Search Reviews | Top Rated Agencies | Add Your Review | Compare Agencies | Blog Join | Login  
Adoption Agency Reviews, Ratings, Rankings and Testimonials Adoption Agencies Reviews, Ratings, Rankings and Testimonials

One World Adoptions

P.O. Box 539
Flowery Branch, Georgia 30542
United States
1-866-714-6612
susan@oneworldadoptions.org
http://www.oneworldadoptions.org/

Type: Private Agency


  Average Ratings
Based On All Reviews

Review by consideradoption submitted on December, 2, 2012 at 08:13 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 3y 0m
Start Date: Nov 2006
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Jan 2011
Time Until Placement: 50 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Haiti

consideradoption's Ratings:
Pros: Let me start at the end and work backwards, we have three beautiful children, and if it was not for OWA, we would not have two of them; one international and one domestic adoption. Hopefully all of them are upstairs sleeping right now, and its awesome to have our family finally completed. Susan's personal commitment to us and other adoptive Haitian families was made even more evident when she worked with us through the weeks following the earthquake that ultimately culminated with her spending the night with us in the terminal of an airport while we waited to be united with our daughter.

Cons: Looking back on the adoption process it was one of the hardest things I think we have ever gone through. From the bureaucracy of some county inspector looking under our kitchen sink for mouse poop to the unknown of when we might be united with our children, it was incredibly challenging. The adoption of our daughter was supposed to be completed in seven months and it drug on for three years. It finally took the earthquake in Haiti to bring her home. The issues surrounding our daughter's adoption all go back to what life is like in Haiti. There are social, economic, and cultural issues that I do not believe anyone including OWA would be able to overcome. I was incredibly frustrated and even now two years later I am still frustrated but since visiting Haiti it has put a lot into perspective. I'm not sure what OWA could have done differently. Our domestic adoption was not without its challenges either, but they pale in comparison to our international adoption.

Reviews: After talking with other adoptive parents, our story is not unique. The adoption process is not easy and comes with significant challenges, and while we're done adopting kids, I would recommend adoption because the end result makes the process all worth it. Further, I would recommend Susan and OWA to help guide you through it. She is an adoptive mother herself and has a passion for the children and parents in need.



Review by musicfan submitted on November, 28, 2012 at 12:03 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Oct 2011
Status: Placement
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Texas, United States

musicfan's Ratings:
Pros: In terms of domestic adoption, One World Adoptions is top notch--far better than any other agency that we have come into contact with. We have recommended them to a number of friends who are considering adoption, and if we were to adopt again, we would definitely use them. Jessica, our caseworker, was the best, from beginning to end. From the day we first met with her, we knew we were in good hands. Not only was she highly knowledgeable and efficient, but she was also very reassuring throughout the process. With her guidance, we were able to complete the home study process much faster and with much less worry than we had anticipated. Also, the educational books and webinars that were part of the OWAS home study helped us feel more prepared for adoption and better able to discuss it with our friends and family. After we completed the home study, Jessica began the process of finding our baby’s birthmother. This stage involves a lot of rising and falling hopes, interspersed with a lot of waiting, and it was more difficult than we expected. Every time we got frustrated or impatient and started to wonder if we would ever find a match, Jessica would reassure us that everything was OK, and that our day would soon come. When our day did come, it was a whirlwind—we were chosen by our birthmom the day our baby was born! Due to the last-minute nature of our birthmother match (and to the fact that he was born the day before an extended holiday weekend), our situation was far from typical, and we had moments of confusion and frustration while in Texas. However, Jessica answered our calls during the holiday weekend and worked hard throughout the 12 days we were in Texas, consistently reassuring us and providing accurate information when it seemed no one else could.

Cons: None to speak of

Reviews: During the course of our adoption journey, we interacted with several other agencies and facilitators, and quite frankly, we have been shocked at the lack of professionalism and the highly questionable ethics of some of them. In our experience, no other agency has even come close to OWAS and our caseworker Jessica in terms of professionalism, reliability, ethics, and empathy. There were times that were difficult for us, but they made every step easier. We are so thankful for OWAS and Jessica for helping us find our sweet baby boy!



Review by SPadin submitted on November, 24, 2012 at 10:59 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 5m
Start Date: Oct 2004
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Oct 2005
Time Until Placement: 12 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Guatemala

SPadin's Ratings:
Pros: One World Adoption Services took their time to listen to us throughout the entire process. They were always open to any questions or concerns and if they didn't have the answers right away, they would find them out for us. The case worker even called us on her day off (Sunday & Mother's day) just because she felt like it would be the ultimate Mother's day gift!

