Search Reviews | Top Rated Agencies | Add Your Review | Compare Agencies | Blog Join | Login  
Adoption Agency Reviews, Ratings, Rankings and Testimonials Adoption Agencies Reviews, Ratings, Rankings and Testimonials

Heart Of Adoptions, Inc.

1604 South Bumby Ave
Orlando, Florida 32806
United States
407-898-8280
nicole@heartofadoptions.com
http://www.floridaadoptionagency.com/contact_us.htm

Type: Private Agency


  Average Ratings
Based On All Reviews

Review by jennandcory submitted on April, 16, 2012 at 11:29 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Aug 2010
Status: Finalized
Type: Semi-Open, Domestic, Intrastate
Special Needs: No
Child from Florida, United States

jennandcory's Ratings:
Pros: Their communication was amazing! That was the best thing about them as an agency. They were always there to answer any and every question, from start to finish. We've been finalized for almost a year, and I still call them sometimes with questions!

Cons: I really didn't have any cons, because anytime anything concerned me, it was taken care of.

Reviews: They are extremely personable. They pride themselves on getting to know the birth moms, and they are very careful to not let adoptive parents get taken advantage of. This was one of my main concerns. I feel they have as much love for the adoptive parents as they do for the birth moms. It is truly 50/50!



Review by ajgar31 submitted on June, 28, 2011 at 02:49 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Mar 2010
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Jun 2011
Time Until Placement: 15 months
Type: Semi-Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Clermont, Florida, United States

ajgar31's Ratings:
Pros: The Orlando office of Heart of Adoptions, Inc. is staffed with amazing people! Through the entire process they were extremely supportive, knowledgeable and encouraging. I would highly recommend anyone considering adoption use this agency. They are all very professional, caring and an over all class act!

Cons: No problems at all.

Reviews: Please see pros comments. We are very pleased with our experience.



Review by mpasch submitted on May, 20, 2011 at 05:45 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Jul 2010
Status: Placement
Type: Open, Domestic, Intrastate
Special Needs: No
Child from Alabama, United States

mpasch's Ratings:
Pros: HOA has been amazing. I always trust my gut and the moment I met Nicole in the Orlando office I was sold. Never before have a met such a dedicated group of people who work to treat the birthparents and adoptive parents so kindly. They held my hand through the ups and downs and eventually connected us with our beautiful daughter and birth mom.I would highly recommend this agency to anyone considering adoption. I am honored to have these men and women be a part of the story I will tell my daughter:)

Cons: The only negative was that we had a failed match. This was certainly not the agencies fault. However, I wish I had more emotional support during this time. That being said, the time they didn't spend on emotional support was made up for the quick work in finding us a second match. The agency made certain it was a more secure match for us. In the end I'm glad they put the effort there instead of on me:)

Reviews: We worked with the Orlando, Tampa and Naples offices. They are all amazing. I don't believe that we will be adopting again (2 children are a lot!) but if we did we would go through them in a heartbeat.



Review by StanleyKroh submitted on May, 20, 2011 at 12:05 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 4y 4m
Start Date: Jan 2000
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Feb 2011
Time Until Placement: 133 months
Type: Open, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Ho Chi Min, Vietnam

StanleyKroh's Ratings:
Pros: Malinda was great to work with and quickly found answers to any questions she could not answer. She interacated well with the entire family and helped us navigate the uncharted territory of 2nd parent gay adoptions in Florida. She was a wonderful ally in our quest to complete our family.

Cons: None

Reviews: see above



Review by jocobbe submitted on January, 20, 2011 at 08:59 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Sep 2010
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Dec 2010
Time Until Placement: 3 months
Type: Open, Domestic, Intrastate
Special Needs: No
Child from Naples, Florida, United States

jocobbe's Ratings:
Pros: This is our second time using Heart of Adoptions, and we could not have picked a better agency!!! They are very knowledgable, fair, and equally supportive of the birth family and adoptive family. We waited less than a year for both children. I don't hear many people say that both of their adoptions went smoothly, and ours did. I would highly recommend this agency!!!

Cons: Can't think of any. I have heard people complain that they are a little pricey, but you get what you pay for :). I have heard of many adoptions that were much more expensive than ours.

Reviews: We have used both the Naples office and the Tampa office for our adoptions, and we loved both. The staff at both locations are very helpful and knowledgable.



