Search Reviews | Top Rated Agencies | Add Your Review | Compare Agencies | Blog Join | Login  
Adoption Agency Reviews, Ratings, Rankings and Testimonials Adoption Agencies Reviews, Ratings, Rankings and Testimonials

Open Arms Adoption Network

10125 Verree Road
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19116
United States
1.888.673.6276

http://www.openarmsadoption.net

Type: Private Agency


  Average Ratings
Based On All Reviews

Review by tjwin submitted on November, 15, 2012 at 07:30 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Jan 2011
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Jul 2011
Time Until Placement: 6 months
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from New Jersey, United States

tjwin's Ratings:
Pros: There is nothing bad I can say about Open Arms. They were supportive from the get go, always made us feel like their only clients, and always available when we needed them or had questions/concerns. They education they provided was priceless. They were always open to feedback and willing to learn. They offered many opportunities for support and community with other adoptive families thorugh picnics and coffee talks, they introduced us to other waiting families and families who had already adopted. They helped us build connections to make the wait easier. The support they provided was unbelievalbe, and even better for the birth families which was incredibly important to us. We are confident that they'll be there for us until our children are grown and beyond. They walked us through the whole process, listening to our concerns and celebrating every little achievement. They were wonderful during our match meeting, always honest about what we could expect, and never sugar coated anything. We couldn't have felt more important to them if we tried. An amazing, amazing experience.

Cons: I can't think of a thing I'd want to change.

Reviews: We were told we could potentially wait two or more years, and we were parenting after 13 months. We loved this agency so much that we're starting the process again, with them. Thank you, Open Arms! I would highly, highly recommend this agency without a second thought. Don't be afraid to ask for help, ask for updates, or question what's going on. They are so open, and will share what they know with you and will always be supportive of you.



Review by happycat8 submitted on November, 10, 2012 at 11:10 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Feb 2011
Status: Finalized
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from New Jersey, United States

happycat8's Ratings:
Pros: Director very knowledgeable and committed. One social worker we worked with was very experienced. Workshops were informative. As others have said, very supportive of birth families and counsel birth families so odds of failed placements are low. OK communication during matching process.

Cons: Our initial social worker was awkward to say the least. I can't even imagine her counseling inner city birth families. She seemed disingenuous and we did not trust her. Luckily, we were given a new socail worker who led us through the rest of the process. Communication was OK during the process, but after placement, we were pretty much left out in the cold. The agency had many demands of us right after we brought the baby home. We felt this burdensome since we were a last minute placement with a fragile newborn. We had barely returned home when the demands began--demands that served only the birth family. Even our social worker never called to check to see how we were doing after placement. Nor did anyone from the agency acknowledge our finalization.

Reviews: While we were frustrated during the process, ultimately, were were placed with a beautiful baby and have an open relationship with the birth family. If you don't need hand holding, this agency is a good choice. Just be warned that communication virtually halts once you write the final check. Unless the birth family wants something........



Review by jbcoller submitted on December, 22, 2011 at 04:08 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Jul 2007
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: May 2009
Time Until Placement: 22 months
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Paoli, Pennsylvania, United States

jbcoller's Ratings:
Pros: I have so many positive things to say about Open Arms, but I think the thing that ws the most important to us , that we did not get from other agencies, is the unbelievable support. Through the entire process from start until the present, we received support every step of the way. After being with the agency for only 6 months we were chosen by a young couple, and met with them. Unfortunately this adoption was not meant to be and the birthmom changed her mind, but the support given to us by the staff was unbelievable. They were up front and honest as soon as things started to go South and honesty is so important to us and it helped us recover quickly from the dissapointment. Just 3 months later we were chosen again by a young mom who was due any day and Open Arms facilitated a first meeting with the birth family and from that day on we have had a great relationship with the birth family of our son. They talked us through the hospital experience and there after. The reason I feel that they have succesful adoptions is because of the counseling that they provide for the birth families. It was very reassuring to know that the Birthmother of our son had someone she could reach out to and they would help her any time. Their support has continued to this day. In the past 2 years we have struggled with our relationship with our son's Birthfather. He has been inappropriate at times and we have called the social workers and the Director at all hours and they have always immediately responded to the problem and helped work out the problems so that we can continue to have a positive relationship with the Birthfather. I know that 10 years down the line, if I have a problem or just need advice that we can call Open Arms and they will ALWAYS help us!! There really is nothing bad that I can say. It was an awesome experience adopting through them and we would use them again in a second. I often refer couples to them and will continue to do so!!

