Search Reviews | Top Rated Agencies | Add Your Review | Compare Agencies | Blog Join | Login  
Adoption Agency Reviews, Ratings, Rankings and Testimonials Adoption Agencies Reviews, Ratings, Rankings and Testimonials

Project Oz Adoptions

101 E. Church Street
Suite 100
Tarboro, North Carolina 27886
United States
866-236-7869

http://projectoz.com

Type: Public Agency


  Average Ratings
Based On All Reviews

Review by riley1 submitted on January, 11, 2008 at 11:14 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 1y 0m
Start Date: Jan 2006
Status: Finalized
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Guatemala

riley1's Ratings:
Pros: My adoption is finalized, but I feel compelled to write to any all prospective adoptive parents. Poz, as a company, and its CEO, Kerry Palankis, have abandoned their clients. In December 2007, Ms. Palakanis resigned from her own company, leaving all current clients wondering where their children and money are. Literally, these families are scrambling, looking for their children on Guatemalan soil, seeking help from Adoption Supervisors & SJI, trying to entice their facilitators to bring their children to light, and to finish their adoptions. The Guatemalan contacts state that Poz never paid them their final fees, while the PAPS all have receipts for their payments. Paps are suspecting that their documents (including medical reports) are falsified, and some are wondering whether their referrals were even legally eligible for adoption. It is unlikely that Poz, or its principals, will ever be viable players in the adoption arena again ... but if they are - please avoid them.

Cons: deal with ethical contacts in the host country, provide authentic documents. cease managing their relationships through fear of retaliation.

Reviews: all info was presented in the prior narratives.



Review by alejansmom submitted on December, 7, 2007 at 11:08 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 9y 1m
Start Date: Apr 2005
Status: Homestudy and documentation
Completion Date: Dec 2005
Time Until Placement: 8 months
Type: Closed, Domestic, Intrastate
Special Needs: Yes
Child from Maryland, United States

alejansmom's Ratings:
Pros: There were NO positive aspects- we were continually lied to by the agency.

Cons: Agency was more concerned with the money than the child and disclosing the truth about the child's previous placement and disruption. No truth given to APs.

Reviews: DO NOT USE.



Review by quackylove4u submitted on December, 6, 2007 at 03:40 PM


Adoption Details:

Child's Age: 0y 9m
Start Date: Jun 2003
Status: Finalized
Completion Date: Oct 2003
Time Until Placement: 4 months
Type: Closed, International
Special Needs: No
Child from Krasnoryarsk, Russian Federation

quackylove4u's Ratings:
Pros: We had a great experience adopting our son and our daughter previously in 2001. We felt very taken care of throughout the process. All information was upfront and there were no surprises, including any fees.

Cons: I can't say that anything went wrong that would have anything to do with the agency.

Reviews: My greatest contribution would be to make sure you ask all your questions to any agency that you choose. No question is off limits. Communication is the key.