Cons: The cons weren't really with One World. It was with dealing with the particular country we decided to adopt from and One World always worked through any issues that arose from the country all while keeping us informed of what was going on.

Reviews: Adoption is a lengthy and difficult process for EVERYONE involved. There are always going to be hiccups along the way for anyone. I mean think about everyone involved with just 1 adoption...you, the agency, attorneys here in the states, federal government, attorneys in the country that you are adopting your child from, their government, and the birth parents. Something WILL go wrong on someone's side. The key is how you as the adoptive parent choose to deal with these hiccups. If your not open or are too sensitive to things not going your way...adoption is going to be an even harder process for you. We encountered issues with our governement and Guatemala's government changing laws while we were in the process of adopting our daughter. All we could ask One World to do is to keep us updated on what was going on, and they did just that. We were one of the lucky ones that were able to bring our daughter home before both governments decided to shut adoptions down in Guatemala. Were we glad that happened? - of course! But, if we had gotten caught in the middle of it...I do know that we would not have blamed One World. How could we? It wouldn't have been their fault. So, what I want to say is that our experience with One World was awesome and we couldn't have asked for a better one. We have friends that we have recomended and will continue to do so. In fact, once we are ready to adopt again...One World will be the agency that we will use. Thank You One World!



Review by gmatloff submitted on November, 21, 2012 at 10:09 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 9y 0m
Start Date: May 2010
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Jun 2010
Time Until Placement: 1 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Curitiba, Brazil

gmatloff's Ratings:
Pros: Respected for personal adoption goals Reassurance never in short supply during bumps in the road Skillful handling of bumps in the road Well versed/knowledgeable about the international adoption process Agency's director is a dynamo, clearly loves her role in making adoptions happen and is invested in children's issues.

Cons: Any bumps in the road I experienced were reflective of the precariousness of the international adoption process, not due to anything negative about OWAS.

Reviews: I adopted a pair of brothers, 9 and 12 y.o. from Brazil with OWAS 2 1/2 years ago. From the start, OWAS represented themselves in the most professional manner and treated me with care and respect in my adoption quest. OWAS' director, Susan Manning handled my case directly, as the Brazil program was in between case managers at the time. She acted on my behalf with the utmost of professionalism. Any bumps in the road (and they were relatively minor) were those that anyone could expect due to the conflictual and often chaotic nature of international adoption. Furthermore, Susan handled these bumps skillfully and kept me informed; reassurance was never in short supply. I experienced firsthand how one's emotions on this most precarious journey can take over, yet I maintained my trust in Susan and OWAS to keep a healthy perspective. I never felt misled, always felt the information I received to be true to the best of anyone's honest intentions, and always felt my personal adoption goals cared about and respected. I was reluctant to take on international adoption in the first place; I had contacted a few agencies before OWAS and felt less than enthused by the reception I received, stalling my adoption quest before having contacted OWAS. I was concerned about the negative press concerning international adoption, as so many countries have significant problems with upheaval, corruption, and misguided priorities. I was fortunate to have settled on Brazil; it was a fairly straightforward process. Even so, navigating the difficult, typically unique set of circumstances surrounding an international adoption requires patience and tolerance in situations any adoption agency, stateside would have no control over. It is all about the children and one's desire to parent; it is unfortunate that there are situations children are abused by the system and prospective adoptive parents get burned in the process. Of importance to note is that I turned to international adoption after having been burned time and time again by our own country's foster care system after trying to adopt domestically for three years.... that's another story. In conclusion, I wholeheartedly recommend OWAS (and Susan Manning) for anyone's international adoption needs. I would not hesitate (nor would I look somewhere else) to use OWAS if I were to adopt again... although I think the inn is full at my house :0)



Review by babystarsun submitted on November, 12, 2012 at 06:20 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 2m
Start Date: Jan 2010
Status: Withdrew voluntarily
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Congo (The Democratic Republic of the)

babystarsun's Ratings:
Pros: none

Cons: We left OWAS in Dec2011-Jan 2012 After we were lied to and seen some red flags. Owas has yet to send a US rep from the agency to see first hand what is happening in country after some major errors...

Reviews: Keep looking for another agency



Review by amandaabennett submitted on October, 26, 2012 at 01:32 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 7y 0m
Start Date: Nov 2010
Status: Referral received
Type: Open, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Congo (The Democratic Republic of the)

amandaabennett's Ratings:
Pros: Up until the end, the staff was responsive and cordial.