Cons: We did not have any problems at all. After waiting with an another agency for 2 years, we switched to Open Arms and were parents again in 9 months!!

Reviews: The only thing I would say is that if you decide to adopt through Open Arms, utilize all the services and education that they provide. They are an unbelievable resource in all adoption matters. We have 2 older children that were adopted internationally and we were concerned about how they would feel about our 3rd child having an Open Adoption with their birth family when my older children did not. Open Arms sent me literature on that exact topic and counselled me on how to talk to my older children about it. Awesome information that I use to this day!



Review by momofmany submitted on February, 4, 2011 at 04:05 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Oct 2007
Status: Placement
Completion Date: Aug 2008
Time Until Placement: 10 months
Type: Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Lakewood, New Jersey, United States

momofmany's Ratings:
Pros: We had a most positive experience in every way!! After waiting unsuccessfully for two years at another agency, coming on board at Open Arms was like a breath of fresh air! The staff was wonderful, friendly and accessible which was a big deal to me. They were extremely present and supportive during our matched and placement process for both us and the birthfamily. The afterplacement follow-up has been wonderful as well. This agency has continuing educational and support services for all families working with them. They become like an extended family! I highly recommend them! :)

Cons: We did not experience any problems with this agency. I will say that our placement was a quick one, so we had that advantage, but I know other families who have waited longer and still had the same positive experiences as we did.

Reviews: We were so happy with this agency that we actually adopted through them a second time!!



Review by jdsmmb submitted on January, 13, 2011 at 07:12 AM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 0m
Start Date: Jan 2000
Status: Placement
Completion Date: Dec 2010
Time Until Placement: 131 months
Type: Semi-Open, Domestic, Interstate
Special Needs: No
Child from Nevada, United States

jdsmmb's Ratings:
Pros: Initially, we felt welcomed into the adoption proccess by the social workers of this agency. They appeared to be caring and compassionate individuals who would support us in the process of adopting a newborn.

Cons: We worked with this agency for two years without a successful placement. Please see a fuller description below.

Reviews: My husband and I were clients of the domestic infant adoption program of Open Arms Adoption Network (OAA) based in Philadelphia, PA. We contracted with OAA (i.e., paid over $10,000) to provide services that we believed would lead to an adoption. We were relatively flexible with regard to the racial/gender characteristics of the baby. Unfortunately, over a two-year period, no baby joined our family through this service. Instead, we were left with heartache and frustration. Throughout the two-year period, the communication of agency social workers with us was poor. Case in point, nine months into the waiting period, we were selected by a birthmother to adopt her born baby. Along the process of the placement, several agreements we had with the agency were suddenly abandoned without informing us of a change. These missteps led, sadly, to a failed placement. This happened after we traveled from our home state to the state where the baby was born and held the baby! The loss was devastating to us. To add insult to injury, no agency social worker followed up with us to see how we were doing as a result of the failed placement, despite their repeated statements that they would support us throughout the process. They only communicated with us once we initiated contact with them. Despite our shattered trust in OAA, we decided to move forward with them because of the financial investment we had already made. At the one-year mark of waiting, we asked that our family album be reviewed to see if we should modify anything. They pointed out several features of our album that they advised changing because it was unlike the albums created by all the other families they were working with. This was unbelievable to us given that the agency had worked with us to create our album and had approved it. We made the recommended changes. However, another year passed, and still no baby. Each month of our two-year wait, we were the ones who initiated contact with our social worker for an update. OAA never initiated such updates. Each month, the message was basically the same – just hang in there. We found them unable to have thoughtful, mature conversations that would have helped support us emotionally through the adoption process. The wait was excruciating and frustrating. At the two-year mark, we had lost all faith that OAA would help us to successfully adopt a baby. In response, we began to aggressively seek out other agencies and facilitators to help us create our family of three through adoption. While this path too was very challenging, especially with the potential loss of even more money, within a few months we successfully realized our dream. We are now the proud parents of a beautiful baby.