Search Reviews | Top Rated Agencies | Add Your Review | Compare Agencies | Blog Join | Login  
Adoption Agency Reviews, Ratings, Rankings and Testimonials Adoption Agencies Reviews, Ratings, Rankings and Testimonials

Mlj Adoptions. Inc.

8910 Purdue Rd
One College Park, Ste. 480
Indianapolis , Indiana 46268
United States
317-875-0058

http://mljadoptions.com

Type: Private Agency


  Average Ratings
Based On All Reviews

Review by inga submitted on January, 6, 2015 at 05:06 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Jan 2000
Status: Homestudy and documentation
Type: Open, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Other, nothing

inga's Ratings:
Pros: Correction: in my previous review I stated that the agency did not provide support. They did not provide support or call or provide free counseling for two years and only provided some assistance when we called and explained that our adoption was failing. Then they provided some counseling, a consult with a mentor family, payed for a week of daycare and helped with finding a new family for our adopted children.

Cons: Correction: in my previous review I stated that the agency did not provide support. They did not provide support or call or provide free counseling for two years and only provided some assistance when we called and explained that our adoption was failing. Then they provided some counseling, a consult with a mentor family, payed for a week of daycare and helped with finding a new family for our adopted children.

Reviews: Correction: in my previous review I stated that the agency did not provide support. They did not provide support or call or provide free counseling for two years and only provided some assistance when we called and explained that our adoption was failing. Then they provided some counseling, a consult with a mentor family, payed for a week of daycare and helped with finding a new family for our adopted children.



Review by inga submitted on October, 15, 2014 at 02:51 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 2y 0m
Start Date: Jan 2010
Status: Homestudy and documentation
Completion Date: May 2011
Time Until Placement: 16 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Kinshasa, Other, Congo, Democratic Republic of the

inga's Ratings:
Pros: Relatively fast process

Cons: No information about the child, very expensive, children come with severe medical and behavioral issues. Agency offers no support post-placement.

Reviews: e had a terrible experience with that agency. They lie through their teeth when they say that their foster care is excellent. Our kids came with behavioral and attachment issues due to neglect and abuse in their foster care. That experience was a devastating for our family, they will not support you after adoption is finalized. All they care about is making money and not about the children. Our adoption ended in a disruption and a heartbreak for all involved. Stay away!



Review by babystarsun submitted on November, 12, 2012 at 06:29 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 2m
Start Date: Jan 2011
Status: Finalized
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Congo (The Democratic Republic of the)

babystarsun's Ratings:
Pros: MLJ took the time to set up EXCELLENT foster care homes for the children, the children are extremely well cared for and they are loved by the mamas. We got pictures monthly and towards the end they started to include ht wt. They were open to concerns or questions and I found that through out my process they were changing things as they needed. I didn't mind asking the hard questions and pushing for more info as I saw fit. Our child is so happy and healthy, I seen a lot of sick kids in DRC as a result of poor child care. MLJ does take the time to also help orphanages and has a great deal of trust and repsect in their DRC staff.

Cons: I wish there was more info to go with the monthly updates, but hopefully they are also changing this. But they were upfront with what we can expect so I guess we knew that going in

Reviews: AP's always do your homework, don't be afraid of agencies ask them direct questions and also look for forums there is a great resource. We would use them again.



Review by kaysmart submitted on June, 21, 2012 at 12:50 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 1y 0m
Start Date: Dec 2011
Status: Placement
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Alabama, United States

kaysmart's Ratings:
Pros: MLJ was recommended to us by the other attorneys, agencies and the Embassy. I was shocked how many times I heard their recommendation. I was told they are really the only agency to use for DRC. I know others that used some mission group but their children were very sick when they came and home, it took a long time and they didn't seem to have the legal or mental health professionals that I feel are very important in the process for me and my child. I found that MLJ's team was one of the most qualified but I also found them to be compassionate. I also have followed all the giving that MLJ does to orphan ministries and foundaitons. Their 2012 report indicatd that their Exec Director did not take any salary and they donated their any profits to orphan missions. I have personally been given grants from the foundation MLJ's Executive director founded. Also, I have met a few others that have used other agencies and I know currently a couple of the other agencies are having difficulties in DRC and the referral time is really long. I try to stay up on all the DRC news and adoption news. So I think MLJ really is the only choice for DRC adotpions. They have a ton of resources and options for communication. We have enjoyed their education classes and have used their support services as well. We have been able to connect with a lot of other families that used MLJ and that has been a great connection for us. I found that those families are very happy with the agencies services as well. I was also very

Cons: I really don't have any about the agency. I know that some people complain about not having any information but we were told that several times before we started so we expected it. I know the cost is expensive but MLJ is committed to helping you find resources and even had a free seminar about Affording adoption.