Cons: We were forced to terminate the adoption due to fraud. All of the information we received from the agency was falsified by their in country staff. Depsite us asking questions over many months, the staff in the US was unwilling to investigate to determine the orphan status of the children we sought to adopt. It wasn't until we traveled to Congo to investigate ourselves that the extent of the fraud was uncovered. One World was unrepentant, ceased communicating with us and refused to refund any portion of the money we paid them for a fraudulant adoption. I would never under any circumstances recommend them as an adoption agency. They do not seem to understand the process or the stakes. They have no in-country presence and do no independent verification of any facts.

Reviews: I would be willing to speak to anyone about my experience with One World as it is my hope that no child is adopted fraudulently and no family has to experience the loss we suffered. delighted DOT bennett AT gmail DOT com



Review by TMS submitted on February, 15, 2012 at 12:39 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 8m
Start Date: Dec 2006
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Jan 2008
Time Until Placement: 13 months
Type: Semi-Open, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Guatemala

TMS's Ratings:
Pros: Our caseworker was wonderful. She made sure we knew what to expect at each step of the process. We had no surprises and had full communication. If we had a question, she answered it immediately. We were very happy with the agency and had an almost flawless process. The in-country lawyer that they used was on the ball!

Cons: I can think of no cons through this adoption...

Reviews: I would definitely recommend this agency again and again. If others have had trouble with them, I would question if they had realistic expectations or not. I would also wonder if they were a difficult client.



Review by bobobro submitted on February, 9, 2011 at 09:56 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 1y 0m
Start Date: Aug 2001
Status: Placement
Completion Date: Jun 2002
Time Until Placement: 10 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Moscow, Russian Federation

bobobro's Ratings:
Pros: From the very beginning, Susan Manning (director) was our caseworker and treated us as if we were her favorite and most important clients. She was honest and fair, caring and knowledgeable. We knew what we were getting into and advised the whole way through the process. There is nothing easy or cookie cutter about International Adoption. There are many variables outside the control of any of us stateside. Susan searched and searched for our children. At first we were only hoping to adopt one child, a boy. However, God worked through Susan as she sent us a referral of our daughter, age 2 at the time. She said you have to see her, she is perfect. Indeed, she is. From the moment we saw her face on video, we knew she was our daughter. Susan did warn us of some potential extended family issues-remote as they were. We proceeded with caution and in prayer. As things naturally have hiccups, we did spend about 36 hours of hell waiting on an issue with this extended family. Susan's people in country drove 6 hours one way in the worst snow blizzard in 40 years to meet with family and convince them our daughter was better with us. How many staff people would have done that? Susan's communication and relationship with those in country shone at its best during those dark hours. Everything worked out great and we have incredible children. We also thank God daily and ask God to bless his angel, Susan Manning.

Cons: I can't think of anything unless they had control over the Russian government and their long vacation days!

Reviews: Our son's adoption day was the day before his first birthday. Susan knew we were wanting to adopt a boy and after finding our daughter, it was inevitable that we would bring home two children. Susan helped us look through several referrals before we made the right connection. I will never ever forget her phone call when she found our son. She said wait till you see him, he is perfect and looks just like the Gerber baby! She faxed his referral picture and info to my office with a note to the other staff-ladies-no peeking let mom see him first! As with our daughter, our son is incredible. He is a gifted student and athlete. The whole process started on August 25 with us sending in our first batch of paperwork. We found our daughteer on October 8, and brought her home on January 22. We found our son on December 16 and brought him home on June 25. All in all shorter than pregnancy! Susan Manning will forever be linked to our family and we are so thankful for all she did before, during and after our adoptions. We highly reccommend her and her agency. Nancy Gabany



Review by artvick submitted on February, 8, 2011 at 01:57 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 1y 10m
Start Date: Jan 2010
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Dec 2010
Time Until Placement: 11 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Kapolei, Congo (The Democratic Republic of the)

artvick's Ratings:
Pros: Terri was awesome and the preliminary work went quickly and efficiently

Cons: When my wife traveled there were some communications issues. The OWAS staff must visit the Congo more often and work on relationships as they are very important in any adoption.

Reviews: OWAS has the right staff in place in country and with a little effort from the staff here in the Uni



Review by robbieneuro77 submitted on February, 4, 2011 at 10:32 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 14y 2m
Start Date: Aug 2009
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Feb 2010
Time Until Placement: 6 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: Yes
Child from Kinshasa, Congo (The Democratic Republic of the)

robbieneuro77's Ratings:
Pros: Pricing was very fair and fees charged were for reasonable items. Agency fee was not overly large, etc. Initial Adoption case worker was excellent - travelling to the country on the first adoption visit with us, establishing contacts, etc.

