Search Reviews | Top Rated Agencies | Add Your Review | Compare Agencies | Blog Join | Login  
Adoption Agency Reviews, Ratings, Rankings and Testimonials Adoption Agencies Reviews, Ratings, Rankings and Testimonials

Independent Adoption Center


Pleasant Hill, California
United States


http://www.adoptionhelp.org

Type: Public Agency


  Average Ratings
Based On All Reviews

Review by jtheisen submitted on March, 25, 2016 at 12:00 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Aug 2014
Status: Finalized
Type: Open, Domestic, Intrastate
Special Needs: No
Child from Bakersfield, California, United States

jtheisen's Ratings:
Pros: Our experience with IAC was great. There were times that we got frustrated with the process, and at times we directed that frustration at IAC, but in hindsight we really are pretty satisfied with the agency. We learned a lot about adoption in the process, and I don't think that would have happened if we went the attorney route, which we were considering. We were very impressed with the counseling team and the workshop that we started the process with. There were ups and downs after that, but overall the experience was pretty good. As one example, we got really discouraged when some of our friends we met thru IAC started finishing their adoptions through facilitators. We lost a bit of hope then, but kept pushing on. Within a month or so, we got a match through IAC. In total it took us just under 2 years to adopt. Most of that was waiting time, but some of it was also due to the home study and adoption letter time. Adoption is hard, it took a lot of work that was at times exhausting and frustrating.

Cons: The letter writing process was difficult. Their website is a little out of date, but apparently they're working on that.

Reviews: I would recommend IAC to anyone thinking about adopting. I would also be candid about how difficult adoption is, but, if you're ready to be a family and adoption is your choice, you can trust IAC to help you through the difficult times.



Review by Jeff114 submitted on November, 25, 2015 at 07:25 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Jan 2014
Status: Referral received
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from San Francisco, California, United States

Jeff114's Ratings:
Pros: Nothing positive

Cons: - IAC is taking in more adoptive parents (clients) on an annual basis while their finalized adoption numbers decline, creating an imbalance in their business that cannot be recovered from and that puts all client paid fees at risk, IAC will not be able to deliver services to many families having already invested over $20,000 per couple. - IAC accepts fees from clients that they know will never be matched to a birthmother to facilitate an adoption and they do not refund these fees completely when services are not delivered. Greg Kuehl, the board president admitted this to us in a conversation that was recorded. - When clients raise issues regarding the agency's lack of service delivery, the agency retaliates against clients at the direction of Ann Wrixon, the executive director and deny services to an even greater extent or threaten to "exit" client from the program. This happened to my family at least twice, all documented via email. - Since 2012 the number of waiting adoptive families (clients) has increased from less than 400 to almost 600 while the number of annual completed adoptions has decreased from 180 to 160 (2015) per year. With this trend, if IAC stopped taking in new clients (meaning no new revenue), it would take the company over three years to work through their current waiting client list, which is financially impossible to do, the company would go bankrupt first - this is a Ponzi scheme and unsustainable. - Despite the fact that wait time for adoptive families has gone from an average of 11 months in 2012 to a median of close to 20 months in 2015, the agency continues to advertise using deceptive terms such as "Adopt a Baby Quickly" in search and online - false and misleading advertising. the agency also quotes wait time averages from 2006 - 2014 in multiple places on their websites which totally distorts the reality of current trends, why not show 2014 statistics? In summary, IAC is preying on families' desire to create families while mismanaging the agency finances in a way that makes the organization unsustainable over the near term, putting 500+ families at risk of losing their $20,000 commitment to IAC. The agency is abusive to clients and threatens to hold back adoption services or to put adoptions at risk if you raise issues with mgmt. Formal complaints have been filed with the CA State Attorney General's Office and I know of many other families filing in their respective states.

Reviews:



Review by Guest submitted on October, 7, 2015 at 05:26 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Jan 2000
Status: Homestudy and documentation
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Other, nothing

Guest's Ratings:
Pros: The homestudy process went OK. The agency does put effort into educating people about open adoption. Sometimes I think they over idealize open adoption but the education is basically good.