Reviews: I plan to use them again. I know one family that just completed their 3rd adoption through them and another that completed their 2nd. I would recommend them without hesitation. I think any comments about their ethics is completely wrong and likely the person is uneducated about the cost of adoption and MLJ's committment to orphan support. They should try to educate themselves more about the facts before they sling those types of terrible and unfounded comments on this review page. I would never recommend them or use them again if I thought there were any ethical issues. People often don't understand the complications and issues with adoption which includes expenses and a lot of documentation. In fact, sometimes to prohibit corruption you have to have more people supervising which costs more money especially in a country like DRC. I was able to hear the EXecutive Director speak at an adoption conference and her passion and committment was great. I also was amazed at the committment from my program director and the foreign staff. I am so appreciative to MLJ adoptions for the work they do.



Review by weadopt submitted on June, 12, 2012 at 12:26 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 3y 9m
Start Date: Jun 2010
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: May 2011
Time Until Placement: 11 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Kinshasa, Congo (The Democratic Republic of the)

weadopt's Ratings:
Pros: This was our first adoption and we could not have picked a better agency to work with! MLJ is extremely supportive, amazingly prompt in answering questions/emails/phone calls, and so true to their love and heart for orphans. We have completed the adoption of two children through MLJ and are currently in the process of adopting two more through them. Our children were obviously well loved and cared for as we waited to be able to bring them home - to the credit of the foster system MLJ has in place in the DRC. We would strongly recommend MLJ to anyone who asks!

Cons: Adoption is expensive. And at first glance MLJ is more expensive than some others, but the foster care you children are in vs. an orphanage as they wait for you is SO worth the extra cost.

Reviews: We are fortunate to be surrounded by many adoptive families in our community and in talking with many of them can say that working with MLJ has been one of the best adoption processes/experiences in comparison to others. THANK YOU MLJ for bringing my children home to me!



Review by Ruth submitted on June, 7, 2012 at 11:54 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 1y 0m
Start Date: Feb 2011
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Dec 2011
Time Until Placement: 10 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Alabama, United States

Ruth's Ratings:
Pros: The communication was excellent. I was shocked at some of the other reviewers because I know the communication options from MLJ are open for all parents possibly they did not take advantage of these many options. First MLJ provides free initial information meetings and how to afford your adoption - we attended both before committing. Then we also talked to the program director for our program a couple of times before we committed as well. Once we were their clients we had our own personal data base of information that tracked our specific adoption and gave us a plethora of information. We also attended several education classes that were given in person and via teleconference by MLJ not generic ones over the internet. We also rec'd general updates (which went to everyone) from the agency and our program director at least 2-4 times a month, newsletters and we followed the daily information posted on their website. Then on top of all of that we had two people (Program director and assistant) that were assigned to us providing us personanlized contact. Oh and they also have an internal forum where other parents and the staff talk and discuss. I just cannot imagine anyone that went through the process rating their communication poorly. They were also very knowledgable about the law and social matters associated with adoption. Before I started the process, I did a lot of research and was very delighted with my agency choice. They provided a fostercare program in my international adotpion program and my child was so much healthier than many of the children coming home from DRC that were in orphanages. I talk with about 40 other parents on the forum and at events and that is something they have all said. I find the last two reviews quite suspect because they were done only ten mins apart and don't seem consistent with my experience or the many other parents that I met through the experience. I plan to use MLJ again and I know of several other parents that have already done so.

Cons: The program I chose was DRC and prior to starting MLJ told us several times we would not have a lot of medical or social history on the children. I would have liked more of this information but I did know that we likley would not get it. We were also told that the foster parents were not required to make notes about our child and since we had traveled to Africa several times we understood this is more difficult to get, but wished we had that information too. We just decided prior to the process that we would accept these cons in the process. I think some of the complaining parents didn't listen to these warnings because they often complain about these things but that is what you have to accept sometimes and we knew it.