Cons: Once the case worker left the agency, no one remained with any knowledge of the Congo, its politics, or the adoption process in the country. There was so little contact and support after this case worker left, coupled with some severe ethical concerns on our part about the sourcing of children by the ageny in Congo, that we voluntarily separated from the agency just prior to finalizing - foreiting our entire adoption monies paid. We did try and resolve the issues with the agency prior to leaving and we ran into a completely unresponsive "wall" that went to far as to try and have us sign a "gag order" if part of the fee was to be refunded. I do not recommend this agency based on my personal experiences and opinions formed while working with them and observing them and their work and staff in Congo.

Reviews: Congo, for those who are unfamiliar with it, is barely a country when it comes to things we take for granted - like infrastructure, functioning legal system, etc. There is a secondary economy (something like bribes) that runs the government and private secotr - and adoption is no different. In order to insure smooth (and that is a very relative term in Congo - BE READY for hiccups and glitches both before and in country) adoption process, the agency and its staff must be INTIMATELY familiar PERSONALLY with Congo and the local contacts, as well as where the children come from and their "provenance". Because it is not a cultural norm in Congo to "give up" infants, their needs to be a solid, verifiable way for the agency and adoptive parents to know as certainly as they can that the child is a true orphan. Culturally the community will keep the infants for a long while trying to integrate them with other family members first before abandoning them. I personally have extreme concern - and I have been to Congo many times, have two adopted daughters from Congo (one of whom gave up her own infant for adoption), and I assist with charitable work for orphans who are not adoptable - that the entire Congo adoption program is likely to be shut down if great respect is not paid to local customs and the people running the process are not expert on the rules and regulations. Congo is very special to me for many reasons, and there are many orphaned children who need good homes in the country so we all - Adoption agencies, adoptive parents, and supporters, need to be careful, respectul, and continue to learn and grow with this program and country. You are welcome to contact me if I can be of assistance regarding international adoption (I have 3 children adopted internationally - and 4 more biologic children), Congo or agency review. My Name is Robbie - email is robbieneuro77@yahoo.com Some final words of caution in reading reviews: Anonymous reviews get minimal weight if any - if you can't confirm a resource or review - just like in school - then it is likely not worth the "paper" its printed on. Second, read the good and the bad - and every agency will have both, as well as supporters and detractors - throw out the overly superlative "fluff bombs" and throw out the "trash 'em 'cause I hate 'em" pieces and form your own opinions based on all the info you gather. Remember: Once you sign and pay the fees, you will be emotionally hostage to the agency and the process (good and bad).



Review by rkoertig submitted on January, 30, 2011 at 12:12 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 2y 7m
Start Date: Jan 2010
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Jul 2010
Time Until Placement: 6 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Kinshasa, Congo (The Democratic Republic of the)

rkoertig's Ratings:
Pros: Our case worker Terri was AWESOME! We had good communication and support from beginning to end. It is obvious that she really cared about us. We still hear from her even though our adoption is completed. The process in DRC was easier then that I am hearing it is now. Terri was on top of things and we are very grateful to her.

Cons: We got ahead of ourselves and booked travel before clearing it with Terri and had to incur some cost with tickets.

Reviews: Very thankful to Terri. I had an email from her today about the new orphanage. Keep up the good work Terri and God Bless You!



Review by sarahmariel submitted on December, 4, 2010 at 11:08 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 4m
Start Date: May 2009
Status: Placement
Completion Date: Feb 2010
Time Until Placement: 9 months
Type: Semi-Open, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Kinshasa, Congo (The Democratic Republic of the)

sarahmariel's Ratings:
Pros: They seem to be reasonable in price.

Cons: -The Director of the agency is incredibly hard to work with, answers NO questions and does not give control to her caseworkers. -They do not work with an orphanage and find the children on the streets making it hard to prove that they are true orphans. -The foster care the children are in is AWFUL. I paid monthly to make sure my child was getting food, but when we picked her up, it was obvious that she was not given care with the money we sent. -If something goes wrong during the process, the agency does not help and has even written clients off, blaming them for the difficulties.

Reviews: I don't believe that things are done ethically, especially in the Congo program. They are not transparent in where your money is going and kids are not well cared for in the foster care.