Cons: This agency is very top heavy with waiting to adopt clients, and their adoptions are coming at a slow rate. Many people end up hiring additional professionals to find expectant moms, since the IAC's marketing is not effective. I believe they have had approximately 177 adoptions in a year, yet they have 580+ waiting families. They say their average wait time is 18 months. How is that possible? Many waiting people give up and drop out of the process entirely or spend $$$ to hire facilitators, consultants, or lawyers to help them find a match. The IAC's averaging of wait times leaves out people who abandon the process after many years of waiting. Also, matches made with facilitators and other professionals are counted as IAC adoptions in their stats if they provide assist after the match is made, which blurs their stats. IAC tells waiting families to put their full names out there publicly and to create blogs, Facebook pages, and also to purchase advertising on paid adoption sites. They make it so the waiting families stress out and work hard trying desperately to find a match. The IAC does not present this reality of what they do and do not provide to prospective customers who hope to adopt. Also, you do pay a substantial amount up front, I believe at least 13K to work with them in most cases. I would not recommend this agency to anyone who is hoping to adopt.

Reviews:



Review by guest submitted on July, 7, 2015 at 11:32 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Jun 2013
Status: Homestudy and documentation
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Alabama, United States

guest's Ratings:
Pros: At first lots of communication but as soon as they get bulk of upfront fees it slows and slows. It's always you need to do this or that or net work , more or "I have never known anyone not to dope as long as they don't give up. You go through reviews on letters and are told the one you did 18 moths to two years ago is all wrong and outdated yet it was beautiful when you submit it and wait weeks and months to clear, have someone design, and print and get in circulation. You pay for design person as IAC does not. Limited design options if you try to tackle yourself. ,

Cons: Was given bad information on an agency to place ad to get our names out that would not place ad aa couple because we were gay and not married in the state we lived but we're married in a state that recognized our marriage. IAC did stop using agency after we complained bitterly about this. They need to set up an active communication with clients at least quarterly to review everything. I resented being asked when I questioned once the 18 month level I was originally told sent a red flag if not adopted by then that I misunderstood and be patient as "I have never known anyone not to adopt if they don't give up". You just don't get straight answers on many questions like that. Plus being asked if it is too stressful would I like my profile to be taken down they would be glad to do it. Whether they meant it that way it was like saying can we take you off the list so we can move on to next new person. That was asked more than once. I contacted them after several weeks to set up an appointment to come to Atlanta to discuss our concerns and finally they reached out by phone. When I told a counselor who was assigned to us I was astonished no one had yet to check on us knowing things went array and how deeply we were hurt other than a rushed call we asked for she seemed like she was in utter shock anyone would feel that way. A footnote here they constantly talk about the Mother being treated with care and respect and a client gets done this way. What does the Mother experience? I researched and researched and this agency had a great record in past but I do question if they have expanded and can deliver on promise with so many offices and clients with a limited number of children available. I do hope to be able one day to write and say the experience improved as their were wonderful people in their Indianapolis office that helped us on some things and actually caught a couple of scam artists for us. I believe her name was Kim and she talked us through starting to work on the adoption that failed and so many of her insights were valid and on target. The service varies by location as I dealt with three different ones plus their main office on a topic and the people make the center. As time has dragged by I have come to realize you do all the hard work and they do tell you to network up front but do little else until a match and you will get a birth match bill in 24 to 48 hours. They can invoice like a bolt of lightning. It is money driven as others have stated. It's sad as many older clients raved about them. My suggestion is unless some things get addressed there on a fundamental level save your money and take a loan and do a surrogate or lawyer or private adoption as our friends have had so much more luck going that route. We are still a client in hopes of having success with them and they do have some very good people scattered around just do major research and call people who are using or recently used. If they do not give you that information move on. We were naive and trusted internet reviews and reputation that just does not match up to their actions in general. They could be of great benefit to many adoptive people if they would be realistic and tailor there service to be able to have enough Mothers and Parents to match. We have spent almost three years between first meeting and now and while we have learned by trail and error. We do not feel like we got near the assistance and concern promised. I would love to write a letter in future stating things changed and we had success working with them but this creeping feeling keeps in my mind it's always going to be you didn't do this or that or your profile is too open or not open enough etc.... Good luck to all you ladies and/or gentleman single or together looking to find a little one to make your family.