Review by guest submitted on January, 20, 2011 at 08:10 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Apr 2007
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Oct 2009
Time Until Placement: 30 months
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Orlando, Florida, United States

guest's Ratings:
Pros: The Social Worker (Ashley) who handled our case was very personable and patient. She was always happy to answer our questions and politely reminded us of things that we had forgotten or missed in our excitement and anticipation. The Attorney Nicole was likewise very helpful and truly caring in her approach. I spoke to several other attorneys early in the process which gave me the impression that for them it was all about the money. By contrast, Nicole was clearly driven by making the birth mother comfortable with her decision and getting the child into the best home. The Execute Director (Bridget) was very personable and accessible through the process and politley handeled our frustration when our patience was running thin. Overall HOA tended to minimize the business aspect of adoption and emphasized the human aspects, treating the birth mother and the adoptive parents with respect and dignity through the very emotional process. Again, this was a distinct contrast to the impression recieved from other potential providers and stories we had heard from others who had adopted.

Cons: We have nothing negative to say about Heart of Adoptions

Reviews: Ashley was at the hospital the day we took the baby home. It was a long day; there were many delays with the hospital staff. Ashley was her usual caring self and never got flustered. To the contrary, she kept all of us calm during the waiting throughout the day. Nicole was also there for much of the afternoon. HOA's caring and professional staff made the journey more positive from start to finish.



Review by act4kids submitted on January, 16, 2011 at 05:06 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Jan 2010
Status: Placement
Type: Semi-Open, Domestic, Intrastate
Special Needs: No
Child from Naples, Fl, Florida, United States

act4kids's Ratings:
Pros: Staff was very supportive and available for communication during the short(seem like forever to me)turnaround period from Match to Birth. When my baby's hospital release was pushed back a day, my caseworker's stepped up to secure me private access to him for most of the night. It was great to have the opportunity to bond with him for hours before he was released.

Cons: No real problems, Im just waiting to hear from them on the next step to finalization, how long that will be? etc. In fairness, I know all I have to do is reach out to them.

Reviews: Heart of Adoptions has several agency's in Fl that all communicate. I felt that made my wait time shorter. I originally signed with one location but it was the Naples location that came through with the perfect match for me!



Review by Mariap1 submitted on January, 12, 2011 at 02:19 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Jul 2010
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Aug 2010
Time Until Placement: 1 months
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Orlando, Florida, United States

Mariap1's Ratings:
Pros: The positive aspects I expeienced during my adopiton process with this agency was everything I needed, I recieved immediately. Same for the questions, if there was anything I wanted to know about all I had to do was ask and I shortly recieved my answers. I loved the fact that with the agency I controlled what kind of family I wanted my child to be apart of. Daneille was very helpful and understanding towards the criteria for the family I had in mind. The agency was also very helpful with other things too, for example, my mother was very low on money for gas so to make sure we had no kind of trouble with getting to doctor appointments and important meetings with the agency about the process, Daneille helped with that situation by providing my mother with gas money. It was also made completely easy for me to come into contact with the agency or Daneille when ever something came up. Daneille made it so that the whole process was very comfortable for me. They also made sure that even after the whole process was finalizd they still keep in touch and ask how everything's turning out for me and about my well-being.

Cons: There really was nothing I could ever complain about towards the agency. The whole process was made easy and 100 percent comfortable. I have not one complaint towards and/or against the Heart Of Adoptions inc.

Reviews: If anyone was pregnant and needed to know if they had another option or they knew they couldn't provide everything their child needed and wanted to give them a better future, I would strongly recommend Heart Of Adoptions inc. Also if anyone would like to contact this agency and/or Daneille Stewart then the information is below. Daneille D. Stewart Heart of Adoptions, Inc. 5633 Strand Boulevard, Suite 316 Naples, Florida 34110 Phone (239) 594-2830 Fax (239) 594-2838



Review by katedids74 submitted on January, 11, 2011 at 01:50 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Aug 2008
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Feb 2009
Time Until Placement: 6 months
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Sanford, Florida, United States

katedids74's Ratings:
Pros: There are too many Pros to list about Heart of Adoption. If you want an agency that treats you like family, this is the agency. They are kind compassionate, reasonably priced, and they help you every step of the way. They make what can be a very difficult process and make it easier.

Cons: We have had no negative experiences with Heart of Adoption.

