needs: No
Child from Texas, United States

Brandon's Ratings:
Pros: *Caring Staff *Full Service Adoption Agency *Responds to questions quickly

Cons: None

Reviews: Family to Family Adoptions in Richmond, Texas is a wonderful adoption agency. This full service agency assisted us with the open adoption of our new born son. Family to Family worked with us through 2 failed matches but continued to encourage us until a successful match/placement was obtained. Our process was incredibly emotional but the entire staff supported us throughout our adoption journey. Each member of the Family to Family staff showed integrity and compassion in dealing with us during the pre and post adoption process. In addition, Family to Family takes great pride in working with traditional couples, singles and gay and lesbian families. In my opinion, Family to Family Adoptions is one of the best adoptions agencies in the United States. FYI... The following 10 factors need to be considering before beginning the adoption process or choosing an adoption agency: 1. A Birthmother's relinquishment can never be guaranteed! It's a Birthmother's right to decide to parent her child. There is no legal/ethical way an adoption agency can manage the potential risk associated with a match or placement. An adoption agency has no control over a birthmother's decision to relinquish. 2. No guarantees can ever be made in relationship to adoptive family wait times. Time lines are based on historical facts and your adoption will take place in the future. Birthmothers come and go from adoption agencies freely. The number of birthmothers actively signed onto a single adoption agency can fluctuate daily. 3. The more matching restrictions you stipulate the less your profile will be shown to potential birthmothers. Be honest with yourself about what your are willing to accept in a child. Always remember that every child has the potential to develop birth defect in utero. Your matching criteria has no control over the long term health, psychological outcome or safe delivery. Your matching criteria can not control the health risks that may develop over your child's lifetime. 4. Adoption is expensive! Know what you can afford and be honest with yourself. Find the agency that meets you needs and budget. 5. Do not rush into anything! Read the agency's contract and meet the agency's Director and staff. Arrange a private face to face meeting before financial commitments are funded. 6. All agencies are not created equal! You need to ensure that you are working with a "full services" adoption agency to limit your potential risk. 7. Every adoption situation is different! 8. Every Birthmother has complex needs! 9. Every potential adoptive family has a great risk of experiencing financial loss and psychological trauma due to failed matches and/or placements. 10. No guarantees can be made in relationship to the adoption process or any potential adoption situations.



Review by hershey123 submitted on September, 3, 2010 at 02:36 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Jan 2000
Status: Homestudy and documentation
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Texas, United States

hershey123's Ratings:
Pros: I am Maxine L. Seiler, LCSW, the founder and director of Family to Family Adoptions and I am making this review to set the record straight on the July 11 review from Brian Anthony. Mr Anthony called us in June stating that he worked for the FBI and that he and his wife had been trying to adopt for some time and had been "ripped off" by agencies and attorneys and was looking for an honest professional in the adoption community. I and my staff members spoke to him honestly and sent him all of the placement statistics from the inception of our domestic program in Jan 2002 through April 1, 2010 which included time lines. Our website has our contract and all of our adoptive family (and birth mother ) packet except our references and our fee schedules. So I sent him those and answered any questions that he might have as fully and honestly as possible. Yet, for some reason he has chosen to misrepresent our agency and its policies. I am going to explain and show where he is either misrepresenting our agency on purpose or from ingorance of the adoption process: 1) Our time lines for 269 placements (1/1/02 trhough 4/1/10): Contract to match 172 days, Contract to Placement 214 days. 2) Our fee schedules are avaialable upon request by e-mail and the guaranteed living expenses for the birth mother and the agency fee does not come near $48,000. He knows this because I sent them to him. 3) He states we do no risk management for the adoptive family. What does he not understand about a GUARANTEED BIRTH MOTHER LIVING EXPENSES which is not paid until placement 4) He states that we STRONGLY SUGGEST a client uses our profile service. WE DON'T HAVE A PROFILE SERVICE. I sent him a 1 page outline of tips for doing the family profile. 5) He asked if we had ever been sued and we honestly told him yes, which is common in the work we do. Each time we do a placement we file two (2) lawsuits to terminate the rights of the birth mother and the birth father (sometimes several fathers). In 8 years we have had 2 birth fathers counter sue us for custody of the child and in both cases we prevailed in court after jury trials. WE were honest with Brian and he has misconstrued everything we told him. He indicates that he has seen the court records of the only family that ever sued us and that the judge indicates that our fees were too high. This is a falsehood entirely. Fees did not come into this judgement and he had no access to those files. He made that up. The judge said even though the client had not paid us our fees, that he was ruling in their favor that we had to consent for the adoption. We did the adoption for 2 children for $7500 and the family paid us $3,000 and owed $4500. 6) NASW has no ratio of 1:1 for birth mothers to waiting families. This is a made up statistic. Birth mothers need a choice of families and a good ratio should be 3 or 4 families per birth mother for her to have a good choice. Today, we are working with 14 mothers and have 19 families on our active list. I don't see how he can say our ratio is too high. 7) He talks about 2 or more families chasing one birth mother and I think he is confusing independent adoption or internet adoption with working with a licensed agency. 8) He indicates that we put our mothers on Medicaid and then charge the families for their medical expenses. 99% of our mothers qualify for Medicaid and I don't want anyone going into child birth without insurance if at all possible. We rarely have a family that pays anything torward the medical expenses of a mother in our agency because most are covered by Medicaid which is the way all agencies work. I don't understand why this man has made up all of these lies about our agency. I think he must have confused us with some other agencies he was contacting at the same time. If anyone would like to read our adoptive family packet it is on our website with the exception of our fee schedules and our references and those are available upon request. Thank you, Maxine L. Seiler, LCSW