Reviews: We had fiailed adoption that was deeply painful that fell apart the night we were doing a plan to meet parents at hospital when baby came due. We were communicating with them directly and IAC asked us to give them time to think for a week or so - so we did and never heard from them after that. Later the mother wrote on her own to tell us the child was ok. I think what hurt so much is this is devastating and no one called us the next day to see how we were except people handling adoption for IAC out of state because they did not have office there. We made A call very early the morning after as we cried all night and we were deeply distraught and about 45 minutes before they closed someone did call back and I could not take call at the time as was in an appoinment and they Tried to force talking with me And I had someone in front of me and told them I could not talk for discretion reasons. C I would call back in 30 minutes as I had waited 7 hours for their call and that was not con eminent for them as they were going out of town. I felt like I was an inconvenience to them and then was told I had their cell number if I felt emergency. I never found it anywhere in the tons of documentation I provided or literature and got from them at moment t that conversation occurred. It took several days before we confronted both the adoption coordinator in Tampa about why they would not call someone no at least she was honest me said we get caught up in protecting Mother so much we forget about the adoptive parents at times. I waited about a month and requested a meeting in Atlanta office with our main contact and explained we did not wish to do over phone but she did not want to handle but on phone so the first question I asked was Why would an agency not check on someone without them calling and asking for help the very next day as well as the next week as this is traumatic and deeply distressing -shenever got it- total lack of empathy or compassion. My vet at least called when our elderly cat died the next day with sympathies. I wonder what a person that can't conceive to reach out to a person whose adoption feel apart and who paid them fees is doing as an adoption counsel or. They constantly talk about Mothers being taken advantage of I would love to hear stories of Mother's experiences with IAC. We are at their mercy as the have collected thousands of dollars for a few pep talks and monthly statistic letters that on more than one occasion I have had to call or write to ask for. Like others here I cannot see how this agency can support so many locations across U S with no more adoptions than they complete. I have given them faith, benefit of doubt, and yes told one person if they had no more compassion than they exhibited it was time for her to make a career change. Can't figure out this place after going there to a weekend meeting three years later. My they do try to blame clients and say your not doing his or that or this or that needs adjustments but it is always " I have ever seen anyone not adopt that did not give up". But in beginning I was told after 18 months they get concerned if person had not adopted. Start asking hard questions and you get little answers and rhoetoric. Please if looking into this agency ask hard questions, take good notes, get references from current and past clients. I think they are understaffed and promising more than a reasonable person can deliver and yes it takes huge sums of money to run numerous offices nationwide but as stated in earlier comments the communication and calls go away ask new clients are brought in. At one time this seems to have been an excellent organization but it has some problems and lack of following up and communicating with clients that is disturbing.



Review by IntendedParents submitted on September, 5, 2014 at 10:48 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Apr 2013
Status: Homestudy and documentation
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from N/A, Alabama, United States

IntendedParents's Ratings:
Pros: None. Beware of this agency!