Reviews: I plan to use MLJ again. I know others that have done their 2nd and 3rd adoptions with them and others that are planning to use them again as well. I do know personally 2 people that have voiced complaints about MLJ and have been very vocal on the yahoo groups etc really causing much more of a stir than is appropriate. I think sometimes people just want to complain during the process becuase it is hard to wait and not know information. But I really think that they just possibly had extra hurdles or didn't accept the risks that were explained to them. I think MLJ did a really extensive job in explaining the risks and lack of information. I did watch the two complainers go through the process (they both started before me and I was trying to decide which agency to use) and they both had quick and smooth processes with health children but they only complicated by their own complaining. I really think that if you are going to do an international adoption you must pay attention to the warnings about frustrations, lack of information etc. I have a friend adopting through MLJ from Bulgaria and Bulgarian government provides a ton of information unlike the DRC government. You just have to know what to expect and then accept it. Prior to starting the process I talked with the US Embassy in DRC and they gave me the best recommendation I could get for MLJ Adoptions. I think since they see all the others adoptions and compare it MLJ, then that is a great recommendation. I will and have recommended MLJ to many friends and even family!



Review by kidsrlove submitted on May, 23, 2012 at 11:23 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: May 2011
Status: Withdrew voluntarily
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Congo (The Democratic Republic of the)

kidsrlove's Ratings:
Pros: Nothing

Cons: Decided to go with another agency. Heard SO many horror stories and got out before we could lose too much money. Friends brought home kids and had all sorts of issues. They LIE and are not about the kids! GET OUT and DO NOT use them.

Reviews: USE another agency!



Review by adoption4life submitted on May, 23, 2012 at 11:13 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 1y 0m
Start Date: Aug 2009
Status: Finalized
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Congo (The Democratic Republic of the)

adoption4life's Ratings:
Pros: Not much

Cons: Unethical agency. Only in it for the money. No one in Indiana hears anything good about them. They lie and ask families to not talk about the agency. We would never use them again. They lock you in and seem great at first but once they have the money they don't care anymore. Many people have reported them to file conplaints. Question them about where the funds go. No after placement help or involvment. No information about children or foster care. Lots of kids are coming home sick. Run the other way!

Reviews: Get on the yahoo congo group before you sign with MLJ. Lots of families on that group and LOTS of bad reviews. Do your homework on them. They are all about the money.



Review by adoptivemomof2 submitted on February, 1, 2012 at 02:50 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Jan 2010
Status: Finalized
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Alabama, United States

adoptivemomof2's Ratings:
Pros: I was very surprised to read the previous reviews of this agency. Having been through two adoptions now, with two different agencies, I can honestly say that we enjoyed our experience with MLJ very much. I have recommended them to numerous friends. Their ethics are very sound and although the educational component can be tough, it is often what we all need to hear. Adoption is no walk in the park! We always had quick and responsive communication from the staff even during off-hours. When our placement took place staff stayed at the hospital with our daughter and her mother until we could get there which took more than 24 hours. Even during this time the staff was constantly in touch with us and was very supportive of our daughter's mother. I found the fees to be very reasonable and below average for other agencies. I researched over 50 agencies when completing our second adoption. Although ours was domestic and those below seem to have done international, we also looked into the DRC program and found their fees to be the most affordable when compared to other programs.

Cons: The only cons for me are not related to the agency itself, but to the process as a whole. We adotped from out of state and the process for ICPC took almost two weeks.

Reviews: I cannot stress enough how compassionate and helpful the staff, especially the education director/counselor, were to my daughter's mom. It is very different when you adopt in the US through an open process. We got to meet the staff face to face and see them interact with our daughter's family. They truly did have her best interests at heart.



Review by Kayadopt submitted on February, 1, 2012 at 02:37 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 1y 0m
Start Date: Feb 2011
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Nov 2011
Time Until Placement: 9 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Alabama, United States

Kayadopt's Ratings:
Pros: I am so happy with my adoption experience. I lived in Congo for a little while and understand more than maybe others the issues and problems in getting anything done in the country. I have also adopted from another country as well and you cannot compare the two because Congo is so different and it is so difficult to get anything done there. My adoption was efficient and my child was extremely healthy. I was told verbally, in communications and in the agency's documents that there would be little information about my child from the beginning and throughout my process. But they did provide me with pictures which knowing Congo pictures, some medicals and a fast and efficient adoption are incredible. The best reason for me to have chosen this agency is because when I asked the Embassy in DRC who I should you they indicated to "ONLY USE MLJ ADOPTIONS". They went on to tell me their paperwork was the best they had seen, their children seemed healthier. This made my decision for me. I know it was hard for people around me to understand how Congo works and I am shocked at some of the comments on here and it appears that a few people may have this same problem. Without hesitation I would recommend MLJ as an agency for an adoption from DRC. I am so happy that I used them.