Reviews: Ashley Sutton (Case Worker) and Nicole (Attorney) at Heart of Adoptions we both extremely wonderful to work with. We did not find out birth mother through Heart of Adoption but since our birth mother was in FL, this was the agency referred to us to complete the adoption process. The Process up to that point had not been easy and we were more than thrilled to find both Ashley and Nicole in Orlando. They were very calm, thorough and compassionate. They were not only good with us but very good with our birth mother. The fees associated with Heart of Adoption seemed fair and in line with other agencies we contacted. There is a lot of paper work, money and emotional stress that goes into this process and Heart of Adoptions helped ease all of these burdens. Eventhough we did not use Heart of Adoption to find our birth mother the first time, we would definitely use them when we adopt again for all aspects of the adoption process. Ashley and Nicole both are so kind and caring, we consider them friends.



Review by tomassoni submitted on January, 10, 2011 at 06:57 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Aug 2010
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Dec 2010
Time Until Placement: 4 months
Type: Semi-Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Orlando, Florida, United States

tomassoni's Ratings:
Pros: They were wonderful in every way. We knew from our first meeting that this was the place for us.

Cons: n/a

Reviews: I would recommend this agency to all my friends who are wanting to adopt.



Review by mindyj625 submitted on October, 20, 2010 at 08:33 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: May 2009
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Aug 2009
Time Until Placement: 3 months
Type: Semi-Open, Domestic, Intrastate
Special Needs: No
Child from Florida, United States

mindyj625's Ratings:
Pros: We chose Heart of Adoptions based on the referral of a friend and we could not be happier with our choice. We had done a ton of research on agencies for both domestic and international adoption. There is no question in our minds that we chose the right agency. The staff is extremely experienced and they know what they are doing. We felt completely confident in every aspect from the home study, to interactions with our birth mother, to the legal support we received. There was not one staff person who we felt was less than terrific. They know exactly what they are doing and they took care of us and most importantly, they took care of our birth mother every step of the way. We loved how well they treated our birth mother and how respectful they were to her throughout the entire process. Since adopting our son from Heart of Adoptions, we have referred 5 other families to them. All have had successful placements and all sing their praises too!

Cons: I seriously cannot think of one con. The price was very fair, the staff is terrific, the legal support is top notch and we plan to use them again to adopt our next child.

Reviews: There are many agencies out there. This one is one of the best. Don't think twice about using them. If you do use them, trust them. They are the experts and they will guide you through the entire process. Take their advice and guidance and they will take help you find the child of your dreams.



Review by adoptivemommy submitted on September, 15, 2009 at 09:11 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Sep 2008
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Jan 2009
Time Until Placement: 4 months
Type: Semi-Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: Yes
Child from Orlando, Florida, United States

adoptivemommy's Ratings:
Pros: The homestudy worker Susan Major was wonderful to work with. So friendly and helpful!

Cons: Lots of problems Originally fees were to be $16K. Agency contacted us with possible match and said fees would be $17K. We agreed and then later they told us we were matched and fees would be $19k-$20K. I expressed my concern about the fees continually going up and they assured me that they would NOT be more then the $20K. The fees ended up being closer to $25K when you include the homestudy and application fees. They basically said that if we wanted to finalize our adoption we had to pay the $25K. :( On the day the baby was born nobody from the agency met with us at the hospital. I knew that they would not be meeting us but it did cause some problems. Hospital was not aware of the letter sent by the agency stating that the birthmother wanted us to be treated as bio parents in regards to visiting the baby and visiting hours. The staff was not really willing to work with on this because none of them seen this letter that was in the file. :( After the placement we were told that we should send 8-10 pictures at each interval. We did that and then later on we were told that they really meant 20 pictures at each interval and that we had better send them. I did not like the way this was handled. Very unprofessional. Another issue we had with them was that the birthmother was on medicaid and we believe that medicaid should have been responsible for the medical bills. For whatever reason the bills were sent to us. We were told to pay them upfront and to get reimbursed from our insurance company. This turned out to be a HUGE ordeal and we still have not received all the money. The staff was not very helpful in helping us recover that money. I will say that when I contacted the attorney in the Tampa office she seemed to take my concerns very seriously and did what she could to help me resolve some of the issues. And hopefully she has worked with her staff so that these issues do not come up again in the future.

Reviews: n/a