Cons: As clients of the IAC we fully agree with fellow the other review and also found that services were not provided as promised. Maybe worst of all, we also found them to be dishonest and feel their business model comes close to a deliberate scam. IAC will make many promises to make you sign a contract. They will say that all of their clients eventually adopt if they don’t give up; they will say they are in contact with 3000 birthmothers per year and they facilitate your adoption through comprehensive outreach, educational and counseling services. In contrast to most reputable adoption agencies, they will then charge the bulk of fees upfront. Once you signed up and paid your fees you will see very little of the promised services and, over extended periods of time, none. In particular they will not do the comprehensive outreach that they promise in their contract for you. They not only take money from you but also accepted a Google ad word grant of up to $ 120,000 per year with which they advertise. While it is convenient for IAC to double dip in this way this outreach, while it certainly brings in new clients who will pay more fees to IAC, in our case did not serve us to be introduced to birthmothers. In our case, over a year and a half, out of the thousands of birthmothers IAC claims to be in contact with, IAC contacted only 12 with our profile. That is not even one birthmother per month and, in fact, over a quarter of a year they contacted none (zero) while, at the same time, they claim they are in contact with hundreds to thousands every year. When you complain, IAC will then try to blame you and make you feel bad for selecting a child profile that, initially, they encouraged you to define in the best interest of the child and your family. In our case we selected several race options that, before signing the contract, IAC reassured us will cover the majority of the children that IAC is placing and IAC makes this claim publicly on their website as well with detailed percentage of the characteristics of placed children. After one and a half years we had no contact with a birthmother whatsoever: no match, no call, no letter, not even a question a potential birthmother may have had for us – nada! IAC will blame you for not doing enough outreach yourself. They will tell you, you have to do your own social media outreach and pay your own ads to find a birthmother. In their contract they promise comprehensive outreach for you; once you sign they tell you, you have to do your own outreach. Where is their added value then in regards to outreach? Where is the contractually promised service? In our case, our coordinator was absent for three months and IAC did not reveal this absence at the signing and in the following five months even though IAC knew the coordinator would be absent as it was due to her own maternity. The replacement introduced herself after the coordinator had already left and then we heard very little and only if we actively chased information. In response to our complaint, Executive Director Ann Wrixton, assured us that she conducted a “careful investigation” in IAC’s grievance review, which in fact was conducted in a sloppy way and deeply inappropriate, offensive and untruthful. The review falls in the same old pattern where IAC blames you for the lack of services that IAC failed to provide. Worst of all, and that is why it is highly inappropriate and offensive, it makes usage of several untruthful and material false statements to blame you. In our case the review signed by Executive Director Ann Wrixton blamed us for the “failure” to follow their advice to further open our child profile. An thorough and “ careful” IAC investigation would have shown that this is completely untruthful. As evidenced by our written email exchanges we did in fact open our profile twice (!) in November 2013, each time adding further child profile options. The review signed by Ann Wrixton makes further material false statements by saying it is “solely because of the limitations” in our profile that we were not introduced to birthmothers while we have evidence that our profile matched numerous cases to which we were not introduced. For example after having opened up our profile in November, during the following month alone (December 2013) our profile matched at least 9 children that we have documentation of as evidenced by the detailed birthmother profiles on IAC’s own website. We were introduced to none of these birthmothers neither to many more in following months that matched our profile. We can only speculate why the IAC review, signed by Executive Director Ann Wilson, is making usage of repeated material false statements to justify the deeply inadequate services the agency provided and to blame their clients in an unapologetic and offensive manner.

Reviews: IAC will quote an adoption workshop as a provided service. However this event is essentially an upfront sales pitch event that leads to the signing of the contract and is being used to make the promises that IAC fails to fulfill. Once the contract was signed, no more training was provided. IAC failed to provide the promised "comprehensive training." IAC also failed to provide "comprehensive counseling". Emails consisted to a large degree of standardized emails that communicate statistics, etc., combined with rare calls were the coordinator essentially says " everything will be fine." IAC also quotes that it provided services for designing a birthmother letter. However, the service consisted of a self-help website where clients are asked to do their own design. We experienced the review of our text poorly done and consisting of minor revisions. We would never work again with this agency and if a friend would ask us we would say: stay away!



Review by treydarnell submitted on June, 27, 2014 at 10:44 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Aug 2013
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Feb 2014
Time Until Placement: 6 months
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Abilene, Texas, United States

treydarnell's Ratings:
Pros: Positive work with LGBT community and hopeful parents.