Cons: None

Reviews: None



Review by banthonyus submitted on July, 11, 2010 at 08:39 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Sep 2009
Status: Homestudy and documentation
Type: Semi-Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Unknown, Georgia, United States

banthonyus's Ratings:
Pros: This agency has successful adoption, but also has numerous failures.

Cons: Promised placement time was 6 to 9 months. Very little evidence that this agency meets this time frame. - Estimated adoption fees $48,000. - Estimate Home study and background checks $10,000. - Estimate finalization was $3000. Total estimated adoption costs: $61,000 Executive Director stated that she will NOT guarantee any estimated placement time. She also stated that all adoptions are a risk. Her adoption agency does not manage risk for potential adoptive families. Strongly suggests that potential adoptive families utilize her profile writing service. She did not explain why her profile writing server was better than other professional writing services. This agency admits to being sued three times: Twice by birth fathers with criminal records and once by adoptive families over agency fees. The agency won both of the birth father cases. Judge ruled in both cases that the birth fathers are unsuitable as fathers and involuntary terminated parental rights. The judge in the adoptive family case ruled against the agency. The agency stated that the judge stated “it was in the best interest of the children to deny the adoption agency demand for additional funds.” My review of the judge's order shows that the judge believes the Family to Family Adoption's fees are excessive. (Average adoption fees for a complete adoption in the US are $20,000.) Additionally, the amount of money paid to birth mothers is excessive (In excess of $10,000). A federal agent who has investigated numerous adoption fraud cases, recommended a couple of tests to separate the marketing from reality. First test was a ratio test between numbers of potential adoptive families versus birth mothers. National Association of Social Workers (NASW) recommends a ratio of 1:1 for birth mothers to potential adoptive parents. The executive director for this agency admitted to a ratio of 1:3 ratio (Birth mother (BM) to Potential Adoptive Families(PAF) The FBI grows concerned about the ethical behavior when the ratio is approaching 1:2 (BM/PAF) Two or more adoptive families chasing one birth mother often leads to un-ethical situations. Executive Director refused to discuss BM/PAF ratios. She states she is a state licensed social worker and adheres to all NASW ethical mandates. Second test relates to the amount of money spend on birth mothers for birth related expenses. Adoptions in which the birth mother is paid reasonable birth mother expenses (less than $2,500) completed their adoption plan. These birth mothers are more concerned with finding a good home for these children. When the birth mother expenses are more than $10,000 the birth mothers are looking for new avenues to increase their available wealth and usually do NOT complete their birth plan. Executive director for this agency refused to comment on this observation by the US government. Third test relates to amount of money spent on birth mother’s medical expenses. The US government has numerous programs to provide birth mothers with medical care, housing and food assistance. Many adoption agency dislike applying for these government programs due to the oversight these government programs require. Thus, the test is whether or not the adoption agencies requires the potential adoptive family pay for the birth mother medical expenses, including any expenses not covered by Medicaid or private insurance. This can lead to unethical behavior. Billing both Medicaid and the potential adoptive families is the most common fraud scheme. Other types of fraud include charging potential adoptive families for materials/services not covered by Medicaid/Insurance. Also, after birth care pass 4 week for vaginal birth or 6 weeks for c-sections are NOT allowed in numerous states. Executive director for this agency states they require adoptive families to pay all medical expenses of the birth mother. They will apply for Medicaid, but state that Medicaid does not work for all adoptive situations. As a result of this interview of the agency, I cannot recommend this agency due to numerous red flags. Agency fees are excessive compared to the national average, birth mother expenses are excessive compared to adoptions with successful outcomes, and liability the potential adoptive family is exposed to is excessive. This adoption agency does not assist potential adoptive families manage these risks.

Reviews: Best wishes and good luck.



Review by lewis submitted on September, 24, 2009 at 12:50 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Jan 2007
Status: Withdrew voluntarily
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Alabama, United States

lewis's Ratings:
Pros: none

Cons: Agency promised placements of 6 to 9 months. They could not even come close. They have too many families and not enough birthmothers. I asked if they could cap the amount of waiting families and they told me their obligation was to the birthmother and to have as many families from her to pick from as possible. I found the staff to be unsapportive and disorganized. I was advised from the agency itself that they had a very high number of failed matches this year.