Cons: I think most of my Cons are more a reflection of the lack of resources in Congo than anything else and I knew when I decided to adopt from there that I likely wouldn't have much information about my child's history. Congo has children left in hospitals and on the streets everyday. I am just concerned about providing them with a healthy and loving future.

Reviews: The cost was the same as other international adotpions except for it was more expensive for fostercare but I thought that was worth the expense and even the Embassy told me the children seemed quite healthy (probably in comparison to other children in Congo or children adopted from orphanages).



Review by Annalynn submitted on February, 1, 2012 at 02:14 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Apr 2011
Status: Referral received
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Indiana, United States

Annalynn's Ratings:
Pros: I am in shock reading some of the other reviews on this site. If there were problems earlier, they must all be resolved now. I receive plenty of communication and have been given several opportunities to communicate to my referred child. The wait is hard, but they offer support groups and encouraging emails. I even heard they will have their own online forum soon. The staff is kind and truly care about the children. I can tell it is a priority to provide ethical services because they care about adoption in general, not just getting clients. I am impressed with the level of professionalism and education in all of the staff. The education courses are clearly well researched with lots of experience; it is almost too much information to fit into a class.

Cons: I would love more time in education to discuss in depth and to ask more questions. Although I have plenty of access to ask my questions at other times, it is nice to hear other people's questions as well. I am going to suggest that their classes are three hours in length.

Reviews: I would definitely recommend this agency and will likely use them again! Everyone else in the process with me right now seems to agree.



Review by congomom submitted on January, 27, 2012 at 01:04 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 5y 0m
Start Date: Jan 2010
Status: Finalized
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Congo (The Democratic Republic of the)

congomom's Ratings:
Pros: The agency was quick to answer our questions (However, they didn't provide information upfront. I had to ask every question.) My daughter was well cared for in foster care. Our process was less than a year.

Cons: I have ojections to several aspects of MLJ. Just the logisitics of doing the paperwork is difficult. There are so many forms (not all in English) that are difficult to fill out. I had to ask every question about how to complete the forms. It would have been much easier if they provided sample forms filled out to each family. They always responded promptly to these questions but they should have been answered before I asked them. Our daughter was much older than our referral stated (2-3 years older) but we did not know until we met her. We were told that she was 3 1/2 but this was not close. MLJ staff had visited Congo. After their visit, I asked specific questions about her age but no one gave me an accurate picture of her age at all. When we met her, it was completely obvious that she was much older. We would never have rejected her if they told us some accurate information about her age. She was ours and we loved her. However, our transition as a family would have been much smoother if we had known that we were disrupting birth order in our family. Our daugher was expecting a little sister so that made for a difficult surprise. Our homestudy experience was fine and we liked our social worker. However, the superivisor of this department is arrogant and difficult to work with. We received no post-placement support, except the required 2 visits. In fact, 5 months after our daughter came, we received a phone call froma n MLJ staff member who said, "Now that your daughter is home, we'd like to see how it's going." 5 months after she came home! I'm not sure why they bothered at that point. Their fees are much higher than other agencies with Congo programs. Since the fee descriptions are vague, I think they need to be more clear about where all the money is going.

Reviews: Our daughter is home and we are thankful for the work the staff did to bring her home. They truly did owrk hard (both domestic and in-country). I just wish the agency would be more forthcoming about the process and provide more information about older children when they come home. They could truly benefit from listening to clients' feedback (not that they ever asked. We never received a survey or questions about how our process had gone.) We had adopted before so we had certain expectations of professionalism, upfrontess and communication. While I recommend our previous agency to people all the time with glowing reviews, I cannot do the same for MLJ.



Review by congoadoptionlove submitted on January, 26, 2012 at 09:08 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 1y 0m
Start Date: Feb 2010
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Mar 2011
Time Until Placement: 13 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Congo (The Democratic Republic of the)

Pros: We got our referrals quickly. Children were healthly and attached well.