Cons: We adopted our daughter successfully through the Texas IAC office in August 2013. Our home branch was located in Georgia and other than being slow to respond to email and phone communications, it was a very pleasant experience. The Texas office is severely understaffed and overworked. We were left with a concern of the IAC Texas staff's fundamental understanding of Texas Minimum Standard for a Child Placing Agency and Texas Family Code. Texas IAC requires out of state families to follow and submit to unneeded and over zealous policies. In bringing these issues to the attention of IAC Texas and IAC headquarters their is a severe lack of concern and desire to answer specific questions as to why and how. When specific Texas legislation and other evidence/documentation was presented, communication completely stopped. In communicating with other families working with Texas IAC, this is a recurring issue. IAC has mastered the eloquent and heart warming presentation to prospective clients. The reality is that after you have signed a contract and become a client, you become just another statistic to the agency. We have reconsidered our desire to use IAC for a second adoption as we believe there are serious issues within this organization that might not be limited to one particular branch. This statement follows countless interactions and discussions with other successful adoptive families and those that are waiting. IAC is also increasing their client base rapidly with a lack of an exponential increase in the number of placements. While cost is relatively low for using the agency, the cost will most certainly increase from what is advertised for an actual placement. IAC is quick to pass off known costs as well as fails to find local programs to help expecting parents considering placements. We chose IAC for their successful work with LGBT individuals hoping to become parents. In 2012, there were little resources for our situation and IAC was one of the few. Now there are plenty of options that are more fitting and focus more on their clients.

Reviews: Serious fundamental issues that the agency is trying hide and hush out. Do not like clients talking amongst themselves without moderation



Review by mahnie submitted on August, 5, 2011 at 04:20 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Apr 2011
Status: Placement
Type: Open, Domestic, Intrastate
Special Needs: No
Child from California, United States

mahnie's Ratings:
Pros: I really can't say enough good things about the IAC. Everyone I have worked with there has been professional, caring, and very helpful. I love the orientation meeting and the weekend intensive that gets you started. I also love the monthly support group meetings. My coordinator is extremely knowledgeable and capable. Their fees are very reasonable (relative to other agencies, at least), and since they are a non-profit you can deduct 20% of the payments from your taxes. Everyone who works there is a counselor with at least a master's degree, many with PhD's. The give a LOT of support to birth moms, so you can really feel good about working with them. They give a lot of support to you, too! And I found that the education they give you is priceless. Really, I have no complaints. We had an especially great experience in that the process went very quickly for us. We went into circulation about six weeks after signing up with them and were matched four weeks later with a bay due in less than three months from match date. We worked with the Northern California office.

Cons: None

Reviews: See above



Review by royalin71 submitted on September, 8, 2010 at 12:12 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 7m
Start Date: Apr 2008
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Jul 2009
Time Until Placement: 15 months
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Florida, United States

royalin71's Ratings:
Pros: The IAC is well-known and if it weren't for the resources they put into marketing, we would not have connected with our son's birthmother.

Cons: There were a number of times when the IAC dropped the ball on getting things done in a timely manner, handled situations with our birthmother insensitively, and just generally were not focused on providing good service. The IAC also has a high staff turnover rate, which indicates some organizational instability—possibly some management issues—and caused some problems and frustrations throughout our adoption process.

Reviews: With this experience behind us now, and being as fair-minded as I can muster given a bad experience with the IAC, I think they are probably just overloaded with work and were primarily focused on getting adoptions done—perhaps don’t have time for providing good service. Our recommendation to potential adoptive parents is to do your research before handing over many thousands of dollars to an agency that will guide you through one of the most difficult (but ultimately joyous) experiences you may have in your life. Read reviews, meet the staff of different agencies, ask them the difficult questions, and feel confident that you are making the best decision. We think you would be making a mistake by going with the IAC. However, if you ultimately decide that the IAC is the best agency for you, we hope your experience with them will be better than ours was.



Review by guest submitted on September, 3, 2010 at 04:27 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Nov 2005
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: May 2006
Time Until Placement: 6 months
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from San Luis Obispo, California, United States

guest's Ratings:
Pros: The IAC staff were professional, warm and empathetic. They guided us superbly, ready to listen while we waited or when worries arose. We are not a typical family: my husband is 20 years younger than me; my oldest child is my bio daughter and I was a single mom (by choice) at the time of her birth 24 years ago; we already had two children when we adopted this last time; my children are 9 and 11 years apart, with a big age spread; our middle child was also adopted at birth so we weren't a "childless couple". We learned from the IAC that it might mean that we'd wait a little longer than other families due to the above issues and we appreaciated their candor. Still, we did adopt and were able to fulfill our dreams of a third child. The caring and sincere support, accuracy in information, marketing and guidance of the IAC were deeply appreciated--and impressive.