Review by msmarci42 submitted on July, 29, 2010 at 10:37 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 2y 0m
Start Date: Jul 2003
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Jan 2004
Time Until Placement: 6 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Russian Federation

msmarci42's Ratings:
Pros: We adopted our first child from Russia and I have to tell you we were elated not only with our child but with One World Adoption. They were there for us every step of the way and continue to be. We give Susan Manning, and the staff a 10 all the way. I was so suprised by the negative response when I was reviewing this site. I have and will continue to refer my family and friends to One World Adoptions. All of our adoptions have been completed by One World including our last adoption from the DRC (Congo) and we are in the process of adopting again from the Congo. We were and are very pleased with One World, You and your staff are a 10 in our books. My family has also adopted from them and I am going to notify them so they can weigh in with their experiences may I add were all positive. I am and will continue to recommed ONE WORLD to all my friends and family. They were very prompt in getting info to us regarding any in country changes and also and our case manger for the Congo Terri Punturi has always been right there for us and very accessiable every time we needed her. Thank you Susan Manning, Terri Punturi, Dee and all the office staff, You are the greatest!

Cons: I have no complaints about this agency nor any of our adoptions.

Reviews: I recommend ONE WORLD ADOPTIONS to all my family and friends. They are Hague accredited agency and we even went through that transistion with them in one of our adoptions. They were great. If you want a fine agency use ONE WORLD ADOPTIONS!



Review by pkipke submitted on May, 26, 2010 at 10:40 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Aug 2009
Status: Withdrew voluntarily
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Kinshasa, Congo (The Democratic Republic of the)

pkipke's Ratings:
Pros: In the beginning they were very responsive, but once our social worker left the agency that ended.

Cons: OWAS has a fledgling DRC program. When we began with them the social worker told us it was a new program, non-Hague, and faster and easier than other countries. They were completing adoptions in 3-4 months from beginning to end. She also assured us that our ages and family size (we have 8 children) were not an issue. As it turns out, it is illegal to adopt in the DRC if you have more than 2 children in the home. They do make exceptions on a case by case basis. Given that we have a large family, we feel our chances of being granted an exception are not that good. We would not have been willing to take such a risk if the agency had informed us of this law when we began working with them. We requested a refund of the $3200 in agency fees we had paid since the agency is not able to provide the service we paid for, but the Board told us that we should attempt to complete our adoptions and if we were denied, then we could request a refund. This is an abnormally high level of risk, even for international adoption. If we continue wiht the process we will have spent a lot more money only to potentially be not allowed to adopt. In addition, the social worker left the agency in November 2009 and the process ground to a halt at that time. The Director, Susan Manning, took over our case, and she is overworked and unresponsive. She does not have any reliable in country staff nor does she have a working relationship with an orphanage. As of FEb. 2010 we did not have referrals, nor did Susan have any leads or know when she might find children for us. We heard from her infrequently.

Reviews: I would not recommend this agency's DRC program.



Review by merrymailer submitted on December, 16, 2009 at 12:08 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 13y 0m
Start Date: Aug 2009
Status: Withdrew voluntarily
Type: Open, International
Special Needs: Yes
Child from Kinshasa, Congo (The Democratic Republic of the)

merrymailer's Ratings:
Pros: We completed two adoptions thru this agency prior to this adoption. We had a very positive experience both times while working with caseworker Julia Holtgrewe. She was attentive, professional and timely with call returns. She answered all questions as quickly as possible and instilled confidence that everything was okay. We chose this agency for our Congo adoptions based solely on the care we received during our first (China) adoption.

Cons: Julia left the agency in the middle of our most recent adoption and we were left working with the Director, Susan Manning. We were without a caseworker or any support during the time of our scheduled travel, communication about our daughter stopped altogether; the process as a whole turned into a disaster. We withdrew our contract and are finishing the adoption ourselves. Though we asked for a partial refund, none was granted. Consumer beware when using this agency.

Reviews: Regardless of the agency you choose, based on my three adoption experiences, be sure you know where the children you are adopting come from, e.g. Are they picked up directly from the streets or are they living in a reputable foster care or orphanage facility? Also, ask if your caseworker has completed any adoptions in the country you are adopting from and what their experience level is.



Review by ckeilin2000 submitted on November, 28, 2007 at 11:00 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 10m
Start Date: Nov 2003
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Apr 2004
Time Until Placement: 5 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Taraz, Kazakhstan

ckeilin2000's Ratings:
Pros: I worked as a case manager at the time of our adoption - so was well connected in the process - think it is unfair for me to comment here.

Cons: No comment

Reviews: For ANY agency - see if they own/operate the program directly or are under an "umbrella" agency.