Reviews: This agency is very expensive for what they have to offer. We found an agency in Alabama that caps the waiting families at 25 and requires an initail signing fee of $1000. I will post the name after we have been placed and rate this agency as well.



Review by lewis submitted on September, 23, 2009 at 06:46 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Jan 2007
Status: Homestudy and documentation
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Texas, United States

lewis's Ratings:
Pros: NONE

Cons: THIS AGENCY HAS TOO MANY WAITING FAMILIES AND NOT ENOUGH BIRTH MOTHERS. THEY HAVE SO MANY FAMILIES THAT THEY CAN NOT IDENTIFY YOU WHEN YOU CALL. IT WILL TAKE THEM 10 MINUTES WHILE THEY TRACK DOWN YOUR FILE. THEY HAVE MISPLACED DOCUMENTATION RESULTING IN A LONGER PROCESSING TIME. THEY CLAIM PLACEMENTS OF 6 TO 9 MONTHS, BUT THEY DO NOT COME THROUGH. THEY ARE VERY EXPENSIVE FOR WHAT THEY OFFER. THE STAFF IS NEITHER SAPPORTIVE OR HELPFUL.

Reviews: CHECK WITH THE LOCAL BETTER BUISINESS BUREAU AND LICENSING OF ANY ADOPTION AGENCY YOU CHOOSE. iF YOU ARE HEARING BAD REVIEWS ABOUT AN AGENY THEN BEWARE. FAMILIES ARE NOT MAKING THIS STUFF UP. THIS AGENCY HAS ALSO HAD ALOT OF FAILED MATCHES. DONT LET THIS HAPPEN TO YOU. THIS AGENY DOES NEED TO LOCK YOU IN WITH LARGE INITIAL FEES. WHY ARE THERE OTHER AGENYS THAT DONT HAVE TO DO THIS? WE FINALLY FOUND AN AGENCY IN ALABAMA THAT ONLY CHARGES AN INITAIL FEE OF $500. THEY WILL NOT TAKE ON MORE THAN 25 FAMILIES. PLEASE SEARCH THE INTERNET AND DO YOUR HOMEWORK AND GOOD LUCK.



Review by Tafadzwa submitted on September, 22, 2009 at 08:01 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Feb 2008
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Nov 2008
Time Until Placement: 9 months
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Texas, United States

Tafadzwa's Ratings:
Pros: We have our 19 month old daughter because of Family To Family. We have a wonderful open adoption with her birthfamily, and her birthgrandmother still calls the social worker we worked with. Our birthmother was happy with her experience. We're in the waiting pool with Family to Family again for our second adoption. I can't speak on anyone else's experience, but ours was brilliant. Maybe we were lucky, I don't know. Negative reviews about this agency seem to have to do with too many waiting families - unless you are planning to entice birthmothers somehow, the agency has no power over who picks up a phone and calls them wanting to make an adoption plan. That's placing blame in the wrong place. And it is very true that the more disciminating you are in your selections, the fewer times you will be shown to birthmothers. Don't get upset about it if you make that choice. We were very open with our options, and ended up with a child who was exactly what we hoped for. And it's no secret that when you sign a contract, you agree to the terms. Family To Family is very up-front in everything they do. The women who work there are so great, and we still call to chat and attend their yearly picnic, even though we are many states away from TX. The agency has a family feel to it. It is small and personal. We really had a great experience - which is why we are going with them again.

Cons: We didn't have any problems.

Reviews: A wonderful agency that made us a family. You can do all the research you want, but the final decision you make is yours. We are very, very happy we chose Family To Family.



Review by tina submitted on September, 21, 2009 at 08:22 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Sep 2007
Status: Withdrew voluntarily
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Texas, United States

tina's Ratings:
Pros: none

Cons: This Agency has too many families. They advertise a placement of 6 to 9 months. Their stats are way off. In one years time they only showed our profile twice. When I spoke to the director I was advised that it was my fault because I did not accept birthmoithers who used drugs or had a history of mental illness. Their initial contract fee is too high. I did not realize at the time that there are agencies out there that do not need to lock you in with large deposits. Such as Adoption Choices of Colorado. Which has a start up fee of $500. Beware of Agencies that need to lock you in with a large deposit. Chances are they have too because they can not live up to their promises and would go out of business otherwise. Also beware of Agencies with fancy websites. These websites are meant to attract families NOT BIRTH MOTHERS. They are spending your money looking for more families, not more birthmothers to show your profile too. Also beware of agencies that travel for adoption conferences. Again they are spending their money and time searching for families and not birthmothers.

Reviews: Please learn from my mistake and choose agencies that charge a small start up fee. Avoid an agency that charges $2000 or more before they will ever show your profile. Agencies like Adoption Choices of Colorado and Adoption Centre of Kansas have very low start up fees and for the price of one of the larger agencies like Familiy to Family you can join several of these other agencies. This will allow you to be shown to more Birth mothers and give you a better chance at a speady placement.