Cons: We really had few to no problems. There were a few times that we didn't hear what we wanted to hear ("this expectant mom may not complete her adoption plan", for example, after a "match meeting") and then we found out a month later that the IAC was right -- and it helped so much in the long run to be prepared. This isn't really a "con", but there were times that I wasn't content in-the-moment and then realized how much I needed to hear the issues raised ahead of time. Last, waiting is simply very hard and hurts emotionally. Sometimes we felt we weren't in the loop as much as we'd have liked about what else we could do, needing support, etc. We then found that if we'd call for help, we'd get a lot. I've now provided that feedback to the IAC and they are more proactive on the egroup online, as well as providing more intrusive contact to waiting families.

Reviews: We adopted in 1997 via the IAC (before the internet was very active) and waited only 9 months; we returned a number of years later BECAUSE of who the IAC was and the support/services they provided. This was intentional because we felt secure and well-guided by the IAC. I would recommend the IAC to any waiting adoptive parent or parents as a superb, professional organization.



Review by saransp submitted on August, 9, 2010 at 05:08 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Jun 2005
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: May 2008
Time Until Placement: 35 months
Type: Open, Domestic, Intrastate
Special Needs: No
Child from California, United States

saransp's Ratings:
Pros: From start to finish we loved working with the IAC. IAC staff supported us and often went out fo there way to help us (our conselor even left Costco once to take our call on a Saturday!). We had one match that didn't work out and the IAC were supportive and understanding. We were presented with options and never felt judged for our choices. They worked hard to make sure our son's birthmohter was getting the medical and living benefits she was intitaled to. Counselors checked in her weekly and weekly after our sons birth. There have been many changes at IAC over the last three years but under new leadership IAC now looks after their clients and birthfamilies even more than before. We have no hesitiation recommeding them and hope to go back and start our second adoption with them very soon.

Cons: Very early on we had some slight communication problems but following a quick email to make sure we were all on the same page everything went very smoothly.

Reviews: Good luck with your adoption journey. It is worth every step!



Review by dissatisfied submitted on July, 30, 2010 at 10:28 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Mar 2008
Status: Finalized
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Florida, United States

dissatisfied's Ratings:
Pros: 1.) The IAC puts a lot of resources into advertising for birthmothers and has a national reach. 2.) The IAC stands behind its committment to an open adoption. 3.) The homestudy process went smoothly (though outsourced to a contract social worker).

Cons: 1.) There was a lot of staff turnover while we worked with the IAC, resulting in slow communication and new staff who rarely knew the answers to questions. It also raises questions about why there is so much turnover. 2.) Very slow to return phone calls and answer questions, especially at critical moments during the adoption process. 3.) Provided little to no counseling for our child's birthmother and talked disrepectfully about her. The IAC was basically non-existent during and immediately after our child's birth, the time when support to a birthmother is most critical. 4.) Our child's birthmother went into labor early and the IAC was nowhere to be found to provide any guidance to us when this happened. 5.) Provided us with outdated paperwork and information about the adoption process. 6.) Did not take situation with our child's birthfather seriously, which could have prevented the adoption from happening. (Fortunately, we were able to finalize with a legally sound adoption, through the help of a second agency.) 7.) Did not keep scheduled appointments with us. 8.) Dismissed any concerns that we brought to their attention and took no responsibility for the poor services provided to us and our son's birthmother.

Reviews: Overall, our experience with the IAC was disappointing and we do not recommend them to any adoptive parents who aren’t very familiar with adoption laws and the adoption process. If you are someone who knows the ins and outs of the adoption process, the IAC might be fine – they have a wide national reach for finding birthmothers. However, if you are new to the adoption process and don’t have your own knoweldgeable attorney that you trust, we recommend that you find a different agency. The IAC was likely a great agency at one time. Unfortunately, they have grown at a rate that is out of sync with their internal capacity and have become an adoption factory of sorts. They appear to care much more about increasing their client base than providing quality services to adoptive parents or birthparents. For our next adoption, we will work with a smaller agency that values quality of service over quantity of clients.