Cons: Terrible at communicating. Bullied us into not speaking about them or asking questions. No information while our kids were in country. Our agency coordinator slowed our process (lost most our paperwork and told our home study agency there was no need to move quickly) therefore causing over 5 more months of delays. Never given any information about our kids history or conditions of foster homes (we paid $600 a month per kid and were rarely given pictures and no information about the homes themselves or how they were cared for). No accountability with where the huge expenses go. Asked for months for a breakdown and never was given a true clear answer. Told not to ask questions.

Reviews: Would not reccomend them. Until they start to show where the money goes and give information about the foster homes. The staff traveled several times and yet they couldn't answer simple questions such as do the children sleep in cribs or how many kids are in each. They should have seen and would know the answers. We were told that wasn't there job to know. Also we wanted to travel but were "not allowed" yet other families were after us. Still I am upset about that since one day my kids will ask and I have no information to tell them. Very unhappy with MLJ. They are still raising prices and making adoption completely out of reach for most people. Disappointed with the tone the communication came in as well. We often felt alone and like we were doing something wrong by asking questions.



Review by lovelylady5298 submitted on January, 26, 2012 at 11:18 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 1y 0m
Start Date: Jan 2011
Status: Finalized
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Congo (The Democratic Republic of the)

lovelylady5298's Ratings:
Pros: Quick adoption, did not take very long in terms of international adoption. Staff was fairly friendly.

Cons: Problems with homestudy (many errors and mistakes, unprofessional staff); No communication during foster care (no medical reports, heights/weights, no documentation of where money is being spent); little to no information on children pre-placement; no social history on children; bills with no itimization; continually asked to pay bills and invoices but there is no record of where the money is going and being spent which is questionable

Reviews: I would not recommend this agency to others and would not use them again



Review by MaryBeth submitted on January, 19, 2012 at 12:08 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 10m
Start Date: Sep 2010
Status: Finalized
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Congo (The Democratic Republic of the)

MaryBeth's Ratings:
Pros: My adoption was completed rather quickly in the timeframe they suggested. Everyone helped support all steps through the process.

Cons: N/A

Reviews: Agency was very helpful throughout everything. I feel I had a more personal relationship with everyone there. Many areas of support and education provided.



Review by iammama submitted on November, 20, 2011 at 07:39 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 3y 0m
Start Date: Apr 2010
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: May 2011
Time Until Placement: 13 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Congo (The Democratic Republic of the)

iammama's Ratings:
Pros: Our African program director had a heart for adoption. We were matched with 2 children in a short amount of time. Our girls are amazing. We appreciated the way in which our agency seemed to keep paperwork moving. We were also pleased with the amount of time it took to get our girls home in respect to other countries.

Cons: The process went realtively fast for us. However, the 8 months while our children were in foster care, we received only a few pictures. We were not given any other information such as height, weight, etc. Foster care is neccessary but the price was very expensive with no record of receipts, etc. Communication was sent via email only for most of the process. When our children arrived home (we did not travel), we did not use them for support. We chose not to use them for support due to the fact the education director had never parented or adopted.( MLJ did not like us using other services). She had strong opinions on the subject of adoptive parenting. We received amazing services from our home study agency which was different than MLJ. We were hoping that we could get more exact line items on our bill but we were not able to get exact amounts or any receipts. I would say that the price of our adoptions was high. I wish I would would have asked more specific questions about our girls and had more for them via their lifebook. I wish MLJ Adoptions would have told us information about our girls' time in country while were paying for their foster care.

Reviews: There are many, many children that need to be adopted from DRC. The need is great. It is my hope and prayer that MLJ Adoptions reforms some of their practices (such as cost) as to facilitate many, many more adoptions. As though the children are small, they will want as much information as they can when they are older.



Review by JeanetteT46 submitted on November, 9, 2011 at 07:40 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 7y 0m
Start Date: Aug 2009
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Dec 2009
Time Until Placement: 4 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Ukraine

JeanetteT46's Ratings:
Pros: Things went very quickly and even when there were bumps in the road the agency stayed on top of things. The staff were awesome to work with. I would not hesitate referring them to someone else interested in adoption.

Cons: None with the agency or staff

Reviews: Loved the experience!